We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Informative”

Buffalo Nations Luxton Museum
Ranked #21 of 79 things to do in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This natural history and Canadian First Nations museum is named after Norman Luxton who once operated a trading post in the Banff area. Come in for a tour of what life was like for First Nations before settlers came and then view authentic First Nations artifacts, borrowed from both personal collections and the Glenbow Museum. Tours of the Buffalo Nations Luxton Museum guided by staff who are local First Nations. Ask questions, learn and experience something truly Canadian.
Zoetermeer, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Informative”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

During our holiday tour in British Columbia we could find little information about the history of the country before the Europeans came and colonized it. But the Buffale Nations Luxton Museum filled that gap with good and clear information.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ineke en Koos R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    93
    28
    8
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Not a great experience”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Due to time limitations we chose this museum over the Whyte museum as we hadn't really heard mush about First Nation heritage but wished we hadn't. Admittedly we visited the day of the huge rainstorm, but there was water dripping through ceiling, buckets all around which seemed to indicate this wasn't a well maintained museum. The only member if staff didn't seem interested or nagged with visitors, in fact a friend of ours visited then went to pay and she ignored him for so long that he simply walked out. For what you see for your money, which is essentially a lot of artefacts, many actually not very good and no story you follow through, no interactivity and the information is just labels on photos or items - it was like a museum from 30 years ago! We were told we could wait an hour for someone to come around and inform us about the artefacts but apparently she was on lunch! What happened to audio commentary or even audio explanations telling a story, you don't then even need the person who thought lunch was more important than visitor experience. This was your old fashioned, boring uninformative and 'dusty' type of museum. Whoever is the curator needs to take a close look at how it runs and bring it up to the level of the best 21 century museums as there could be a real and very interesting history and story to tell. For $20 this was terrible

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Alfie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
342 reviews
101 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Very interesting visit about Nakoda life”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Man that gave the talk & then played the flute was very interesting, very nice & very mild mannered. If you are at all interested in native american ways-this s/b a must stop for you.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank leo t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banff, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Crap museum and overpriced compared to others in Banff”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Cost us(me and my girlfriend) 20 dollars to enter the museum, which took us about 30 min to see everything, most items have no dates of when or where they are from, museum roof was leaking with buckets all around some displays.
We went to the Whyte museum in Banff about a week later and were blown away by how good it was and all you need to pay is a donation of your choice.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Andreweire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banff, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Very interesting”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

I loved our experience at the Luxton museum. Even though the museum is a bit dated, the information is still very interesting. Loved showing my family from Australia all the taxidermy animals! We were even treated to a private show of a First nations instrument (looks like a bow & arrow and sounds a little bit like a Didgeridoo) Very special moment.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hana212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buffalo Nations Luxton Museum also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Buffalo Nations Luxton Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing