We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“walk up into the canyon”
Review of Lake Minnewanka

Lake Minnewanka
Book In Advance
More Info
$48.65*
and up
Banff Lake Cruise
Ranked #4 of 75 things to do in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Banff National Park's largest waterway.
Carver, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
210 reviews
94 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“walk up into the canyon”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

loved the rocky mountain sheep and eagles all over. the lake is beautiful and you can walk up into the canyon and see a ton of sheep. they are along the river which leads to the lake and well maintained trails are safe and accessible. we even got some coffee and a muffin at a little shack for snacks afterwards and ate at a picnic table.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank b w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,375 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,241
    822
    273
    28
    11
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
95 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Boat tours are just average”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

My husband and I took the boat tour of the lake. I felt that the cost was disproportionately expensive for what we saw and learned. The lake is large so the tour took about an hour. There were much better sights to see in that hour and at no cost.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Lynne4078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontypool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“good”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Stopped here for a brief visit only to find the ladies conveniences were closed so we had to post a man outside the gents so that the ladies on our trip could relieve themselves. Good information on the signs telling you all about the lake and the wildlife in the area.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Sally D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markham, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great scenery”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

The park activity was curtailed during our visit due to the effects of the recent floods, however the scenery and wildlife more than sufficed, great ice cream too.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank caramba1518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missoula, Montana
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

This lake was really beautiful. Easy hike and definitely worth it. Plan on there being lots of people on a nice day!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Montanagrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lake Minnewanka also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Lake Minnewanka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing