We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Worth a trip even if it isn't raining” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Whyte Museum of the Canadian Rockies

Whyte Museum of the Canadian Rockies
Ranked #17 of 67 things to do in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Whyte Museum inspires discovery and wonder where people and the Rocky Mountains meet. The Museum's founders, Peter and Catharine Whyte, were local artists and philanthropists who wished to offer a place where people could gather and appreciate the culture and beauty of the area. Explore the culture shaped by this mountain landscape through our exhibitions, events, heritage homes, archives, library and museum shop. Our programming is made possible through generous support from you - the Museum's Members, donors and sponsors.
Brum
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Worth a trip even if it isn't raining”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

The museum is really good and is more than just a wet day option. It's not massive but there is a lovely range of items and lots of interactive stuff.

I'd recommend a visit.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank MTBDunc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    161
    128
    38
    10
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, VA
Level Contributor
148 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Interesting but a bit Sparse”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Worth a quick visit. Donation. Not a whole lot there, but we still spent an hour. Filler Filler Filler Filler Filler Filler Filler Filler

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank George K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester
Level Contributor
110 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A great way to spend a couple of hours.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

This is a superb museum full of fascinating local peoples and history. Cleverly laid out it takes you on an informative tour of the history of Banff and the development of the area of the Rockies and the National Parks.
Just wonderful!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank gardenhistorian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy, California
Level Contributor
471 reviews
292 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
“Very well done”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

An excellent serious of exhibits on the area and the railroads. Lovely building and helpful, friendly people. Donations accepted.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Maconthemove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Awesome museum and great gift shop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

I really liked the museum's collection of paintings and their gift shop was a lot better than all the tourist shops on Banff Ave. I had been looking for stationary as a present for someone our whole trip, and finally found the perfect gift in their shop. Definitely the place to go if your an art lover in Banff!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JJBBEA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Whyte Museum of the Canadian Rockies also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Whyte Museum of the Canadian Rockies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing