We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Don't miss” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Whyte Museum of the Canadian Rockies

Whyte Museum of the Canadian Rockies
Ranked #17 of 70 things to do in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Whyte Museum inspires discovery and wonder where people and the Rocky Mountains meet. The Museum's founders, Peter and Catharine Whyte, were local artists and philanthropists who wished to offer a place where people could gather and appreciate the culture and beauty of the area. Explore the culture shaped by this mountain landscape through our exhibitions, events, heritage homes, archives, library and museum shop. Our programming is made possible through generous support from you - the Museum's Members, donors and sponsors.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Don't miss”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Free tours twice a day that last just 30 minutes - or enjoy the exhibits at your own speed. Learned a lot about the feisty ladies and gentlemen that began the tourist invasion of Banff. Lovely gift shop too

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gail M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    177
    139
    41
    11
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
365 reviews
89 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Entry fee is a donation- interesting historical photos and artifacts- especially of the women who explored the Rockies; and displays of First Nations art. We visited because of a chamber music concert last Sunday by a master class of musicians. Lovely instrumentals and singing in a great setting.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank DeborahandAndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
165 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“A very special museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

This is a great place to get oriented to the history and culture of the Banff area. The art museum itself is fascinating with local artists, both historical and contemporary. I loved the attention to the First Nation peoples, their art and cultural conflicts and challenges, as represented in art and other artifacts. The historical section is first rate and gives a great orientation to the challenges of settling and developing the Banff community and parks.

You could save this for a rainy day but we found it was also a great place at the end of a hiking day to just cool off and relax.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank orth1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful Exhibits and Museum Shop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Loved this local museum. The art exhibit featured first nations artists. Really well done. Wonderful pieces and thoughtfully exhibited. Local history exhibits were fun, informative, interesting and pleasant. A video monitor mounted in a bear-proof garbage can played a video of a grizzly unsuccessfully trying to break into just such a can. Lots of growling. Shadow video of cowboy storytelling on a tent was clever and fun. Interesting topics, historic photos and information. Loved the selection of materials in the museum store, too. Well worth the visit.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Katie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Very interesting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

On a very wet day in banff I resorted to doing a tour of the museums and I found this one the most interesting. Only small but full of historical information about the early settlers and the men who first came and surveyed the area which I found fascinating. I was lucky enough to arrive just as a guided tour was starting so was able to tag along.

I found some of their First Nation display extremely moving.

Free admission but donations welcomed.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank sammysgranny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Whyte Museum of the Canadian Rockies also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Whyte Museum of the Canadian Rockies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing