We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“not worth the cost”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fairmont Banff Springs
Ranked #2 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
alberta
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“not worth the cost”
Reviewed August 6, 2009

upon arrival we waited in our car for over 10 minutes just to pull up to the front of the hotel.
We were then told we could use valet service or park ourselves. The valet service cost $33.00.
Then we went and stood in line to check in for almost a half hour.
There was a large group waiting as well, with young children running wild and throwing a ball, which actually hit me. The staff seemed to not even notice.

The room was dated, nothing different than any other hotel room I have been to.

we had breakfast in the bow valley restaurant, it was good, but nowhere near worth the $100.00 price tag for 3 of us. Go down the road to Phils and get the same breakfast for $20.00!

The service was nowhere near acceptable for the price this hotel commands.

Stay anywhere in Banff, but this hotel. If you want an upscale experience - go to the rimrock.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank fromAB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,961
    1,216
    497
    284
    161
See reviews for
1,421
2,767
141
860
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,448)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2009

My wife and I stayed at the Fairmont Banff Springs for one week. From the outside the hotel is simply overwhelming - it really does look like a castle. Inside, it was somewhat dated, as we expected. Our room was in one of the towers, so it was very small (even though our rate did not reflect the smallest room category). Also, I am 6'4" and had to duck to shave in the bathroom and hit my head a few times getting in and out of the shower.

We ordered room service a couple times and the food was very good, though not outstanding.

Service was spotty. On the one hand, the staff was generally very friendly and helpful when you spoke to them, but the problem was getting someone to answer the phone. They had a "royal service" button on the phone, but I found that every time I used it I ended up on hold. I was on hold for well over five minutes one time and gave up.

Also, we had one problem with ordering turn-down and extra towels and coming back around 11pm to find that no one tended the room.

Clearly the hotel was understaffed, probably a result of current economic conditions, but when you pay that much for a tiny hotel room, regardless of the location, you do expect someone to pick up the phone when you call from your room.

Overall I do think the problem was understaffing, as other than the turn-down confusion we found staff to be friendly and helpful. The room was very clean, linens were nice, the ventilation system worked pretty well and the hotel has a very elegant feel. I will return to Banff at some point, but I will consider some of the less expensive hotels.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grover_tx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2009

We stayed for over two weeks including Xmas day & NYE on the Gold level. Perfect perfect perfect ... room was cozy and fresh, the complimentary bar, and snacks were fantastic we loved the skiing close by and the town was gorgeous a close walk. recommend if you ski/snowboard

Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank rocky2319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern NJ
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2009

We stayed two nights this past weekend. Wonderful setting, but overall a major disappointment. Don't accept rooms on the mezzanine level (rooms numbered around 150) -- they are near one of the reception halls where weddings and other events take place. Which was, in fact, our experience -- Sunday night, loud music thumping through the short corridor, at 11pm, 11:30pm, until shortly after midnight. We called the front desk at 11:15pm, they assured us the party was over by 11:30. 11:45 rolls around, we call again, someone else states "it will be over by midnight. did someone tell you 11:30? oh, they were mistaken. We have security standing by to pull the plug at midnight". Not kidding, literal quote about security pulling the plug. The only thing that was being pulled, was them jerking my chain.

Complained on checkout the following morning. Pleasant, well-skilled person in handling complaints states: "Oh, we are sorry. Unfortunately we were fully booked so had to place you in that room". I stated that they must have known about the wedding for 6+ months ahead of time, why did they place us there? Later on she states, "did you ask for a room change?". How is it possible to be both fully booked, and have the possibility exist of a room change?

My view is that individuals who book at this Fairmont have little leverage, compared to tour operators who bring in much more significant revenue than my measely $300/night, plus dinner (guess a thousand bucks just doesn't mean much to Fairmont).

The front desk person did offer to take away the $25/night parking charges (totalling $50). But I declined, saying this wasn't about money to me, but about service and satisfying customers. I felt cheated, lied to, and very unhappy at the end of our stay. Will avoid this type of hotel and chain at all costs in the future. Buyer beware.

The Banff area is lovely, the Ice Fields parkway stunning, and not to be missed.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Family_of_4x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2009

Checked myself into the Banff Springs for a month last year whilst doing some skiing. Rooms average and a bit tired but service is very good. The various restaurants all have good service although again the fare is very large hotel - i.e. nothing amazing but nothing too poor either. Location is breathtaking though. Memories of swimming in the outdoor heated swimming pool with a glass of mulled wine apre ski will stay with me forever. The hotel is one of the few that the Big 3 (ski resort) buses stop at and the ski store is right next to the stop - pick them up in the morning with a coat-check type ticket and drop them off in the evening. Bar has roaring fires etc and good wine/beer selection. Bowling alley is good fun. It is a bit of a trek into town from here though - especially if you're not used to -40 and high winds at night. Taxis are quick and quite cheap though. All round a standard hotel in beautiful surroundings. Spa and gym well kitted out. I would recommend for groups of friends or couples wanting a ski holiday but who don't care about being walking distance to the nightlife.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrchunky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
Reviewed August 3, 2009

We just returned from our honeymoon at the Fairmont Banff Springs. Despite what some people are saying, our room was wonderful. We had a Junior Suite room with an amazing view of the Bow Valley. The bathroom was small, but that didn't bother either of us. Our travel agent had added that it was our honeymoon, so we arrived to a chilled bottle of champagne and a can of candies & nuts in our room. I highly recommend one of the online pre-paid specials to get the best prices. I had joined the Fairmont President's Club, so we were pre-registered when we arrived and had free high speed internet service in our room. Parking was also discounted as part of our package. I'm already hoping we'll head back up there for an anniversary.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IrishEyesSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south carolina
Level Contributor
49 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2009

This experience was truly royal! The hotel was likened to a Scottish Castle. Some of the staff wore kilts!! Our plan included a large room, free appetizers, and breakfast in a secluded lounge on our floor! This hotel had everything....spa, golf course,shops and restaurants! All were top quality. I walked to town to shop while my husband golfed! Saw an elk right downtown!! The views of the mountains were magnificent! The interior as well as the exterior resembled a beautiful castle! We are still in awe of it!!! Hope we can return someday!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suehhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
1.2 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
1.3 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#13 of 32 in Banff
2,069 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#12 of 32 in Banff
1,979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
2.0 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 32 in Banff
864 reviews
1.4 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#8 of 32 in Banff
1,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Banff Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Banff Springs

Property: Fairmont Banff Springs
Address: 405 Spray Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1J4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
#1 Family Hotel in Banff
#1 Green Hotel in Banff
#2 Spa Hotel in Banff
#2 Luxury Hotel in Banff
#2 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#2 Business Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Banff Springs 4*
Number of rooms: 770
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Banff National Park, a UNESCO World Heritage Site, the world famous Fairmont Banff Springs resort stands as a landmark in the picturesque alpine town of Banff. This year round luxury resort is styled after a Scottish baronial castle and offers guests spectacular mountain and valley views, a championship golf course during the summer, unparalleled skiing in the winter, and an award-winning European-style spa, the Willow Steam Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Fairmont Hotels, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Jetsetter and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairmont Banff Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Banff Springs Hotel Banff
Fairmont Banff Springs Hotel
The Fairmont Banff Springs Banff
Fairmont Banff Hotel
Fairmont Hotel Banff
Banff Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing