We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Fantastic Ambience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fairmont Banff Springs

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Fairmont Banff Springs to your Saves list
Fairmont Banff Springs
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   405 Spray Avenue | P.O. Box 960, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1J4, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Upgrade to Fairmont Gold
Ranked #1 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Calgary
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic Ambience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

Attended a conference here and happy with the service and ambience. Rooms were very small and poky however plenty of room around the hotel to explore. Lovely pool and gym.
Dont miss the pub at the bottom of the hill. There is a shuttle to bring you back up if you need it or if its too cold to walk.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Foodie82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FBS1888, Manager at Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Thank you for your compliments, especially for the Waldhaus Pub. Before long we will be able to enjoy the pub patio with stunning vistas to enjoy. We hope you will return to see!

The Fairmont Banff Springs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,301
    1,059
    446
    249
    148
See reviews for
1,183
2,350
117
741
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,239)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
newtownards,Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

We stayed at this hotel in February for two nights and thought it was absolutely amazing.From the moment we arrived we were simply so impressed by the size of the hotel and its grand interior. Photos don't do it justice and even on our last day we still found different parts to the hotel we hadn't known existed.
The check-in staff were efficient and friendly and advised us of where to eat in the hotel. Our room was on the the 8th floor and was really nice both in its decor and ambiance.The bathroom was small and the only negative to our room stay.
The leisure facilities were very good and we particularly enjoyed the outdoor pool which was heated to 39 degrees..It was quite stunning looking around at the fantastic scenery, warm in a pool but the air temperature below 0.
We had breakfast each morning in the Castle pantry where you are able to buy an adequate breakfast and only paying for what you eat. This suited us as we aren't big breakfast eaters and found the prices reasonable ( under $10 each). We also ate in the Rundle lounge each evening and found the prices reasonable. There are several dining options within the hotel which should suit all budgets.
I would certainly recommend this hotel if you are looking something special. There is plenty to do in Banff itself but even if you didn't venture outside there is enough going on in the hotel to keep you busy.
Well done Fairmont Banff Springs.

Room Tip: Join the Presidents Club before your visit as it will enable you to have free WiFi in the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scbrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FBS1888, Manager at Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience and for visiting from Ireland!
Positive feedback is very meaningful to receive, and will ensure your comments are shared with our team.

The Fairmont Banff Springs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
36 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

Loved my trip to Banff Springs and our stay at the Fairmont. If you're going to Banff, you have to stay here! The hotel looks like an old castle and is simply stunning - amazing 360 views of the mountains from so many spots. You can explore the hotel for days. Great restaurants and spa. Loved the outdoor heated pool. Staff is very friendly and accommodating. Highly recommend staying on the gold floor - worth it for access to the loung, breakfast, free wifi, snacks, drinks all day, private check in and concierge. They also have a pillow menu!

Room Tip: Our room on the gold floor was small but nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelchickNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FBS1888, Manager at Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
We are delighted to see that you had a wonderful experience on Fairmont Gold. Thank you for travelling from New York and we hope you will return again!

The Fairmont Banff Springs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014 via mobile

Hands down the best hotel I've ever visited. The staff is courteous and responsive. The facilities are immaculate, and everything about this hotel is beautiful. Huge windows overlook magnificent views of the mountains in every direction. The bed was great, the room was spacious and well equipped. My only complaint is that the room was a bit too war, for my taste, and leaving the windows open didn't really help. I had a facial and body treatment at the spa, too, and it was extremely relaxing. I miss the Fairmont already, and can't wait to plan another trip for pleasure instead of business this time.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank CT-Amy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FBS1888, Manager at Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Thank you for visiting The Fairmont Banff Springs from the Eastern US. We appreciate your feedback very much and hope you can return again! We love to hear that our colleagues were engaging, and will certainly share this with them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
92 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

Well this is always one of the most beautiful hotels and settings on earth. The Banff Springs is very well kept for such a large old palace hotel. The Gold floor is always easy for a nice breakfast and evening Happy Hour. The service is just average in this hotel with exception to the Valet and Platinum check in the are top shelf. The pool is always busy and I have a hard time imagining how clean it can be? Floors in the change room are always looking grungy. This is still a one of the most beautiful hotels.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank jhmadsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FBS1888, Manager at Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
We appreciate your honest review. As we strive to be OUTSTANDING in all areas, we will work harder to achieve this. Your comments have been shared with our team.

The Fairmont Banff Springs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

The first of three Fairmonts we stayed at in Canada. Pictures do not do justice. Our room overlooked the lake and mountains - probably the best room ever. Started with drinks on the deck then walked (20 minutes+) into town to look for a restaurant. Found Tony Romas from a guide book. Service great, food too much. We were four and unused to the size of the meals. The tour schedule had us in Banff for two nights. Could have stayed longer. Second night dinner at Castellano Ristoriante, the hotel's high end restaurant. Frightfully expensive but bugger it only at this hotel once. Food and service superb. Must take Gondola up mountain and then walk the boardwalk tot he Met station for views over Banff.

Room Tip: Must have the lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank john b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FBS1888, Manager at Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your stay and for visiting us from Australia. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your visit.

The Fairmont Banff Springs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albert, Alberta
Level Contributor
47 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

Our family has enjoyed many trips to the Rocky Mountains - Jasper, Lake Louise and Banff. A stay at the Banff Springs is unique. A blend of luxury and old world charm with a rocky mountain alpine feel. It really is hard to put into words. We have had the pleasure of staying at the Springs a few times and this last trip met everyone's expectations. Our weekend getaway was with two adults and three teenagers. This time out we booked rooms on the Fairmont Gold floor and had access to the concierge lounge - something I highly recommend. The service was perfect and everyone was eager to make our stay enjoyable. The family is looking forward to our next getaway.

Room Tip: It is a very old castle and the room sizes and features vary greatly. Check out the room pictures on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaxTravelCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FBS1888, Manager at Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
We very much appreciate your family's loyalty to the Fairmont properties in the Canadian Rockies. We are delighted to know that you are making memories at our hotels. Thank you for your review.

The Fairmont Banff Springs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
1.8 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
1.3 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
2.0 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#3 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#12 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,904 reviews
1.4 mi away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
1.5 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#6 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Banff Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Banff Springs

Property: Fairmont Banff Springs
Address: 405 Spray Avenue | P.O. Box 960, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1J4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Banff
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
#1 Luxury Hotel in Banff
#1 Family Hotel in Banff
#1 Green Hotel in Banff
#2 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#2 Business Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Banff Springs 4*
Number of rooms: 770
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Banff National Park, a UNESCO World Heritage Site, the world famous Fairmont Banff Springs resort stands as a landmark in the picturesque alpine town of Banff. This year round luxury resort is styled after a Scottish baronial castle and offers guests spectacular mountain and valley views, a championship golf course during the summer, unparalleled skiing in the winter, and an award-winning European-style spa, the Willow Steam Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Fairmont Hotels, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your Fairmont Banff Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Banff Springs Hotel Banff
Fairmont Banff Springs Hotel
The Fairmont Banff Springs Banff
Fairmont Banff Hotel
Fairmont Hotel Banff
Banff Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing