We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Blue Mountain Lodge
Ranked #17 of 28 Banff B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 13, 2010

We stayed here for three nights at the start of our vacation - on edge of Banff yet within easy walking distance of downtown and great place from which to explore Banff National Park - small place with helpful staff and buffet breakfast choice could not be faulted

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DadAndrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (215)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

158 - 164 of 215 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2010

Now, I'm not one to complain (I'm British!) but since I am reviewing the places we stayed whilst touring BC & the Rockies I'm afraid I must with Blue Mountain Lodge. We booked very last minute (day before) through the VIC in Lake Louise, and had the "small" room #3 priced at $119 - we thought "small" would do us for 1 night!

Firstly there was the check in times - 4pm-6pm. Luckily the weather was poor so there was no hiking but that was a very small time window if you're planning a 5 hour + walk. We arrived ok and were greeted by who we believe was the owner who seemed a little offended when we declined his insistant offer of local information since we had been in the area for over a week and were heading to Yoho the following day. He was friendly enough though. Now, the room. "Small" is how it is advertised on the website. Claustrophoic and impractical is how I'd describe it. 2 adults + 2 large bags = no movement or opening of any doors with ease. The "en-suite" was tiny, with a door that wouldn't close. The TV remote had no batteries in (not a massive issue - not like we had far to go to change it manually - but it shows an absence of attention to detail). The location though is great, and we both found the bed fairly comfy for our 1 nights stay.

Unfortunately things didn't improve at breakfast. By Canadian B&B standards (and we covered $80-$145 inc tax) it was poor. The croissant's were burnt, coffee was luke-warm, and our enjoyment of breakfast was not helped by 2 couples who chose to sit on different tables but had a shouted conversation across the room. Generally, there seemed to be very little effort in the preparation. Also, it would be interesting to know what happens if all the rooms come for breakfast at the same time, as the breakfast room was about as spacious as our room! All in all, the buzz word is "small". The reviews on this site differ greatly which I can only put down to the room selected, although the general service was poor - maybe it was just an off day?! Anyway, we quickly checked out in the morning (we were out by 0830!) and headed off to our next much-roomier and more pleasant accommodation - our tent!

This was the 3rd most expensive nights accommodation we used in 4 weeks of travelling, and unfortunately it was by far the worst. There must be some much better b&b's in Banff which we shall use next time.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BadgerSparks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2010

Bad things:

1. The room in the attic has a space 1x1m wide where you can stand - the rest is crawl space - you sleep in your bed, and the slanted ceiling is 1ft above you - scary. We checked out other rooms - all very tiny.
2. You can not make yourself a cup of tea after 8 pm - the kitchen is locked
3. Breakfast is very plain - toast, hard boiled egg, cofee.
4. The girl at reception knew nothing - not whether it is worth it to fill up the gas before going to Lake Loise, nor what kind of hot springs are in the area, nor the snow conditions in Sunshine, or if there is a vegeterian restaurant in town. But she did manage to inform us that many skiers and snowboarders are often very rude (we came for skiing)

Good things:
1. Location
2. Clean
3. No shared bathrooms

Conclusion: abslolutely not worth the money - I hate hotels, but in this case would have preferred one

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kungla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueMountainLodge_8, Owner at Blue Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2010

We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay at our inn.

Yes, we advertise on our internet site and many other websites small but cozy rooms. All of our beds in the Trapper’s Cabin are on wheels so that they can be moved away from the sloped ceiling for the night for your convenience.

Yes, out of experience, we need to close the door to our lounge area to avoid any noise disturbance during the night, either from any cooking efforts in our guest kitchen or loud discussions over “a last beer with friends”. This is how we make sure that all of our guests have a peaceful night, specially the ones with jetlag.

Unfortunately you did not mention in your review 3 types of cereals, home-baked crescents (croissants), various fruit, homemade pastries, yoghurt and juices we serve every day.

Our young and brand new colleague has not had the opportunity to ski or drive to Lake Louise, or go to the Hot Springs yet, but is eager to look it up for our guests. By the way, we are all skiers and have not met any rude skiers yet!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2010

We stayed in this quaint B&B for just under 2 months, and had an absolutely FABULOUS time! With the perfect location for skiers, being close to the ski bus stop, coupled with a great breakfast, the Blue Mountain Lodge really was perfect for us. The rates were fantastic, especially considering they included a wonderful breakfast (especially the poppyseed muffins!) and wireless internet.

We would certainly recommend this B&B to all other travellers who are looking to stay somewhere different to the usual hotel. We will certainly be back next time we're in Banff!

Thanks Pascal, Sabine & Samantha for a wonderful stay!

Steph & Al, Melbourne Australia

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stephkerr007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2010

Stayed for 2 months from December. Staff were very friendly and helpful, organised trips around Banff for us and knew all the deals around town. Great value with a delicious breakfast. Highly recommend for the ski season!!

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JustineandMatthew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2009

Very disappointed with this B&B. We did our research on the internet before leaving Australia on hotels to stay in Banff. We wanted something unique so we chose this B&B as it mentioned it had themed rooms. We booked and paid for the Cowboy Bunkhouse suite only to discover once we arrived they had given our room away to someone else! We were then told we had to stay in a different room which was nothing like we had wanted. The photos you see on the internet about this place really do tell a different story to what it is like in real life. The rooms are very pokey, with very out dated bathrooms. The owner of the establishment when we confronted him was not apologetic in the slightest. We ended up asking for a refund and moving onto a much nicer and more value for money establishment.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank CValley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueMountainLodge_8, Owner at Blue Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2010

I am glad that you found a lovely place in Banff. As discussed before, we accommodated 3 guests in the Cowboy Bunkhouse who liked it so much that they decided to stay for another week. Unable to help the three of them at our place or anywhere in Banff because of the New Year’s bookings we decided to relocate you to another theme room called the Prospector’s Cabin. The latter has a brand new queen bed, private bathroom, a romantic fireplace and a private entrance through our garden. We were sorry that you wanted to leave in spite of this.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2009

Very much enjoyed my stay at this quiet, comfortable, friendly, and remarkably inexpensive B&B just one block from downtown Banff. The staff were friendly and helpful and the breakfast was great. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ray D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.3 mi away
Bow View Lodge
Bow View Lodge
#21 of 33 in Banff
801 reviews
0.6 mi away
Banff Inn
Banff Inn
#17 of 33 in Banff
847 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 33 in Banff
1,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
0.5 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#12 of 33 in Banff
2,205 reviews
0.3 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Mountain Lodge

Address: 327 Caribou Street | Corner of Caribou and Muskrat, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1C4, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Banff
Price Range: $67 - $196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Mountain Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blue Mountain Lodge has been a hotel or Bed and Breakfast since 1908. Our heritage home features 10 rooms with ensuite bathrooms.Please keep in mind that we have slightly smaller rooms than newer structures. We are also very excited to report that Select Canada acknowledged our accomplishments by giving us a three-star rating in 2009. Type in the word bmlvip in our Blue Mountain Lodge booking engine to take advantage of an instant discount. Looking forward to meeting you in Banff! Pascal and Louise, Innkeepers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Blue Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Mountain Hotel Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing