We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Claustrophobic and plain”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Blue Mountain Lodge
Ranked #22 of 28 Banff B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 4, 2010

Bad things:

1. The room in the attic has a space 1x1m wide where you can stand - the rest is crawl space - you sleep in your bed, and the slanted ceiling is 1ft above you - scary. We checked out other rooms - all very tiny.
2. You can not make yourself a cup of tea after 8 pm - the kitchen is locked
3. Breakfast is very plain - toast, hard boiled egg, cofee.
4. The girl at reception knew nothing - not whether it is worth it to fill up the gas before going to Lake Loise, nor what kind of hot springs are in the area, nor the snow conditions in Sunshine, or if there is a vegeterian restaurant in town. But she did manage to inform us that many skiers and snowboarders are often very rude (we came for skiing)

Good things:
1. Location
2. Clean
3. No shared bathrooms

Conclusion: abslolutely not worth the money - I hate hotels, but in this case would have preferred one

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kungla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueMountainLodge_8, Owner at Blue Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2010

We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay at our inn.

Yes, we advertise on our internet site and many other websites small but cozy rooms. All of our beds in the Trapper’s Cabin are on wheels so that they can be moved away from the sloped ceiling for the night for your convenience.

Yes, out of experience, we need to close the door to our lounge area to avoid any noise disturbance during the night, either from any cooking efforts in our guest kitchen or loud discussions over “a last beer with friends”. This is how we make sure that all of our guests have a peaceful night, specially the ones with jetlag.

Unfortunately you did not mention in your review 3 types of cereals, home-baked crescents (croissants), various fruit, homemade pastries, yoghurt and juices we serve every day.

Our young and brand new colleague has not had the opportunity to ski or drive to Lake Louise, or go to the Hot Springs yet, but is eager to look it up for our guests. By the way, we are all skiers and have not met any rude skiers yet!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (209)
There are newer reviews for Blue Mountain Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

156 - 162 of 209 reviews

Reviewed February 16, 2010

We stayed in this quaint B&B for just under 2 months, and had an absolutely FABULOUS time! With the perfect location for skiers, being close to the ski bus stop, coupled with a great breakfast, the Blue Mountain Lodge really was perfect for us. The rates were fantastic, especially considering they included a wonderful breakfast (especially the poppyseed muffins!) and wireless internet.

We would certainly recommend this B&B to all other travellers who are looking to stay somewhere different to the usual hotel. We will certainly be back next time we're in Banff!

Thanks Pascal, Sabine & Samantha for a wonderful stay!

Steph & Al, Melbourne Australia

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stephkerr007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2010

Stayed for 2 months from December. Staff were very friendly and helpful, organised trips around Banff for us and knew all the deals around town. Great value with a delicious breakfast. Highly recommend for the ski season!!

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JustineandMatthew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2009

Very disappointed with this B&B. We did our research on the internet before leaving Australia on hotels to stay in Banff. We wanted something unique so we chose this B&B as it mentioned it had themed rooms. We booked and paid for the Cowboy Bunkhouse suite only to discover once we arrived they had given our room away to someone else! We were then told we had to stay in a different room which was nothing like we had wanted. The photos you see on the internet about this place really do tell a different story to what it is like in real life. The rooms are very pokey, with very out dated bathrooms. The owner of the establishment when we confronted him was not apologetic in the slightest. We ended up asking for a refund and moving onto a much nicer and more value for money establishment.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank CValley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueMountainLodge_8, Owner at Blue Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2010

I am glad that you found a lovely place in Banff. As discussed before, we accommodated 3 guests in the Cowboy Bunkhouse who liked it so much that they decided to stay for another week. Unable to help the three of them at our place or anywhere in Banff because of the New Year’s bookings we decided to relocate you to another theme room called the Prospector’s Cabin. The latter has a brand new queen bed, private bathroom, a romantic fireplace and a private entrance through our garden. We were sorry that you wanted to leave in spite of this.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2009

Very much enjoyed my stay at this quiet, comfortable, friendly, and remarkably inexpensive B&B just one block from downtown Banff. The staff were friendly and helpful and the breakfast was great. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ray D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2009

i have travelled to banff twice this year and the blue mountain lodge is my home from home when in canada. a relaxed friendly atmosphere, clean and a seriously good breakfast to kickstart the day.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank calyppso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2009

We are French and stayed in this B&B lots of time during the 2009 hiking season. This is a great place to stay. The rooms are cozy, clean and quiet, with nice views. The kitchen is well furnished and convenient. Another advantage is that this B&B is located just 1min walk from downtown! The breakfast is delicious (probably the best in Banff): you can enjoy french croissant, homemade muffins, fruits, etc...Most importantly, the staff is very friendly and helpful. Besides, if you are interested in mountain hiking, the owner, Pascal, will be able to give you lots of good tips.
Definitely the best place to stay in Banff !

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank frenchhikers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.3 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.2 mi away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
0.3 mi away
Elk + Avenue Hotel
Elk + Avenue Hotel
#12 of 33 in Banff
1,309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#11 of 33 in Banff
2,186 reviews
0.3 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#8 of 33 in Banff
1,457 reviews
0.6 mi away
Banff Inn
Banff Inn
#18 of 33 in Banff
833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Mountain Lodge

Address: 327 Caribou Street | Corner of Caribou and Muskrat, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1C4, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Banff
Price Range: $65 - $204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Mountain Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blue Mountain Lodge has been a hotel or Bed and Breakfast since 1908. Our heritage home features 10 rooms with ensuite bathrooms.Please keep in mind that we have slightly smaller rooms than newer structures. We are also very excited to report that Select Canada acknowledged our accomplishments by giving us a three-star rating in 2009. Type in the word bmlvip in our Blue Mountain Lodge booking engine to take advantage of an instant discount. Looking forward to meeting you in Banff! Pascal and Louise, Innkeepers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Blue Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Mountain Hotel Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing