We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected excellence”

Buffalo Nations Luxton Museum
Ranked #20 of 75 things to do in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This natural history and Canadian First Nations museum is named after Norman Luxton who once operated a trading post in the Banff area. Come in for a tour of what life was like for First Nations before settlers came and then view authentic First Nations artifacts, borrowed from both personal collections and the Glenbow Museum. Tours of the Buffalo Nations Luxton Museum guided by staff who are local First Nations. Ask questions, learn and experience something truly Canadian.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Unexpected excellence”
Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

First off we had a coupon for 2 for 1 which is basically the only reason we stopped here. How pleasantly surprised we were. For $10 I learned so much. There were more exhibits then I thought when judging by the outside. We also bought a few things from the gift shop which had lots to choose from.

Helpful?
4 Thank thecoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cdnathena, Public Relations Manager at Buffalo Nations Luxton Museum, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you kindly for your review! We are glad we were able to surprise you in a good way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    88
    28
    8
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Level Contributor
180 reviews
99 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Great day out”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We had a lovely few hours here. Theres a lot to take in and a lot you can learn. The displays were well thought out and informative. I'd recommend if you had couple of hours free to go here.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Karanszia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level Contributor
99 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Interesting but dated”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

The exhibits were interesting but few in number considering the $10 entrance fee. It felt as if the whole museum needed an update. For children there were no interactive displays and little to hold their enthusiasm.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank AitchHW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Informative”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

The place has the external appearance of a fort, which seems incongruous given its content. I knew little or nothing about the First Nations so I found this informative. Exit thorough the gift shop...

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank georgeupstairs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
124 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Learning about First Nations”
Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

We are from the UK and what we knew about 'Indians' was learnt from Westerns. We both found the museum really interesting learning about the First Nations People's and their history. It was great to see the pictures and artefacts bringing the people and stories to life. It's a shame the building is dilapidated and obviously in need of renovation.

Helpful?
2 Thank NaughtyPP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cdnathena, Public Relations Manager at Buffalo Nations Luxton Museum, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
We are so glad you enjoyed your trip to our Museum. Thank you for your rating!

We know our Museum could use a little TLC, so we are working hard to invest time and donor dollars to make some updates to the space in 2013. Come back to visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buffalo Nations Luxton Museum also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Buffalo Nations Luxton Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing