We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hidden Ridge Resort
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,149)
Filter reviews
2,149 results
Traveler rating
1,031
655
275
131
57
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,031
655
275
131
57
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot tubfull kitchenloft condofree firewoodtunnel mountainwood burning fireplacegames roomdowntown banfffree busoverlooking the mountainsfamily vacationliving areaminute drivean upgraderoam busmain floorclose to town
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,410 - 1,415 of 2,149 reviews
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Wow, this place far exceeded our hopes and expectations. When we booked this place in June for our October event, we knew from taking a quick preview of our room in July that we were staying in a very nice place. On the day of our arrival we decided we wanted to upgrade to better accommodate our other guests AND without a second thought YES the resort staff did this for us. But, the exceeded expectations does not stop there, the resort staff were able to upgrade our other extended family members that arrived shortly after us, to a room just like ours, right next door to us that allowed us to be neighbors for the weekend and visit together as one big family of 10. Other family members staying elsewhere said they wish they had booked this resort because their rooms were nothing compared to OURS. One couple were staying at Tunnel Mountain and liked our room at Hidden Ridge much better and spent most of their time with us in our room (except for sleeping of course).
The hot spring pools were so nice to go into and having the towels right there is so nice.
The housekeeping staffs were excellent and very efficient. They provided everything we needed (eg.towels, toiletries, coffee, tea, hot chocolate, and all the fixins) that just added to our enjoyable stay.
Front desk staff are FIRST CLASS and very professional. Our concerns and needs were handled promptly and efficiently. They even gave out freezies to anyone wanting them. Our grandkids loved this. Okay so did I. The entire resort has so much to offer and the rates are reasonable. As for me and my family we will be back here again. To sum it up we had an amazing and wonderful time at this resort.

Room Tip: Mountain view side is amazing
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pyrogygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

The location is out of the town site proper so be prepared to drive, bike or hike into town. If you want something away from the hustle and bustle of Banff this location works well.
The rooms are like apartments, so there is lots of space. However, the furnishings are old and the finishes are getting worn.
Good value for the size but not the place you want to stay oif you want fresh and crisp.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

This was our 5th or 6th visit to Hidden Ridge. In the past we have had a great stay and never had a complaint. In fact we stayed there Easter week-end this year and it was fabulous as always. Our last few stays have been as a group, the Mitchell/Bares clan and we rent a large chalet with two bedrooms and two baths, and pull out sofa. This visit was a little different. The dishwasher was not functional so being Thanksgiving week-end we had quite a few dishes to tend to. Housekeeping came by with towels, but we were never offered any clean-up (we stayed Friday to Monday). Finally, on Friday evening we headed over to the hot tub. We are not party animals, we are middle aged people and we brought a beer in a plastic cup to the hot tub area. I understand that there is signage advising that alcohol is not permitted in the hot tub area, however in the past staff has turned a blind eye to this, every time we have stayed at Hidden Ridge. We are quiet and respectful of others, and if the policy has changed we could have been advised. Instead a very rude staff member confiscated our cups and marched off with them. She ignored others who were drinking in the hot tub. This treatment was intolerable. I have recommended this hotel to many colleagues and friends in the past, however this time we were not pleased; and we are fairly easy to please.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JBares
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiddenRidge, General Manager at Hidden Ridge Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

I apologize that this occurrence had such an impact on your stay. I was not our purpose to alienate your group. Although I agree that you were likely enjoying your alcohol responsibly, if we were to let only responsible drinkers to freely enjoy a couple of beers, it would not take long for others who may not be enjoying their libations as responsibly to start taking advantage of the leniency. We know this from experience. It is worthy to note that we've been berated wtih reviews suggesting that we do not take a strong enough approach to removing alcohol from the pool. Our staff strives to provide all of our guests with an exceptional stay, as you know from previous times here. By having our guests respect the hot tub rules in this unlicensed public area, we attempt to create a pleasant environment without disruptive alcohol related occurrences.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

We have been coming to this resort for years and have absolutely loved it... Until this year. We came through in mid September mid week and all they had available was deluxe, way out of our price range, condos so we ended up staying at the buffalo mountain lodge down the road instead, which turned out to be amazing by the way. So since we didn't get to stay in September we decided to book a trip for October. To our complete shock we discovered that the prices have doubled and its all gone downhill... The staff are unfriendly now and some of them are downright rude, the rooms are supposedly lightly cleaned daily but ours wasn't until we had to ask, there are no blankets on the beds, the hot tub used to be amazing but now it's always packed with screaming children. They have a newly enforced law for no beverages in the pool area but no rule for no screaming & splashing! When we have stayed in the past staff have informed us that beverages could be enjoyably consumed in plastic cups. But now they have an extremely rude staff member verbally attacking guests who are unaware of this new rule. All in all we really feel like we are getting ripped off and the atmosphere has changed from a laid back relaxed environment to a rule enforced prison. And we also noticed that our room had a crappy mattress cover instead of a delux bed like the others. Some of our suggestions are to have some reasonable prices. And I don't think that your useless coupon book or free bus passes make up for your prices either so don't even argue that one!!! And have the pool open till 11 pm with no screaming splashing children during an adult time from 10 to 11pm. And why don't you heat your second pool more during cold weather so we can all enjoy the pool instead of everyone cramming into the hot pool. Have wood more and BBQ more readily available. Fire your rude staff and bring back the friendly laid back ones. The first time we stayed here we were treated like we were friends. Now it's just like any other hotel. It doesn't stand out anymore. We could get a really nice room in town for less and be walking distance to everything! And if I wanted to stay on tunnel mountain again I'd pick another place for sure.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiddenRidge, General Manager at Hidden Ridge Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

Thank you for the review and your suggestions. Our friendly staff wishes you the best for your future stays in Banff. Although there are hot pool facilities, like the Fox Hotel & Suites, that are open until 11pm none of the properties that I am aware of restrict the use of the pool to adults for certain hours. As Trip Advisor has recognized us as one of the top family properties in Canada, having rules that ban children from the pool and restrict their attitude, as you suggest, might create more of a 'rule enforced prison' environment?

As a note to our readers, current and future guests, we do our best to ensure that all guests, young and old, enjoy their stays. The hot pools are rarely very busy over the course of the week but they are a public area and can be enjoyed by any registered guest anytime between 9am and 10pm daily. The hot pools are busiest on Saturday evenings. If you don't desire to 'share' your time with others, I can recommend one of the king jacuzzi suites that have private jacuzzis on the balcony. You can access your private jacuzzi anytime you want. I encourage you to read other reviews that attest to the kindess and the professionalism of our staff. As you read other reviews, you will undoubtedly note several references to our supposed lack of attention to the consumption of alcohol in the pools.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We recently spent 10 days at Hidden Ridge Resort. Initially we opted for the cheaper room which was a downstairs room with one bedroom, bathroom and self containted kitchen. It was ok until the weekend when a family moved in upstairs which created a lot of noise with them walking about up and down stairs. We asked for a move and were given a loft room at a reduced rate. This was excellent except for the banging of the pipes from the furnace. We were again offered another room as the furnace wasn't working correctly but decided not to because we couldn't be bothered packing our stuff up again so endured the noise. We were given a reduced rate once again. Overall I would recommend Hidden Ridge, the views are second to none, the hot pools are excellent and the service was excellent. We hope to be back one day.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lee W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews