We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small room on the Gold floor.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fairmont Banff Springs
Ranked #2 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed July 7, 2014

We spent a little extra money and stayed on the gold floor. I was disappointed with the size of the room. I thought the money spent would be shown with the room. Also no fridge in our room. Staff are very friendly and accommodating. Easy walk to downtown banff. Check out is at noon, however on our departing day at around 9:30am someone entered our room and turned on the light, even though I had the privacy sign out. Overall a good experience.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RikkiLee88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont_Banff_Mgmt, Manager at Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2014

Thank you very much for your review. While we are pleased to see that you enjoyed your overall stay, I would like to apologize for disturning you on your last day with us. I also regret that you were disappointed that there was no fridge in your room. Certainly not as an excuse but rather as an explanation we do not have fridges in the room because of the full service Fairmont Gold Lounge with complimentary water, juices and soft drinks and other food offerings. We do have fridges available upon request and would be happy to provide this to you for your future stays.

Thank you again for your feedback as it is truly appreciated. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future.

The Fairmont Banff Springs

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (6,877)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,061 - 4,067 of 6,877 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2014

Excellent service and experience. Good food and the views!!
Had a wonderful time. The ambiance and character of the hotel
is outstanding. We had a great room on the 9th floor, quiet and large.
Bathroom was nice, too.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts
Thank Kathy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont_Banff_Mgmt, Manager at Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2014

Thank you for visiting us from San Diego! We are delighted that you enjoyed your time spent here with us and hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2014

The hotel is beautiful and in a breathtaking location by the Bow Falls. However, the service was lacking at times. If you are expecting the Ritz, this is not it. The bellman in particular were quite rude and unhelpful. There was a long wait for the breakfast buffet each morning- and our dinner at the bow valley grill was quite disappointing. I think I will be back to Banff again but check out rim rock or the other hotels in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank familytraveler013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont_Banff_Mgmt, Manager at Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2014

Thank you for your review. We care about your experience and want to connect more personally with you. A Hotel representative will be reaching out to you shortly.

The Fairmont Banff Springs

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2014

I have always wanted to experience this beautiful property and the time was now right. My wife and I visited for one night and I only wish it could have been longer. The hotel stands up as a castle in the middle of a mountainous forest. Breathtaking.
The staff are all positive professionals, who told me that gratuities are not accepted by the majority of the staff as the hotel pays them a decent wage. First time I have heard that in Canada.
Our room was modern but ancient, in that it had all of the amenities but the rustic castle interior [612] blended in with the rest of the venue.
It is located within a National Park and is considered a tourist resort so expect it to be a tad pricey, but the experience is worthwhile. A 15 minute mountain walk to the townsite or a 10 minute walk to beautiful Bow falls.
Several on site restaurant to choose from and I would expect them all to be great, we flipped a coin between the Italian and Canadian Grill. The Canadian Grill won out and we were not disappointed. The view down the valley was stupendous and our server Jeff delightful. The meal was a treat and the wine fantastic. I tried the house cocktail "V G T" [ spelling?] - it was a nice start to the evening, followed by the Bison skewers to share.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the golf course side. Ours was not and if the window is open you may be above the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flamesfan24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont_Banff_Mgmt, Manager at Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time out of your day to write a review on TripAdvisor. We are delighted to see that you had an enjoyable stay with us. We hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back.

The Fairmont Banff Springs

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2014

A magical, wonderful place. If in Banff, stay here and enjoy this warm and elegant hotel. What a charming place, rooms are so comfortable and the smell of the surrounding forests and Bow River are WOW!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Jaki1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont_Banff_Mgmt, Manager at Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2014

Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us. We are pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay.

The Fairmont Banff Springs

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2014

It was exciting simply to drive up to such a lovely special location in the gorgeous Canadian Rockies. They allow you to check in online so when you get there they give you the key, take your luggage and you are done. No dragging through the lobby and waiting. Our room was a small one but very comfortable. I think it's funny that we didn't have mountain view room because I guess we were on the wrong side of the hotel but there were indeed lovely mountains we could see out our window. The hotel is old and historic and it was fun looking at all the nooks and crannies of the lounges throughout the hotel. The cocktails in the lounge were expensive but huge, unusual and tasty. We were there in mid-June when there was still a chill at night. Imagine our amazement when we were outside and enjoying the late evening summer light and a waitress came by with blankets to wrap us in. The service here was friendly and warm without being obsequious. We really loved the feel of a more gracious era but the luxuries of the modern day. I highly recommend making the splurge to stay here. Only complaint is that the parking was expensive. That is one of my pet peeves but minor compared to the many wonderful things here.

Room Tip: We had an inexpensive room but still wonderful. I guess though that it was cool that we were in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thorspecken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont_Banff_Mgmt, Manager at Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2014

Thank you so much for your review. We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay with us.

The Fairmont Banff Springs

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2014

The hotel was beautiful. The staff were incredibly accommodating. The room was nice but a little small, especially the bathroom. Other than the small room it was great. The Presidents' Club is the way to go. Little pricey but worth it.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont_Banff_Mgmt, Manager at Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2014

Thanks for visiting us from North Carolina! We are so pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay, especially the service you received. I will be sure to pass your compliments onto the team.

The Fairmont Banff Springs

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
1.2 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
1.3 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#12 of 33 in Banff
2,204 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#15 of 33 in Banff
2,097 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#8 of 33 in Banff
1,481 reviews
1.3 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
1.4 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 33 in Banff
1,171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Banff Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Banff Springs

Address: 405 Spray Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1J4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Banff
#1 Family Hotel in Banff
#1 Green Hotel in Banff
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
#2 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#2 Spa Hotel in Banff
#2 Business Hotel in Banff
Price Range: $385 - $670 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Banff Springs 4*
Number of rooms: 770
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Banff National Park, a UNESCO World Heritage Site, the world famous Fairmont Banff Springs resort stands as a landmark in the picturesque alpine town of Banff. This year round luxury resort is styled after a Scottish baronial castle and offers guests spectacular mountain and valley views, a championship golf course during the summer, unparalleled skiing in the winter, and an award-winning European-style spa, the Willow Steam Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fairmont Hotels, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Fairmont Banff Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Banff Springs Hotel Banff
Fairmont Banff Springs Hotel
Fairmont Banff Hotel
The Fairmont Banff Springs Banff
Fairmont Hotel Banff
Banff Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing