We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous Lake For Hiking/Picnics etc”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Lake Minnewanka

Lake Minnewanka
Book In Advance
More Info
$47.78*
and up
Banff Lake Cruise
Ranked #4 of 76 things to do in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Banff National Park's largest waterway.
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
559 reviews
149 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 318 helpful votes
“Fabulous Lake For Hiking/Picnics etc”
Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

Easy drive from Banff and a great place for hiking and/or picnics. Saw lots of sheep and a huge Elk on the road there which sorta made the trip even more special. There's also a boat ride available but I would suggest you save your money and do the boat on Lake Maligne in the Jasper National Park instead.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank MalcH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,259 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,169
    788
    266
    26
    10
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai
Level Contributor
154 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Nice lake....”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

I went there twice. Once during the day and then again the next morning for sunrise. There are few more lakes nearby which you must visit. I was fortunate to sight a bear early morning when I had gone there for some sunrise pictures.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank HussainNalwala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
149 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Peaceful and beautiful”
Reviewed July 4, 2013

We took a trip on this lake as it was part of our package with Columbia Icefields and Banff Gondola. The lake was beautiful and the boat tour was very interesting. The lake was very peaceful, we managed to see Bald eagles but unfortunately no bears!! We were lucky as it was a sunny day, and we could sit outside. Definitely worth a visit.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank suzy6626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoetermeer, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beauty”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Visiting Lake Minnewanka just before sunset is an experience of beauty. Hiking in Stewart canyon was relaxing and exciting, and the only wildlife we encountered was a nice squirrel....

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Ineke en Koos R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludhiana, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Family Holiday in Banff”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Amazing and most scenic place on Earth.One gets lost in Nature's lap and is so relaxing and soothing that time flies unnoticed.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank BPSGill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lake Minnewanka also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Lake Minnewanka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing