We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great non-commercial sanctuary” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Banff Park Museum

Banff Park Museum
Ranked #18 of 67 things to do in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Museum housing stuffed wildlife that was once hunted in Banff National Park.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great non-commercial sanctuary”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

If, like me, you need to remove yourself from the commercialism. Find your way to the Museum Library, grab a book and seat yourself down in a leather chair, smoke your virtual pipe and reminisce.

Many many natural items that used to be alive for hours or a few minutes to view. My wife chooses not join me.

Sometimes the opening seems sporadic though.

Annual park pass gets you in free.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank GdnNewal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    101
    35
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Banff National Park, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great artifacts”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

Really enjoyed touring here and taking in all the sites this place had to offer from a naturalist point of view. We would recommend anyone to tour this particular museum and they will be pleasantly surprised at the interesting items on display

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Al W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A Bit of History”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

This is a relic of the past. The display is old school, the building is old school and the people working in it are old school. As it should be seeing that it is a museum of Banff.
The activities for the kids are awesome - kept my kids busy for hours.
The artifacts and curios are awesome - kept us busy for hours.
A bit sad that a lot of the exhibits are now only available in a museum. :(

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank familyfun2711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon
Level Contributor
80 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Historical natural history.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

If being up close and personal with taxidermied (I may have made up that word) animals is your thing, then this is the place to be. The building this vintage exhibit is housed in is something to see on its own, as it is very beautiful. I got a real sense and feel of the history of Banff from my visit, and my 10 year old daughter really enjoyed herself.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank fredheadsaskatoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“closed”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

The Banff Park museum is closed in the winter due to federal budget cuts. This is the second year that they have been doing this. I didn't know. It was very disappointing.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Tamara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Banff Park Museum also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Banff Park Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing