We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Time to myself”
Review of Lake Minnewanka

Lake Minnewanka
Book In Advance
More Info
$51.06*
and up
Banff Lake Cruise
More Info
$55.32*
and up
Summer Tour: Banff and its Wildlife
More Info
$113.48*
and up
Banff and Lake Louise Full-Day Tour with a Small Group
Ranked #4 of 75 things to do in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Banff National Park's largest waterway.
Edmonton, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Time to myself”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

I drove to Lake Minnewanka (15 minutes) and took a boat tour. It was fun and I got some great pictures I would have missed if I hadn't taken the trip.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 564Charlene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,486 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,295
    866
    285
    28
    12
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Heswall, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Bit of a drive”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

A bit out of town, but peaceful and scenic, albeit frozen at the time of year we saw it. Nice to see herds of wild sheep grazing the sides of the road, although they did look a bit hungry

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank tanandmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgewater
Level 6 Contributor
69 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Very nice experience”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Beautiful views all around the lake. We did the almost level walking trail over to the gorge. The road over the dam and around had wonderful scenery. It would be a pleasant way to spend a day, picnicking, feet in the water, just enjoying the views

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Somerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
522 reviews
248 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
“Nice drive to Lake Minnewanka”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

This is a short drive out of Banff to Lake Minnewanka, Two Jack and Johnson Lake. It would be nice to go trekking here. We went for a drive and it took about an hour round trip. It is also a lovely picnic spot. The scenery is gorgeous as always in the Rockies.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank seema60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
1,089 reviews
561 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 438 helpful votes
“Wonderful views”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

This is a beautiful spot and just a short drive from the centre of Banff. The walk along the lake shore is wonderful and the views of the mountains are breathtaking - fantastic place to take photographs. We decided against taking the boat trip but people who did take it seemed to have enjoyed the experience.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank manswa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lake Minnewanka also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Lake Minnewanka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing