We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't imagine going to Banff and not staying here.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Fairmont Banff Springs
Ranked #2 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed March 6, 2014

Amazing, amazing, amazing. Such a spectacular setting. Disclaimer, I was there for a work trip with my husband so we weren't coming out of pocket but I can't imagine a nicer hotel. The pool at the spa there is the "happy place" I go to in my mind. Such a special place and I hope I get to go back someday.

Room Tip: We had a corner room that overlooked the river that was stunning. It may have been smaller than othe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank abromano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FBS1888, Manager at Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience with us and for visiting from Atlanta. We hope to see you again and thank you for choosing The Fairmont Banff Springs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (6,790)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,301 - 4,307 of 6,790 reviews

Reviewed March 6, 2014

The Fairmont Banff Springs left us speechless. Upon entering the lobby, jaws began to drop. The hotel is absolutely stunning. The views are spectacular. I loved all the amenities provided, especially the ski gear storage. There are nine restaurants on the property, which makes it very convenient so you don't have to go into town. Not that its far, but after a day on the slopes, relaxation and ease are very important. I found the staff to be extremely friendly and helpful. We enjoyed our stay so much we're talking about coming back in the future for a summer visit.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Val A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FBS1888, Manager at Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

Thank you for visiting from Washington and for your positive review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time here with us.

The Fairmont Banff Springs

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2014

The Fairmont BanffSprings is located in a spectacular mountain setting near the Bow River. Walking trails are around the hotel and it is possible to walk into the town of Banff from the hotel. The hotel is old so the rooms are small, even on the Gold Floor. My room had a nice view of the mountains and river. Condition was good but there was a bit of wear. Cleanliness is good. There are a number of restaurant choices including Japanese (reservations are a must). I liked the bar for light menu choices and beautiful views. There is a pub separate from the hotel which has a patio with a magnificent view. Parking is a bit scarce. Spa is very enjoyable and the outdoor oils are especially nice.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FJW_Toronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FBS1888, Manager at Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. A hotel representative has contacted you privately to identify the guestroom showing wear so we can check on this. We renovate our guestrooms regularly, so perhaps this is one already on our radar but we do want to check.

We appreciate the positive feedback and the opportunity to reach out!

The Fairmont Banff Springs

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

I have always wanted to stay here and it was awesome! Service is second to none right from the moment we arrived and everyone was willing to help. We booked ski and stay packages which included transportation to the ski hills, breakfast (yummy) and also the spa...it is amazing!

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Laura P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FBS1888, Manager at Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2014

Thank you for booking ski packages at The Fairmont Banff Springs. We are pleased to hear how much you enjoyed it and hope you can return. The ski conditions are incredible, with a big new snowfall just today! Can you return?

The Fairmont Banff SPrings

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

We had the absolute pleasure of celebrating our 10th anniversary on the Gold Floor in March 2013 and thought we'd bring the family this year. I am always so impressed by the service at Fairmont properties and this was no exception! We booked a suite in the Stanley Thompson wing and it was a perfect size. A separate bedroom with two ultra-comfortable queen beds, and a pullout couch in the sitting room. I found the bathroom to be better than adequate, despite some of the reviews saying otherwise. I will say that staying in the Stanley Thompson wing does not bode well for strollers if you're trying to stay indoors! Robes were supplied for all of us and the girls had a blast touring the castle in them. We have five daughters aged 6 months to 8 years and this was such a perfect holiday for us! Our two-night getaway involved fine dining (brunch, breakfast, Rundle Lounge, Waldhaus and Grapes) with the girls and while we expect our daughters to be well-behaved, we were always greeted with a smile even when they saw a large, young family coming! We spent a lot of time in the aquatic centre, touring the castle and even a game of bowling. We stayed Sunday-Tuesday so the crowds were minimal and we never felt bothered. My girls even enjoyed a castle scavenger hunt with a special prize from the toy trunk when they finished. We were so thankful to be able to stay here on a budget - kids 5 and under eat free and kids under 10 eat for a very reasonable price for the quality of food they received! Also, we received a discount for prepaying for our food&beverage and used Costco gift certificates to further help with the cost. That being said, I absolutely think that this palace is worth the price at full cost! Fairmont, thank you for some incredible memories!

Also, a quick note that we used the free GyPSy app as entertainment for our drive from Calgary to Banff. While we've driven this route many times, it was so interesting to have a 'personal guide' along. And the final destination is the Fairmont. What a treat!

Room Tip: The Gold Floor is still our favourite for service but if you're looking for extra room, Stanley...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank farmersfive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FBS1888, Manager at Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2014

Thank you so much for your positive review! We are delighted that your family had a memorable time and we will certainly share your review with our colleagues!

We hope your travels will bring you back with your princesses. We would be delighted to have you again.

The Fairmont Banff Springs

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Yes, the rooms are small, but cozy and comfy. The location is incredibly scenic, the service is superb, and the hotel is charming and unique. I love spending time wandering around the hotel and the grounds. The restaurants are pricey, but the food is good. The spa is lovely and a great way to escape the crowded hotel pool.

Room Tip: Book ahead, prepay, and use your Amex to get a better deal. Call instead of booking online. When you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kelly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FBS1888, Manager at Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2014

Thank you for visiting from Sherwood Park. It is nice to hear that you encountered engaging service and enjoyed the Willow Stream Spa.

The Fairmont Banff Springs

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2014

Went to look, had coffee and cake then went to look round. The history exhibition was very interesting and definitely worth a look. We then found the bar. We sat and had a glass of wine and enjoyed the ambience. It was pricy but no more than expected. What a wonderful place. Will have to start doing the lottery.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Angela D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FBS1888, Manager at Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2014

Thank you for visiting from the UK. We are pleased that you were able to enjoy the hotel, even if only for a short while. We hope you can return and stay longer.

The Fairmont Banff Springs

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
1.2 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
1.3 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#11 of 33 in Banff
2,196 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#14 of 33 in Banff
2,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
1.4 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 33 in Banff
1,163 reviews
1.2 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#8 of 33 in Banff
1,471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Banff Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Banff Springs

Address: 405 Spray Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1J4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Banff
#1 Luxury Hotel in Banff
#1 Family Hotel in Banff
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
#2 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#2 Spa Hotel in Banff
#2 Business Hotel in Banff
Price Range: $377 - $690 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Banff Springs 4*
Number of rooms: 770
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Banff National Park, a UNESCO World Heritage Site, the world famous Fairmont Banff Springs resort stands as a landmark in the picturesque alpine town of Banff. This year round luxury resort is styled after a Scottish baronial castle and offers guests spectacular mountain and valley views, a championship golf course during the summer, unparalleled skiing in the winter, and an award-winning European-style spa, the Willow Steam Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fairmont Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Fairmont Banff Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Banff Springs Hotel Banff
Fairmont Banff Springs Hotel
Fairmont Banff Hotel
The Fairmont Banff Springs Banff
Fairmont Hotel Banff
Banff Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing