We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hidden Ridge Resort
Ranked #15 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Reviewed April 14, 2012

This place was WAY overpriced. For the price I paid, I was expecting a really nice room. It was old and dark, the carpet was filthy and had cigarette burns in it. Don't spend more than $100 per night for this place or you will feel ripped off! The pool was nice but not big enough for the size of the resort, it was always crowded. Would definitely not stay here again or recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Huuli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiddenRidge, General Manager at Hidden Ridge Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write to us regarding your Easter stay at the Hidden Ridge Resort. I almost thought it would have been for another property as all smoking rooms in Banff National Park were banned about eight years ago. My team and I apologize for our inability to provide you with the quality you expected for the price you paid. We certainly endeavour to always provide our guests with quality that exceeds expectations. To receive confirmation that we have failed in reaching those goals by receiving your feedback, is definitely unfortunate. Easter weekend, as with many weekends in Banff, is sold out. With Saturday night being busier, hotels generally price their rooms at a premium and Easter weekend was no exception.

We are over half way done re-upholstering several of our chairs (not quite at unit 221 yet) and I have asked the executive housekeeper to ensure the carpet in the room is inspected and shampooed. I wish we could have addressed your concerns prior to your departure but I can make myself available to address anything with you at your leisure. Rest assured that our standard of service is generally positive, consistent and effective. After all, in the end, we work for you, our valued guest, and your comfort and happiness is a priority for us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,097)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,513 - 1,519 of 2,097 reviews

Reviewed April 12, 2012

I brought my daughter and 8 of her closest friends here on March 10th to celebrate her 16th birthday! WOW! Our room was one of the premium lofts with games room and it was huge! There was a beautiful wood burning fireplace with free kindling and wood. The hot tubs look over the revene and it was a very welcoming and fun environment. We had the best time and surely my daughter will never forget her 16th! We plan on taking our family here this summer for a golf trip and do not need to consider other lodging. Just perfect.

Room Tip: Room 202 is right across from the front desk and hot tubs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank farriesgc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2012

We came over from the UK this summer and travelled across Canada with our four children - Hidden Ridge Resort was one of the many unforgettable places that we stayed and we would highly recommend it to others. Very friendly staff, great fun pool and fantastic walks big and small. Absolutely beautiful setting - we all loved every minute and will be going back again (hopefully next time in ski season!) :))

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Globetrotter1996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2012

This beautiful Banff property is tucked away, but close enough to all that Banff has to offer. We stayed in the 3 bedroom premium lofts, which were spacious, clean and comfortable. The staff here was more than helpful and the Hot pools are some of the best of the hotels we have stayed at in Banff. Most definitely will be staying here again. Thanks!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ADG225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2012

My family and I stayed in one of the premium lofts with 3 queen beds and two sofa beds. Great place in Banff and very easy to find. We loved the fireplace and the hot tubs. Would definitely come again!!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eaglelca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2012

We've been here before and it's always great. Accommodation was clean and tidy, hot pools were to die for and the staff were excellent and friendly. We shall be back. Thanks!

Stayed: March 2012
1  Thank Jacknclare8289
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2012

This was our first time at the Hidden Ridge. We arrived with a group of 9. We were happy with the size of our condo, we all slept comfortably except for 1 bed in our downstairs bedroom was a little wonky. The mattress was bigger than the box spring so if you got to close to the edge it would tip. We did not like hunting for parking, there were 3 parking stalls outside our condo, as with most others, and no dedicated parking. People, also just parked along side the condo making it almost impossible to back out of our parking spot.

The pools had a beautiful view and 1 out of 2 nights we were able to enjoy it. The next 2 nights were impossible as there was a hockey team and their girlfriend occupying it, with little concern for language or appropriateness. It was not a place for our kids.

There were a few minor issues, cupboards broken, fridge shelf broken, way too small garbage can for a party of 9. But we made due. Maid service also only consisted of making beds and changing garbage if we hadnt already. If you're a neat freak, this is not your place.

Our first 2 nits were nice a quiet, thankful after a full day on the slopes. Our last night, however, was brutal. Neighbors checked in and partied until 5am, running up and down stairs, slamming doors. We even heard them outside our door in the basement bedroom at 5am.

Overall an ok place to stay if you're a 20 something and are ok with noise. I don't think I would return with my kids.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TiredRoadTrippers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
1.1 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.8 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#12 of 33 in Banff
2,203 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 33 in Banff
1,170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#8 of 33 in Banff
1,481 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 33 in Banff
1,003 reviews
0.4 mi away
Buffalo Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hidden Ridge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hidden Ridge Resort

Address: 901 Hidden Ridge Way, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Banff
#4 Family Hotel in Banff
#4 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range: $107 - $339 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hidden Ridge Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away on Tunnel Mountain, Hidden Ridge Resort is quiet and secluded with some of the most spectacular views in Banff and the Canadian Rockies. The modern condos feature wood burning fireplaces, full kitchens and patios or balconies. Take a stroll along one of the many hiking trails around Tunnel Mountain that start outside your door. The tranquil and secluded setting makes it one of Banff's best-kept secrets. Only a mile from downtown area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hidden Ridge Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hidden Ridge Hotel Banff
Hidden Ridge Resort Banff
Hidden Ridge Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing