We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything but size going for it”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Blue Mountain Lodge
Ranked #18 of 28 Banff B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I just recently stayed at the Blue Mountain Lodge for one night while we were in Banff. It was very convenient location, very charming place, and very charming price! This would be a 5 star review if not for the size issue. The queen room we booked had a very small double bed- my husband was a foot and a half off the end of the bed. The bathroom was tight to maneuver, and he was nearly hitting his head in the shower. I would stay again in a heartbeat if there was a bigger room to be had. Breakfast was wonderful next to the fireplace, we had views out both our windows, and free parking is included 2 blocks from town.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TanyaS92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (218)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

120 - 126 of 218 reviews

Reviewed April 14, 2013

We chose this place after looking around for best value for money. We wanted somewhere we could cook in, and this place was great as there was a nice little kitchen for us to use, however I did find it strange that there is actually a modern larger kitchen that guests have breakfast in. It seems pointless to have two kitchens and of the two guests can only use the small one...I'm glad it wasn't busy when we were there!
We stayed in the "beaver room" which was spacious for just the two of us, however the tv was tiny but hey what does that matter really when your on holiday...!although it was annoying that we couldn't get wifi on our iPad..so we had to head to Starbucks but again not the end of the world just not very convenient.
The breakfast was a bit half done to be honest (cold coffee/old croissants) apart from the morning when the owner was about and he cooked us scrambled eggs which were yummy.
I didn't like the long term guest...he was always around and rather irritating.
Overall....we really did enjoy our stay. It really is a great location and the staff are very friendly and chatty. The room was nice and clean and equipped well!!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Spana22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Our four nights in Banff at the Blue Mountain Lodge were wonderful. The staff was very friendly and the breakfast was simple but delicious. The prospector's cabin room was petite but perfect and we enjoyed the private entrance. We especially enjoyed a magical day of back country skiing with the amiable, knowledgeable owner Pascal.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank spaceyliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed for our winter-holidays and felt very welcome from the first moment!
We enjoyed the interesting conversations, the excellent informations about restaurants and activities in and around Banff. Overall we had a very nice time and could recommend staying in the BmL. We had a room with a great view to the mountains (first floor).

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Phil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

we were slightly dissappointed with this hotel. the location was excellent, 2 minutes walk from the main shopping area, however we felt that it was more like a hostel than a hotel. the room was very small, (booked a queen size room, or so I thought) there were no tea making facilities in the room, however guests had the use of a kitchen to make tea and we could bring food in and store it in the fridge but it appeared you had to provide your own milk for drinks. when we mentioned to the owner that there was no milk he said other guest usually leave some behind to use up. the complimentary cookies in the afternoons did'nt appear. and breakfast was very basic, cereal,bread, cakes and hard boiled eggs. For the price, I would have expected better.

Room Tip: I asked for a queen sized room but it was quite small. to be fair, we didnt see the sizes of the oth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sallyslapcabbage54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Picked this place based on location and price and on the reviews. Yes, the location was good, two blocks from Banff Ave. The rooms are very dated and impossibly tiny. Not enough room for the luggage, a bed on wheels that moves if you are sitting up because there is no headboard. Plus the train whistle woke us up every night even though it wasn't close. If you are more than a little overweight you will not fit into the bathroom or shower. There were fresh croissants and hardboiled eggs for breakfast but we never saw the owner. The coffee was terrible, too weak. As for the price, it was too high for what it was.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank drumsurn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Unfortunately, the room we stayed in was so tiny, that not even our luggage would fit. The bathroom/shower was so small that it was hard to turn around. I only know this kind of lodging from NYC! On top of this, there were drunk and rowdy kids passing by our room all night and it only was a Monday night. In addition, it felt like Canada Pacific Railway was running all its containers by our room all night. This just didn't match the $85 we paid for this experience.

Room Tip: I would avoid this place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Torsten M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.3 mi away
Bow View Lodge
Bow View Lodge
#21 of 34 in Banff
826 reviews
0.2 mi away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
0.6 mi away
Banff Inn
Banff Inn
#17 of 34 in Banff
861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 34 in Banff
1,180 reviews
1 mi away
Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets
0.3 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Mountain Lodge

Address: 327 Caribou Street | Corner of Caribou and Muskrat, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1C4, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Banff
Price Range: $71 - $220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Mountain Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blue Mountain Lodge has been a hotel or Bed and Breakfast since 1908. Our heritage home features 10 rooms with ensuite bathrooms.Please keep in mind that we have slightly smaller rooms than newer structures. We are also very excited to report that Select Canada acknowledged our accomplishments by giving us a three-star rating in 2009. Type in the word bmlvip in our Blue Mountain Lodge booking engine to take advantage of an instant discount. Looking forward to meeting you in Banff! Pascal and Louise, Innkeepers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Blue Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Mountain Hotel Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing