We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Delightful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Whyte Museum of the Canadian Rockies

Whyte Museum of the Canadian Rockies
Ranked #18 of 69 things to do in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Whyte Museum inspires discovery and wonder where people and the Rocky Mountains meet. The Museum's founders, Peter and Catharine Whyte, were local artists and philanthropists who wished to offer a place where people could gather and appreciate the culture and beauty of the area. Explore the culture shaped by this mountain landscape through our exhibitions, events, heritage homes, archives, library and museum shop. Our programming is made possible through generous support from you - the Museum's Members, donors and sponsors.
Calgary
Level Contributor
103 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Delightful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

This museum is Banff-sized - small, but incredible. If you have a couple of hours the next time you are in Banff, put this on your list. There is an historical exhibit on the history of the area that is packed with interesting information and will enthrall you. There is a lot of interactive opportunities with audio and tactile experiences (and cool photo ops). Special, time limited exhibits are set up in the other areas. The museum shop is also a treat to browse through - you will find something to take home for sure. A tip - if you are an auto club member (AMA, CAA) there is a discount off the already reasonable admission fee.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank VicsmomCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    164
    136
    41
    10
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Bugaboos Exhibit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Excellent museum! Lovely exhibit of the Bugaboos. the mountain range in BC. My son had a picture that was in the exhibit.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank corinne50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Exceptional Museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

My wife and I are not normally museum visitors, but had time on our hands... the Whyte Museum was recommended to us, so we went. Two hours sliped by very quickly. The displays are very well composed, many with integrated audio or video. We especially enjoyed a feature art exhibit titled Yellowstone to Yukon.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire, UK
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Wonderful 'Yellowstone to Yukon' exhibition”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

It rained a lot on our last visit to Banff but luckily our visit to the Yellowstone to Yukon exhibition - showcasing wildlife/landscape art from the region - was a real highlight of our trip. There were some really beautiful paintings on display and the exhibition space is very pleasant indeed. A great book of the exhibition was available, along with lots of other very high quality items on sale in the shop. The rest of the museum was very interesting too. The entry fee isn't the cheapest but it was more than worth what we paid. Highly recommended.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank gubbs79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whyte_Museum, Marketing & Communications Specialist at Whyte Museum of the Canadian Rockies, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Very happy to hear that you enjoyed "Yellowstone to Yukon: The Journey of Wildlife and Art" - this exhibition will close on November 15 so hopefully more folks can catch it before it is gone.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halton Hills, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Fascinating compilation of history and art”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I was curious as to how the town of Banff and its settlement came to be. The museum provided a clear history of Banff and events that shaped it. The collection of paintings was a joy to behold.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Barb510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Whyte Museum of the Canadian Rockies also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Whyte Museum of the Canadian Rockies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing