We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Crap museum and overpriced compared to others in Banff” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Buffalo Nations Luxton Museum

Buffalo Nations Luxton Museum
Ranked #22 of 69 things to do in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This natural history and Canadian First Nations museum is named after Norman Luxton who once operated a trading post in the Banff area. Come in for a tour of what life was like for First Nations before settlers came and then view authentic First Nations artifacts, borrowed from both personal collections and the Glenbow Museum. Tours of the Buffalo Nations Luxton Museum guided by staff who are local First Nations. Ask questions, learn and experience something truly Canadian.
Banff, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Crap museum and overpriced compared to others in Banff”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Cost us(me and my girlfriend) 20 dollars to enter the museum, which took us about 30 min to see everything, most items have no dates of when or where they are from, museum roof was leaking with buckets all around some displays.
We went to the Whyte museum in Banff about a week later and were blown away by how good it was and all you need to pay is a donation of your choice.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Andreweire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    73
    24
    8
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Banff, Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Very interesting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

I loved our experience at the Luxton museum. Even though the museum is a bit dated, the information is still very interesting. Loved showing my family from Australia all the taxidermy animals! We were even treated to a private show of a First nations instrument (looks like a bow & arrow and sounds a little bit like a Didgeridoo) Very special moment.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hana212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
Level Contributor
267 reviews
141 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Just average and overpriced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

Unfortunately the artifacts are not as we'll-documented as they could be, and become repetitive. The building is interesting, and I enjoyed spending 30 minutes her, but the $10 would have been better spent at the Whyte.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Hollyrik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plattsburgh, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good museum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Visited on our last day, while waiting for the shuttle. Very nice exhibits of the various indiginous tribes in the area. Worth an hour or two.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank rblacki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Unexpected excellence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

First off we had a coupon for 2 for 1 which is basically the only reason we stopped here. How pleasantly surprised we were. For $10 I learned so much. There were more exhibits then I thought when judging by the outside. We also bought a few things from the gift shop which had lots to choose from.

Helpful?
4 Thank thecoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cdnathena, Public Relations Manager at Buffalo Nations Luxton Museum, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you kindly for your review! We are glad we were able to surprise you in a good way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buffalo Nations Luxton Museum also viewed

 
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Buffalo Nations Luxton Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing