We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“It's a lake” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Minnewanka

Lake Minnewanka
Book In Advance
$46*
and up
Banff Lake Cruise
Ranked #4 of 68 things to do in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Banff National Park's largest waterway.
Loveland, Colorado
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“It's a lake”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

It's a lake. There were picnic benches. Nothing extraordinary. We had a fine morning there reading. We didn't take the cruise. We walked a bit, but it was a very warm day and it was quite crowded.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank PaulandGail80538
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,815 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    896
    667
    222
    22
    8
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
258 reviews
107 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Great spot to hike.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Butiful place. Many hiking trails. You can take a boat tour. Many photo opportunities. Amazing canyon on the trail. Few areas were closed because of Cougar activity.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank kurzew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Level Contributor
127 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Cruise on this lake was just awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

We took a boat cruise on this lake and it was great- The guide was a happy guy, he explained the meaning of Minnewenka , that meant ("Water of the Spirits" in Nakoda) . Here Spirit did not mean ghosts or after life, but the Energy that was around -It is a glacial lake located in the eastern area of Banff National Park in Canada. We saw where the Rockies ended -the pristine waters surrounded by trees where the Black bear enjoyed the peace without humans bothering it! We saw one black bear but as soon as our boat neared it, it vanished into the thicket-
A tall tower where natives would keep watch for forest fires was situated high above the trees, I believe its still being used as a fire watching tower.
We were shown particular trees, with a white trunk, and were surprised to learn that it was in reality just ONE TREE! this tree was of medicinal value, the powder of the bark was used as Aspirin, and a strip of the bark could be like a +50 sunscreen! but it lasted just a few minutes! -
This one single tree was five thousand years old and it sent out its shoots to bring forth another tree as it never spread seeds!
The lakes waters were calm ad pristine and the boat cruise will be etched in our minds for as long as we live-

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank SS P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loveland, Colorado
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Boat with expansive scenery tour.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

This lake has a beauty that captures the imagination. Our tour guide was fun to listen to and really made the trip more interesting. The two nesting eagles were special too.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lindahikes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax Region, Canada
Level Contributor
83 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Is very busy at first, but if you walk away from the main area it is much more relaxing. The lake is nice, there were animals walking around quite close to us. Good for a nice relaxing walk!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Christine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lake Minnewanka also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Lake Minnewanka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing