We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful views and history”
Review of Banff Gondola

Banff Gondola
Book on TripAdvisor
More Info
$96.63*
and up
Banff City Sightseeing Tour
Ranked #1 of 75 things to do in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Soar to the top of Sulphur Mountain to experience a stunning bird's-eye view of six incredible mountain ranges. With breathtaking vistas in every direction, your adventure begins with an eight-minute journey to the summit of Sulphur Mountain in a modern, fully enclosed four-passenger gondola cabin. Glide up over the treetops to the crest of a steep-sided Rocky Mountain peak and step out into a jaw-dropping mountaintop experience at an elevation of 2,281 metres (7,486 feet). Stroll along the ridgetop boardwalk where the views get better with every step. Then warm up in our newly transformed, state-of-the-art summit facility. With new restaurants, interactive interpretive exhibits, a multi-sensory theatre and a breathtaking 360-degree rooftop observation deck, the new Banff Gondola summit heightens every sense.
Useful Information: Stairs / elevator, Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase, Wheelchair access
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
185 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Wonderful views and history”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Fabulous, worth the money and time. Amazing gondola ride, well signed boardwalk, I there's ting historic weather hut

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Marc L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,609 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,558
    1,560
    360
    78
    53
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
78 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Outstanding Adventure and Excellent Burger At The Top”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Having taken the gondola once before, we knew exactly what to expect: wind, cold, heat, rain, snow, sunshine, - in other words, all of it. There's just something about the weather at the top of Sulphur Mountain. And, we all of it that day - including the snow, for a minute in July. The vistas are incredible, the wooden boardwalk including the stairs are an engineering marvel (remember, there are no roads up to the top so how did all of the materials get there and how were pilings drilled into the rock?). It is peaceful and spectacular.

But you always get a little worried about substandard food in tourist hot-spots because face it, when you're at the top, you're a captive audience. But the burgers at the Summit Cafe are outstanding. Fresh made burger patties, crispy fries, all very good. You will wait in line though because the order-then-pay system is not intuitive. The lines seem to form on two ends, and you're not sure which way to enter. Order at one counter, walk to the cashier quite a distance away to pay for your order and then return back to where you placed your order to pick it up once they call your number. It's curved, it's narrow and it's open at two ends. And everyone else is as confused as you. But it was a good burger and I would do it again.

Oh, and pack a few nuts in your pocket for the walk to the very summit at the Cosmic Ray Station. Chipmunks hang out there, and they will jump right into your hand to retrieve a nut or two. Great for the kids (adults too). The boardwalk area is baby stroller-free. It's all stairs.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank AttitudeGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Level Contributor
94 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Beautiful views and a definite highlight for Banff sightseeing”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

This was definitely one of the most enjoyable highlights of our trip to Banff. Just up the street from the Rimrock Hotel, the round trip gondola ride takes you to the top of Sulphur Mountain where you witness incredible views of the surrounding mountains and Banff region. We were there in early evening in June when it was still light out and the coloring was beautiful. We did the gondola ride as part of a three attraction package purchased from Brewster which also included the Columbia Ice field tour and the Minnewanka Boat ride. It was worth the savings. There is a gift shop with snacks and Starbucks at the gondola base, a good sized parking lot and this is only about 5-7 minutes from downtown Banff . There also is a cafe and restaurant at the top of the gondola site which is a round look out tower so you don't have to be outside if you want to take in the panoramic views from inside. You can do a hike along a well laid out pathway once on top but there are quite a number of steps to climb up and down along the wooden pathways. We did not go all the way on the trail up top, but stayed close to the tower because it was windy and chilly at the time. Would love to do this attraction again if price were cheaper. Definitely memorable and worthwhile. It was better than expected and prettier views than in the photos I saw before the ride. It's better to have a clear day of course for the views.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jrknyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Level Contributor
154 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Beautiful.”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

We were planning to visit the Gandola on our very first day but since it was cloudy on that day the hotel staff advised us to go on day 2. I think it was a wise decision. The second day was very clear and we could see the town from the top very clear. A must visit place. Please carry your woolens as it is quite windy up there.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank HussainNalwala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
217 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Great view when weather clear”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

I have visited here often. I find the best time to go is mid morning during the middle of the week. Less likely to be overly crowded at that time. The views are awesome if the sky is clear. Make sure you take a jacket as it can be windy. The staff are very helpful. Ask about conditions on the top before you go up so you don't take unnecessary clothing to reduce weight, while ensuring that you do take what you need to avoid disappointment.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Banff Gondola also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Banff Gondola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing