We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Lake Louise and the Icefields Parkway - Full-Day Tour
239

Book in advance
from
$138.89
per adult
Check availabilityView full product details
  
Ways to Experience Lake Minnewanka
from $138.89
More Info
from $63.16
More Info
from $64.82
More Info
from $1,041.71
More Info
Reviews (3,818)
Filter reviews
3,818 results
Traveler rating
2,059
1,284
409
45
21
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
2,059
1,284
409
45
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviews boat tour stewart canyon short drive from banff picnic tables big horn sheep banff national park parking lot stunning views canadian rockies dam jacks boats shore fishing wildlife captain trail
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
281 - 286 of 3,818 reviews
Reviewed August 22, 2019 via mobile

This was our first stop in Banff National Park and it was breathtaking. Parking might become a problem, so try to be here early. There is one small cafe and a place where you can rent canoes. Here it might be a little crowded, but you can take fantastic hikes around the lake and you’ll hardly see any people.

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank 293katrinr
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
PursuitCollection, General Manager at Lake Minnewanka, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2019

Hi 293katrinr, thanks for starting you Banff visit at Lake Minnewanka. Coming early, or jumping on ROAM Transit is the best way to visit if you can.

The trails near the lake do a great job of getting you away from all the hustle and bustle of Banff and life in general!

All the best,
Travis Mann
Lake Minnewanka Cruise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2019

This lake was beautiful and loads of nice walking trails - although some restricted to groups over 4 due to bears. I hadn't heard much about this lake but it should defo be on peoples list of places to visit when in banff as it was really underrated

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank AJM1207
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
PursuitCollection, General Manager at Lake Minnewanka, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2019

Awesome, thank you AJM1207 for this. We're definitely not as popular as some of our beautiful neighbors, and we appreciate you recommending us for a worthy stop while in the Banff area.
Regards,
Travis Mann
Lake Minnewanka Cruise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2019

We had planned to hike the out and back trail at Lake Minnewanka, but were told when we arrived there is a 4+ group restriction past 1.8k in, due to bear activity ($25,000 CAD fine if you're caught not with a 4!!). We got to the signs and actually were able to link up with another 2 that wanted to walk about the distance we did! The rangers caution you though, if you take this approach, to discuss distance ahead of time b/c you will be fined even if you START with a 4 group, but don't end with one.

We were thrilled because we were REALLY hoping to spot a grizzly at some point in our trip, but did not see anything except dear on this trail.

After coming back, we ate sandwiches and hammocked by the lake shore. If you walk a couple steps down the trail, you can easily step off and find a nice "secluded" spot. There are people everywhere, but tree coverage gives you the feeling of seclusion. There are also picnic tables in the main area where people were grilling, etc. We jumped into the water, which was COLD!. If you chose to do this, exercise caution because your muscles will freeze before you realize it! We swam in about 2 minute increments.

We took the "Beer Voyage" boat at 5 pm, and LOVED it! I am not a beer drinker, but they have vodka sodas for the non beer drinkers! 30 extra minutes and only $10 more than the regular boat cruise...I'll take it! Be cautioned, there is not a bathroom on board, which doesn't pair exceptionally well with drinking.

Date of experience: August 2019
1  Thank sarahw16vt
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
PursuitCollection, General Manager at Lake Minnewanka, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2019

What a great review! Thank you very much for visiting. Sounds like you guys packed as much into your day at Minnewanka as possible! Hiking, swimming, beer cruise, lunch, relaxing by the water - let me know the next time you're stopping by and I'll join you :)

Thanks again for stopping by and sharing your experience, really appreciate the feedback.
Travis Mann
Lake Minnewanka Cruise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2019 via mobile

Lovey lake as they all are. Nice little coffee shop and small trail to walk around. Definitely recommend checking it out!

Date of experience: August 2019
2  Thank Shreena999
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
PursuitCollection, General Manager at Lake Minnewanka, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2019

Hi Shreena999, thanks for visiting Lake Minnewanka and sharing your experience.

Hope to see you again.
Travis Mann
Lake Minnewanka Cruise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2019

We took a taxi to the lake then the boat trip. The boat merely went down the lake seats then sat for you to enjoy the silence! Scenery nice but....

Date of experience: June 2019
Thank Roslyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
PursuitCollection, General Manager at Lake Minnewanka, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2019

Hi Roslyn G, sorry to read the tour didn't meat your expectation. The tour guides aim to tell you some of the unique and interesting stories of the area while underway, and provide a few moments approx 12 km's down the lake to soak in the view.

We appreciate the feedback.
Regards,
Travis Mann
Lake Minnewanka Cruise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews