We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Big Springs Expectations” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fairmont Banff Springs

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fairmont Banff Springs
Ranked #1 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
99 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Big Springs Expectations”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

Well this is always one of the most beautiful hotels and settings on earth. The Banff Springs is very well kept for such a large old palace hotel. The Gold floor is always easy for a nice breakfast and evening Happy Hour. The service is just average in this hotel with exception to the Valet and Platinum check in the are top shelf. The pool is always busy and I have a hard time imagining how clean it can be? Floors in the change room are always looking grungy. This is still a one of the most beautiful hotels.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank jhmadsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FBS1888, Manager at Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
We appreciate your honest review. As we strive to be OUTSTANDING in all areas, we will work harder to achieve this. Your comments have been shared with our team.

The Fairmont Banff Springs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,817 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,731
    1,169
    483
    275
    159
See reviews for
1,326
2,646
130
823
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,378)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014

The first of three Fairmonts we stayed at in Canada. Pictures do not do justice. Our room overlooked the lake and mountains - probably the best room ever. Started with drinks on the deck then walked (20 minutes+) into town to look for a restaurant. Found Tony Romas from a guide book. Service great, food too much. We were four and unused to the size of the meals. The tour schedule had us in Banff for two nights. Could have stayed longer. Second night dinner at Castellano Ristoriante, the hotel's high end restaurant. Frightfully expensive but bugger it only at this hotel once. Food and service superb. Must take Gondola up mountain and then walk the boardwalk tot he Met station for views over Banff.

Room Tip: Must have the lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank john b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FBS1888, Manager at Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your stay and for visiting us from Australia. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your visit.

The Fairmont Banff Springs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albert, Alberta
Level Contributor
52 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014

Our family has enjoyed many trips to the Rocky Mountains - Jasper, Lake Louise and Banff. A stay at the Banff Springs is unique. A blend of luxury and old world charm with a rocky mountain alpine feel. It really is hard to put into words. We have had the pleasure of staying at the Springs a few times and this last trip met everyone's expectations. Our weekend getaway was with two adults and three teenagers. This time out we booked rooms on the Fairmont Gold floor and had access to the concierge lounge - something I highly recommend. The service was perfect and everyone was eager to make our stay enjoyable. The family is looking forward to our next getaway.

Room Tip: It is a very old castle and the room sizes and features vary greatly. Check out the room pictures on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaxTravelCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FBS1888, Manager at Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
We very much appreciate your family's loyalty to the Fairmont properties in the Canadian Rockies. We are delighted to know that you are making memories at our hotels. Thank you for your review.

The Fairmont Banff Springs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okotoks, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I attended a corporate event at the Banff Springs. He has a lethal allergy to tree nuts which was made VERY clear to the hotel by the organizer. It was listed in a sheet that the manager had in hand. After the mixer we sat down at the tables already set with cheese, fruit and bread baked into a crown. When asked about the bread we were told by a server that it was just white bread, so we each had a roll. Announcements before dinner was served included the statement that guests with dietary restrictions should tell their server. My husband hunted down a server who then told him (30 minutes too late) that he should avoid the bread as there is a "lucky" almond in it.

My husband has about 5 minutes to get a epishot if he eats an almond. This was the equivalent of Russian roulette to us.

In fact the gentleman sitting on my husband's right (who passed out the bread) got the almond. We were then told that it was my husband's fault for not advising a server earlier. In 44 years of being EXTREMELY paranoid about what he eats, he has never been blamed for having an allergy. We were also told that they would bring him a separate plate as the meal was served on bulk platters. They served a vegetation meal that way, a gluten free meal that way, but nothing for the allergy that could kill a guest. We felt very unwelcome, ended up not eating anything and left as soon as we could manage. However not before a server managed to dump a full glass of red wine on a neighbour's chair (then walk away). We caught the gentleman before he sat down, as he was wondering about the red stain on the table when he was only drinking red wine. To add further and final insult that same server kicked my husband in the back of the leg when we were visiting with others after the fiasco of a meal. This is the way a "world class" hotel accommodates guests.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
8 Thank Sambir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FBS1888, Manager at Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Thank you for your review. The welfare of our guests is very important to us and a hotel representative will most certainly be in touch with you directly as soon as possible.

We do apologize for your experience and look forward to being able to connect with you.

The Fairmont Banff Springs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014

We spent 2 nights at the Banff Springs in March. We had a Fairmont room in the Stanley Thompson wing. It was a well appointed room with a great view of the mountains. It was quite a hike from the front desk to get there and we did get slightly lost the first time going to the room!

Our room had a king size bed, decent size bathroom and was comfortable for the 2 nights. My only complaint with the room was the heat. It was boiling in our room, even with the heat off completely and the window open. This made it difficult to sleep the first night. The second night we found a fan in the cupboard and had that going all night which made it far more comfortable.

Service at the hotel was good. The hotel switched our rooms around the on our arrival as we travelled with friends, so they were able to accommodate us close together. The only issue we had is we paid by debit the night before we departed for our room and we were overcharged by $50. I'm not sure how this happened and I was too tired to realise at the time. We have since called the hotel and they are refunding this by cheque.

We used the hot tub and pool on our second day and these facilities were great. The outdoor pool was amazing to swim in while it was snowing outside. Definitely a great experience and I would return for that alone!!

Overall it is a beautiful hotel and I'd happily stay there again. We got a great rate and enjoyed the stay. I wish there was a complimentary ski shuttle however like Fairmont Lake Louise. I know the distance is much greater in Banff, but this would have made our trip just that much better.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank breezey103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FBS1888, Manager at Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
We are so sorry to hear of the shortfalls in your stay. A hotel representative will reach out to ensure we do check on this room and that any concern regarding temperature has been addressed.

The Fairmont Banff Springs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014

A recent ski trip to Banff brought us to the Fairmont.. a 125 Year old 'castle' in the snow.. very impressive historic hotel that was both a welcoming and warm environment. There was no one there when we arrived or for the duration of our trip.. a nice treat to have the 'castle' to ourselves. Continuing on the good.. the guys in the 'board/ski' storage area were awesome.. friendly, genuine, sincere, helpful and a pleasure to start and end the day with. The hotel is massive and a tour would have been nice - they only offer them on Friday's however and we were gone by then.. too bad. There is lots to see! As a President's Club member (it's free, sign up as it gives you the in room wifi and not much else.. but it's better than nothing) you are treated no differently than any other guest. It's nothing special in other words. The check-in was painfully slow - the staff appeared young and not overly experienced both on the phone and at the front desk. Again - to be clear, the hotel was not busy, no wait, but the staff was slow to check us in. The 'girl' that checked us in actually was no more than 23 and neither excited nor thrilled to see us. She also explained nothing about the hotel and advised us that since we were on a 'group' rate that there would be no Aeroplan points or upgrades available. (nice). From there, the room was fine - not too big, a little tight, and very quiet and clean. The mountain views were amazing but the windows are very small and heck, who looks out anyway?? We were on them boarding and skiing all day. My concerns lie here - first off, when you pick up the phone to ask for the front desk or the Concierge, etc, the young woman that answered the phone was extremely aggressive and intrusive: what are you calling for? .. um, I asked to speak with the Concierge. About what? Can you please put me through to the Concierge? What are you looking to speak to them about? (are you serious?? put me through and stop wasting my time!) btw.. the Concierge were all excellent.., great advice and help.. each and every time we ACTUALLY got to speak with them! Same thing if we called from the room and asked for the Front Desk. What are you calling about? NONE OF YOUR DAMN BUSINESS! Put me through and do your job! Considering the hotel was next to empty.. this was actually hilarious after a few times. They also have a couple of BMW Fairmont Cars at the hotel that you see nicely parked out front. They are not for 'guest' use unless you are the King or Queen.. a shame as a 3 min ride to town would have been nice.. even just once. Get rid of the BMW's Fairmont.. they did not impress me. Next.. we knew the hotel had many restaurants to choose from.. but we did not know about a neat little cafe in the front lobby that was fantastic! Great selection of unique things to eat and snack on and again, friendly and helpful staff. Had we been told of this by the 'girl' checking us in, that would have been very good indeed.. we did not discover it until the 2nd last day! And on the last day.. it came and we called to ask for an extra hour on the check out - not a big request in a hotel that was next to empty. We were told by that wonderful woman who answered the phone that we could pay for 1/2 a day if we wanted the extra hour as the hotel was very busy. Are you kidding me?? 6 nights at the Fairmont Banff Springs and you can't extend this wonderful President's Club Member an extra hour?? That was it for us.. so amazing how something so small can upset you so very much. We packed our bags and headed out to Banff for lunch.. forgetting about the hotel and recalling the amazing winter trip at Lake Louise.

Room Tip: All rooms appear to have a mountain view.. so no need to upgrade.. the rooms are quite small, but co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank citiesareforme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FBS1888, Manager at Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
At the Fairmont Banff Springs, we want our guests to have outstanding experiences. A hotel representative will be in touch with you soon to discuss your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, MA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014

A little late in writing this as we were there over Labor Day weekend 2013. Stayed for four nights and we really enjoyed the hotel. We found Room 872 (considered standard category) to be more than pleasing. Not huge, but well appointed with a large closet that fit all of our things to get them out of the way. This room is on the front of the hotel over the driveway but high enough that there was no noise or distraction from the comings and going below. It had a large window that let the sun in most of the day and we were able to open it for fresh air. Being a historic building, room size is of a past era and the bathroom was small but elegant. The buffet breakfast was great, but even with the vast selection, we grew tired of it after the fourth morning. I have to thank the wait staff, however, who were very happy to make an ice-coffee for me when I requested it instead of hot. A different server each day but each was accommodating and made it to my liking. The only reason I did not give 5 stars is because we were disppointed with the pool area. It was a busy weekend and the outdoor pool was a little small for all the kids and parents tossing balls and water toys around. The indoor pool was larger but we wanted to be outside during the nice weather so but we felt unable to stay long and just imagined such a grand hotel would have a grander pool area. I did a spa treatment one day while my husband went off with a fishing guide and was able to enjoy the spa pool as part of my entry into the spa area. I would highly suggest if you want a grown-up, relaxing pool day or evening, that you pay the fee to get into the spa area and make a day out of it, coming and going as you please. SO relaxing in the indoor mineral pool and waterfalls with a large hot-tub outside on the deck. I was happy I was there when I peeked over the wall to see kids kicking and splashing in a jam packed hotel pool with not one lounge chair to be had. You can use the spa area pools for free all day from open to close if you have a spa treatment booked, or join the free Fairmont rewards program to use just the pool area at a discounted rate. HIGHLY recommend Castello's restaurant on the property. Had dinner there twice.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cjapaige61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FBS1888, Manager at Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
We appreciate your positive feedback about the newly renovated 8th floor, the Spa experience and dining in the Bow Valley Grill and Castellos. We will share your comments with our teams.

The Fairmont Banff Springs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
1.2 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
1.8 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#10 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,892 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
1.3 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#13 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,001 reviews
1.5 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#8 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,040 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Banff Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Banff Springs

Property: Fairmont Banff Springs
Address: 405 Spray Avenue | P.O. Box 960, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1J4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Banff
#1 Green Hotel in Banff
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
#1 Luxury Hotel in Banff
#1 Spa Hotel in Banff
#2 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#2 Business Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Banff Springs 4*
Number of rooms: 770
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Banff National Park, a UNESCO World Heritage Site, the world famous Fairmont Banff Springs resort stands as a landmark in the picturesque alpine town of Banff. This year round luxury resort is styled after a Scottish baronial castle and offers guests spectacular mountain and valley views, a championship golf course during the summer, unparalleled skiing in the winter, and an award-winning European-style spa, the Willow Steam Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Fairmont Hotels, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, HotelsforEveryone, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Fairmont Banff Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Banff Springs Hotel Banff
Fairmont Banff Springs Hotel
Fairmont Banff Hotel
The Fairmont Banff Springs Banff
Fairmont Hotel Banff
Banff Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing