We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“natural history exhibits” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Banff Park Museum

Banff Park Museum
Ranked #19 of 69 things to do in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Museum housing stuffed wildlife that was once hunted in Banff National Park.
new westminster
Level Contributor
180 reviews
78 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
“natural history exhibits”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

the Banff Park Museum serves as a cabinet of curiosities for Canadian wildlife. Set in a small two-story building, it is stuffed with dead animals brought back to life with shiny, glass button eyes. There is quite a nice variety, though, including an elk, musk ox, beaver, lynx, and two ponderous bison heads mourning the romance of another era. Half of downstairs is devoted to winged creatures, including owls, hummingbirds, water fowl of all kinds, as well as an entire display of bees. The museum is worth going to if visit banff area.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank jack m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    104
    38
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
159 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Enjoyed our visit here. The museum is not huge by any means. But it does have a lot of pieces. They do guided tours, and we caught the tail end of it. The guide was very enthusiastic and knowledgeable.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Beejmcgillashaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, Ohio
Level Contributor
116 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Great little museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

This is as much an historical sight as a museum. It the old collection of mounts from very early in the history of Banff park. By modern standards it may be a little strange, but it is a wonderful collection, full of beautiful specimens, in a beautiful building, and is a great slice of history and natural history. I would highly recommend doing the tour with the staff (it is included in the admission). The staff is great and very knowledgeable.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Swift-Ohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“banff park museum”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

100 year old taxidermist animals of the banff area from insects to bears, bird, elk, fish. surprisingly in excellent condition. the library has some interesting books about the history of the area.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank ronHI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, MD
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good event to take in if it rains”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Just the building alone is worth seeing. I hope I don't have this confused with something else; but I think this was the one with an extensive collection of taxidermy, which I generally would find gruesome; but this time interesting.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank CoyoteBrokenFoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Banff Park Museum also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Banff Park Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing