We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second time still not a charm” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hidden Ridge Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hidden Ridge Resort
Ranked #12 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Alberta
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Second time still not a charm”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2011

I simply can't give this property more than an average rating. The location is beatiful. The grounds are very clean and attractive. The room, however, is another story.

We stayed in a 1bedroom condo. We did this because it was the only pet friendly room available. We stayed in the bedroom and the kids in the livingroom. Space was adequate. The fridge was very wobbly and opened the wrong way. One of our kids found a large screw on the floor within one minute of us settling in. This bothered me as we have two kids two and under, so I was extra thorough in checking out every square inch of the place to ensure that other dangerous objects weren't around. We always do this and have never found anything of concern. Here we found a long screw and a some coins on the floor.

I realize that this is the mountains, etc., but there were spiders all of this unit. It was starting to gross me out a bit.

The biggest down side was the noise coming from all of the neighbours. It was so loud that it would wake our kids. You could literally hear conversations word for word. The stomping up and down the stairs sounded like a heard of elephants!

Our last stay here was just okay as well, but we thought we'd give it another shot. We won't be back. There are other pet-friendly accommodations in the area which we have stayed at that are much better.

Room Tip: Avoid the noisy one bedroom condos! We wished we could have, but that was all they had available at...
See more room tips
Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank HockeyFan09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,955 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    972
    601
    232
    105
    45
See reviews for
827
619
14
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (425)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2011

We had a excellent anniversary weekend away from home. The employees were very charming and polite at all times. The Resort was clean and beautifully decorated. I like the rustic look of the condos and the wood burning fireplace was very romantic. The complementary bottle of wine when we arrived at our room was a wonderful touch. I would defiantly stay here again and again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2011

We loved our stay at Hidden Ridge Resort for 4 nights of heaven on earth! I loved Evelyn's coffee provided with our coffee maker, plus tea bags for my tea sipping husband. Loved the lavender soap and the Green Tea Lotion was a real treat. We loved the view from the living room/dining room/kitchen looking out at the mountains. We enjoyed the patio and loved seeing a deer wander by. The fireplace gave us that extra warmth. The condo was clean and comfortable, and when our friends came over for a visit, we could accommodate them easily
in the "great room". Best of all, I enjoyed taking the shuttle from downtown back to Hidden Ridge while my family and friends had departed for Lake Louise. The shuttle is a fabulous plus!

Room Tip: Our party of five occupied three different condos and each one was fabulous. Two were on the west s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ida B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2011

We normally take our mountain trips to Jasper but after a 5 year hiatus decided to return to Banff (and it will be another 5 or so before we return again - but that's the commercialism of Banff compared to the calm of Jasper). Regarding the hotel -

Room - we had a loft suite - very room; nice to have an ensuite up in the loft. Good kitchen. Fridge wasn't working well but we didn't call to have it repaired.

Location/amenities - we didn't get to the hot tubs but they looked very nice. We did enjoy a few walks with the dogs behind our condo on the Tunnel Mountain campground trail.

Service - 50/50 - we did not bother with housekeeping on our second day as we were only there for the weekend - and it's a challenge when travelling with dogs. But they did leave us a note explaining they checked on our room but didn't clean as we left out the do not disturb. Check in was good. Check out left a little to be desired - the girl at reception seemed to have a bit of attitude. I told her our room number (224) and she gave me 124 and told me I'd said 124. Then when I mentioned the fridge just to let them know. She got huffy that they would have fixed it if we'd called. I wasn't complaining - just letting them know. So she left me a little disappointed in service.

Overall what I did notice is that because of the condo nature of the rooms, there were many rooms booked with 6+ adults and a lot of parties going on. I don't know if this was because there was a big running event that weekend but the atmosphere was less family more 20 something party crowd. Things did quiet down after 11 though.

Room Tip: If you don't like having people above you, then get a loft. The 1 bedroom suites are on the lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maureen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Cayman
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2011

Our condo on the ridge had a nice patio with an amazing mountain view.
My favourite part of the property was the hot tub and pool, which also had an amazing view, and seemed totally nestled in the mountains.
The condo itself was impeccably clean and well equipped... was spacious, yet cozy, and i loved the wood burning fireplace. Hot tub and fireplace... what more could you ask for? Kids loved it!
And the attentive and friendly staff just completed the whole mountain experience.

Room Tip: Ridge View!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JLY367
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2011

We had a lovely stay at this resort. THe location is perfect-set in a forest with privacy and a quiet location just a short way from town. We had a room right next to the exotic pool. Our unit had a great kitchen with all cooking appliances. The beds were very comfortable and havng two bedrooms was a bonus. We enjoyed a deluxe jacuzzi tub and it was big enough to swim in! The staff were wonderful and went out of their way to make everything perfect. I have been to many hotels in Bow Valley but this is my favourite!

Room Tip: THe rooms alonly the forest side are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jennifer1979154935
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2011

Incredibly inviting & helpful staff, beautifully appointed & spotlessly clean rooms and a 'to die for' view from our private deck with our own hot tub - how perfect!! This resort is totally in keeping with the natural beauty of the park. It is located on a ridge just above the town, so we had a gorgeous view of the mountains by day and the town lights by night. The visit by a huge bull elk one evening was an added bonus you wouldn't find in town, which was only a 5 minute drive away. There is also a convenient free shuttle, but we didn't use it on our 3 day stay. The grounds are beautifully maintained and the resort has a very comfortable feel. Top quality bbqs are conveniently scattered throughout the grounds, there were huge displays of flowers everywhere and the pool & spa area was quite beautiful. Our room looked recently renovated and featured granite counters in the kitchen & baths, a 2 sided glass fireplace, quality furnishings and our king bed had high end linens with 6 pillows of varying types to choose from - a nice touch. We have travelled extensively and stayed in hundreds of resorts & hotels around the world. What makes Hidden Ridge stand out is the relaxed and comfortable feel, carefully orchestrated by a very professional and unbelievably helpful staff. We hope to return for another visit soon and next time we'll stay longer than 3 days. It is the kind of place you can nicely kick back for a week or so.

Room Tip: There are 4 king loft suites with a private deck with hot tub - worth booking in advance for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.8 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#13 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,057 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#9 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,079 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
0.8 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
0.3 mi away
Buffalo Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hidden Ridge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hidden Ridge Resort

Property: Hidden Ridge Resort
Address: 901 Hidden Ridge Way, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Banff
#4 Business Hotel in Banff
#4 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hidden Ridge Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away on Tunnel Mountain, Hidden Ridge Resort is quiet and secluded with some of the most spectacular views in Banff and the Canadian Rockies. The modern condos feature wood burning fireplaces, full kitchens and patios or balconies. Take a stroll along one of the many hiking trails around Tunnel Mountain that start outside your door. The tranquil and secluded setting makes it one of Banff's best-kept secrets. Only a mile from downtown area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and TravelClick so you can book your Hidden Ridge Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hidden Ridge Hotel Banff
Hidden Ridge Resort Banff
Hidden Ridge Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing