We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book a Stay + Win a Getaway Book your hotel on TripAdvisor and you could win a great trip!

“Very interesting” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Buffalo Nations Luxton Museum

Buffalo Nations Luxton Museum
Ranked #21 of 73 things to do in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This natural history and Canadian First Nations museum is named after Norman Luxton who once operated a trading post in the Banff area. Come in for a tour of what life was like for First Nations before settlers came and then view authentic First Nations artifacts, borrowed from both personal collections and the Glenbow Museum. Tours of the Buffalo Nations Luxton Museum guided by staff who are local First Nations. Ask questions, learn and experience something truly Canadian.
Banff, Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Very interesting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

I loved our experience at the Luxton museum. Even though the museum is a bit dated, the information is still very interesting. Loved showing my family from Australia all the taxidermy animals! We were even treated to a private show of a First nations instrument (looks like a bow & arrow and sounds a little bit like a Didgeridoo) Very special moment.

Visited May 2013
Thank Hana212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bellevue, Washington
Level Contributor
269 reviews
143 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Just average and overpriced”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

Unfortunately the artifacts are not as we'll-documented as they could be, and become repetitive. The building is interesting, and I enjoyed spending 30 minutes her, but the $10 would have been better spent at the Whyte.

Visited April 2013
1 Thank Hollyrik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plattsburgh, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good museum”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

Visited on our last day, while waiting for the shuttle. Very nice exhibits of the various indiginous tribes in the area. Worth an hour or two.

Visited March 2013
2 Thank rblacki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Unexpected excellence”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

First off we had a coupon for 2 for 1 which is basically the only reason we stopped here. How pleasantly surprised we were. For $10 I learned so much. There were more exhibits then I thought when judging by the outside. We also bought a few things from the gift shop which had lots to choose from.

4 Thank thecoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cdnathena, Public Relations Manager at Buffalo Nations Luxton Museum, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you kindly for your review! We are glad we were able to surprise you in a good way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
136 reviews
71 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Great day out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

We had a lovely few hours here. Theres a lot to take in and a lot you can learn. The displays were well thought out and informative. I'd recommend if you had couple of hours free to go here.

Visited February 2013
1 Thank Karanszia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buffalo Nations Luxton Museum also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park

Been to Buffalo Nations Luxton Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing