We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great getaway!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hidden Ridge Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hidden Ridge Resort
Ranked #4 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A great getaway!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

We stayed in one of the condo-units for a weekend-long birthday celebration. A great time was had by all! And price-wise, it was definitely affordable (8 person accommodation for two nights worked out to about $150/person, total).

There were two beds on the bottom floor, a pull-out couch on the middle floor, and two more beds in the loft. Each area had it's own flat-screen TV and the bedding was clean and soft! It seems to be a bit of a party place, with a fair amount of younger groups of people, but noise was still kept to a minimum and there wasn't too much rowdy behavior.

The hot pools were an awesome plus and a great place to relax after a day at the ski hill. It'd be cool if the condo-style rooms had hot tubs as well, but really, it wasn't that far to get to the pools.

In the rooms, there are wood-burning fireplaces, and if you needed more wood, you could just call the front-desk and they'd send someone right over with more! It sure heats up the room though, so be prepared for that.

The only complaint I had was that the dishwasher in the kitchenette went kaput, a small pain when cleaning up after 8 people, but not terrible. There's an in-suite washer and dryer too, so long stays are pretty much hassle-free.

There's a bus service that comes frequently to whisk you off to downtown Banff, free of charge for hotel guests. And while there is not a fitness centre on-site, this hotel partners (or is owned by the same company as?) multiple other hotels in the area where you can use your room key to get access to the fitness areas or spas! The wifi was consistent! It cycled, but not nearly as much as some hotels I've stayed at, so that was great.

Would definitely return!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ApatheticAlbertan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,749 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    914
    524
    191
    83
    37
See reviews for
734
547
11
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (387)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

My fiance and I stayed at Hidden Ridge at the beginning of December and will definitely be coming back. Check in was a breeze and we even got upgraded to a better room without asking. We thought it would be quite noisy but in fact we hardly heard anyone else the whole stay. Downtown Banff is so easy to get to with the free shuttle bus that comes very regularly and over Christmas time the whole town turns into a Christmas Winter Wonderland!
The only downside to the whole trip was actually finding the place it is a bit of a task, more signage would be helpful.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisey343
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caloundra, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

We wanted to have a family white xmas. Our travel agent, Harvey World Travel, Caloundra, suggested Banff was a wonderful location and hidden Ridge Resort read well on Trip Advisor and the Best of Banff web site. And I am pleased to say they were all correct.
We spent 7 nights at Hidden Ride in room 226. one bedroom with loft apartment. The unit was plenty big enough for our family of 5, all 16 years and over. There was only
1 shower but we managed fine even with 4 females! We made use of the fire place for atmosphere. there was plenty of fire wood available. We had a little trouble with the heating in our room but this may be because we were unfamiliar with the the thermostat control, coming from a warm climate.
We used the grocery delivery service. I ordered our groceries before I left Australia. I had some trouble with the web site ordering but emailed Brian from the store and he was very helpful and had fridge and pantry stocked on our arrival. This saved us having to shop in icy conditions , especially when we were jet lagged.
The resort layout is like a village setting and it overlooks the valley, town of Banff and backs onto park land. Our unit was at the back and overlooked the park. We were visited by the amusing squirrels most days. We were glad we booked on the moutain, out of town, as it gave us a feeling of space and we were surrounded by natural beauty. We used the free bus service each day. It took about 10 mins to get into down town Banff and ran every 40 mins each way.
The hot pools overlook the valley and town of Banff with a beautiful mountain backdrop. They are very warm and easily accessed from lobby. The setting is gorgeous!
All staff were warm and welcoming and provided excellent service.
Loved it and all that Banff and surrounds had to offer.
Robyn B Caloundra, Australia.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Robdog46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

(Winter - End of December) Had an awesome time here. Our suite had a fireplace that was well used, as well as central heating. The kitchen was well equipped, stove, oven, microwave, kettle, coffee maker, large fridge, all the stuff you'd probably have at home. The suite also had both a shower and bath, with plenty of hot water. The front room has a 4 seater table, and a couch. The double bed is also very comfortable. There is a hot pool complex onsite and a sauna. The patio has a nice view and we were also visited by deer right to the slider door. The place is close to town, they give you a free bus pass, and buses run every 40 minutes, town is only 10 minutes away down hill (25 minutes walk). Town has a lot of pubs, restaurants and even a ice ring if you can skate. Ski fields are not far away, and the buses are cheap to get there. The staff are very friendly and appear international (well traveled). Our room was cleaned everyday, and fully serviced every 3 days. This place is very modern, and we definitely got our value, even against Fairmont Springs Hotel (Hidden Ridge has much nicer rooms).
In a line, we were very happy and very comfortable over our 7 day stay!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jay_Kidd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hope Island, Australia
Level Contributor
195 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

We stayed here over Christmas 2011 for 5 days, a 1 hour flight from Vancouver to Calgary and then we hired a car for the drive to Banff, as we had been here before (and stayed at Tunnel Mountain - see previous review) we this time stayed at Hidden Ridge Resort, also on Tunnel Mountain.

We were in room 306 next to the office, its a 3 bedroom villa (this room is very close to the hot tub!) and the views are amazing! We had a balcony from the lounge area overlooking the Rockies, this is a key feature staying at Tunnel Mountain as it's high up so you have excellent views.

The accommodation was excellent, the rooms were serviced daily, all the staff were very friendly and you can have various restaurants from town deliver to your room if you wish (we did this on the first night as we arrived late). The villa has a self contained kitchen so you can do some groceries at the Safeway in town and make your own meals, the heating is great, everything you will need is here!

Lake Louise is about a 45min - 1 hour drive away, and so is the Lake Louise Ski Field, which we went to, very big and fun.

Overall a great place to stay, has everything you need, amazing views, very warm hot tub with even more amazing views and well priced!

Room Tip: They have some rooms with a hot tub on the deck, we didn't stay in them but they look great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrsktm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peace River
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

We stayed in one of the special hot tub suites above the lobby. The views were amazing, especially from the hot tub. Being able to have a fire and look out at the mountains was very nice. The staff are very friendly and will do thier best to help you. This was one of our most favorite mountain getaways. We took advantage of the free movies - lots of new ones. The king sized beds were very comfy. Being able to eat in and cook your own meals was nice too. Thank you Hidden Ridge.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MRSJAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwood Park, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

I stayed at this resort for a one-night getaway with my boyfriend to unwind before Christmas and it was the perfect place. The staff was more than welcoming and provided us with the perfect amount of information about the resort. The outdoor hot tubs are very very relaxing and warm, the rooms are clean, well equipped, and spacious. The resort is is a little ways from downtown Banff, but there is a path through the tress which is a lovely 15 minute walk right to town. There is a bus that runs to and from town as well which is super convienient. And free underground parking always rocks. Overall, really nice place to stay!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.8 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
1.8 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#3 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 682 reviews
0.8 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#12 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
0.6 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#6 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 965 reviews
0.3 mi away
Buffalo Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hidden Ridge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hidden Ridge Resort

Property: Hidden Ridge Resort
Address: 901 Hidden Ridge Way, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Banff
#4 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#4 Family Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hidden Ridge Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away on Tunnel Mountain, Hidden Ridge Resort is quiet and secluded with some of the most spectacular views in Banff and the Canadian Rockies. The modern condos feature wood burning fireplaces, full kitchens and patios or balconies. Take a stroll along one of the many hiking trails around Tunnel Mountain that start outside your door. The tranquil and secluded setting makes it one of Banff's best-kept secrets. Only a mile from downtown area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Hidden Ridge Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hidden Ridge Hotel Banff
Hidden Ridge Resort Banff
Hidden Ridge Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing