We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Fairmont Banff Springs
Nearby Hotels
Rundlestone Lodge(Banff)(Great Value!)
$254
$247
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$489
$375
Hidden Ridge
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$331
$303
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Brewster's Mountain Lodge(Banff)(Great Value!)
$344
$321
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$353
$343
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa(Banff)(Great Value!)
$354
$278
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of $329/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$345
$334
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$399
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$415
$397
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$266
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (7,356)
Filter reviews
7,356 results
Traveler rating
4,754
1,500
583
329
190
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4,754
1,500
583
329
190
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgold floorbanff springsrundle loungestanley thompson wingthe bow valley grillchop housewillow stream spawaldhaus pubbowling alleythe outdoor heated poolbucket listbeautiful hotellake louisecanadian rockiesthe main hotelself parkingrooms are small
Filter
Updating list...
5,252 - 5,257 of 7,356 reviews
Reviewed July 4, 2013

We arrrived in Banff, on our 2nd stop of a 3 week trip to this amazing country. Wow we could see the hotel, set in the forest,it looked amazing. We arrived and had already paid for parking, but upgraded to valet. The hotel is stunning, our room was nice, not massive, but had a nice bathroom, and was spacious enough, the hotel is on the expensive side. But i guess you are paying to stay in a castle?? We used the hot springs pool each day, that was amazing with views of the mountains. Breakfast was also one of the best, (we stayed at 4 Fairmont's on our travels) loads of selection, of fruit, breads etc and a very nice seating area with view of the mountain. We tried the Banffshire dining and were very disappointed. Very overpriced fine dining, my husband paid less than the advertised price as we got a "special" rate as it was their 125th birthday, but in my opinion, save your money. The gym was very nice too, but didnt get to use it as we had so much to fit in our time. In all we loved this hotel, one of our favourites.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank suzy6626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EJROE, General Manager at Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2013

Dear Valued Guest from London, thank you so much for making The Fairmont Banff Springs and 3 other Fairmont’s a big part of your Canadian 3 week vacation and thank you so much for taking the time to write this review on Tripadvisor. I was very happy to read you “Loved this Hotel” and that you enjoyed the pools, our buffet breakfast offering and our gym facilities, however I was concerned to read about your disappointing dining experience in The Banffshire Club Restaurant. If you have time, please do not hesitate to let me know some more details, however I will certainly be following up with my team as this is certainly not indicative of the level of dining experience we are striving for. I trust you had a safe trip back to England and on behalf of the entire team thank you so much for making “Castle in the Rockies” part of your Canadian Vacation. Yours Sincerely Edward J. Roe, Hotel Manager,The Fairmont Banff Springs

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

The faimont was really a pleasure. You had the feeling that you were in an old Scottish castle upon the mountains. Nature sits by the hotel with the hot springs close by and other outdoor activities such as hiking and mountain biking at your doorstep. The food is exquisite, and the outdoor heated pool can be ever so relaxing after a long day of hitting the slopes for skiing or snowboarding. Though it can be pricy, it is one of the ultimate travel destinations.

Room Tip: You do not need the ultimate room as you are probably spending your day out and about.
Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
3  Thank Evan101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont_Banff_Mgmt, Manager at Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

Thank you for your positive review! We are pleased that you enjoyed the pool facilities and dining very much during your stay. We hope to see you again.

The Fairmont Banff Springs

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Alright people, enough complaining already! My boyfriend (now fiancé) whisked me away from Calgary for a romantic Canada Day long weekend getaway(June 28-July 1st), and it far surpassed both of our expectations! From the moment we arrived, the staff went above and beyond offering to help us with our luggage, etc. We then went to our second floor deluxe king room, to walk in and see nothing but magnificent views of the mountains and grounds! Honestly, we were speechless.

At first I was skeptical of coming here due to the higher prices compared to other Banff hotels, However, now that we have stayed here and experienced it for ourselves, it was worth every penny ! Every staff member we encountered, greeted us with a friendly smile, asking how we were enjoying our stay etc. It felt as though we were down south at an all inclusive vacation, with how attentive the staff was to us.

We often were patio side at the Rundle Lounge enjoying some celebratory drinks/just relaxing and taking in the views. Whenever a staff member heard about our engagement, they went above and beyond to make us feel very special and surprised us with complimentary champagne. It really added to the excitement of our special weekend. In the evenings, around 9pm they had an incredible musician come on and do live music, he was great to listen to, and just added to the atmosphere! (unfortunately his name slips my mind....)

We also dined at some of the restaurants, and we were very impressed with Castello, the Italian restaurant! We loved it so much, we booked a reservation twice! The servers there were very knowledgeable and outstanding.

As I mentioned we loved our room, it was very classic with old charm everywhere, from the chandelier, to the mirrors on the wall. Such a nice added touch, to the already gorgeous outside of the building.

We recommend staying here to anyone who wants to feel like they are taking a mini holiday. It was a paradise, and nice escape for us! I am hoping we will be able to plan a visit back annually, to be reminded of our engagement weekend!

p.s Highly recommend the historical tour with Dave which happens at 3pm...he was a hoot and did an excellent job!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LC23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont_Banff_Mgmt, Manager at Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

Congratulations on your engagement! We are delighed that you celebrated with us and will share your comments with our colleagues. They will enjoy knowing how much you appreciated their efforts.

Any plans for a wedding at Fairmont Hotels? Let us know how we can help.


The Fairmont Banff Springs
Proudly celebrating 125 years

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

I have stayed at the Banff Springs hotel on at least four occasions in the past few years, some business and some personal. I have come to be deeply disappointed with a hotel that positions itself as the marquee destination in Banff, but consistently delivers poor service and average rooms (at best) at premium prices. Certainly the idea of the castle in the Rockies is charming and the hotel has enormous potential, but many of the guest rooms are very small, old, dark and dilapidated. Don't be fooled by the brand, this facility requires a major face lift or renovation to meet the quality standards of other Fairmont hotels around the world. Secondly, the hotel is significantly under-staffed, and in addition to long waits for assistance, you will often find that a number of the bars and restaurants on the property will be closed during any given stay, and all will close for the evening earlier than one would expect. The spa is a bright spot which I will give top marks for facilities and service, but the prices are sky high -- well above those at many other great destinations. After years of under-investment in the property and staff, the Banff Springs is no longer a marquee destination, and certainly does not provide anything resembling value at $400+ per night.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kevin403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont_Banff_Mgmt, Manager at Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

Thank you for your review. Given your disappointment, which we are sorry for, a hotel representative will reach out to you to personally discuss further.

The Fairmont Banff Springs

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

we booked a Deluxe room after extensive research. Fairmont website describes a Standard room as ~250SF and Deluxe as ~385SF. I get that this is a castle and there will be some variances with each room, I was prepared for that. However, at a minimum, Deluxe should be larger than the Standard; after all, that's the whole point of buying an upgrade.

We walked into a tiny 213 SF room upon check in, with a bathroom so small that it uses the toilet as a doorstop. After talking to the front desk, we were told the avg Standard room is actually ~160SF, so relatively speaking, we did get a 'Deluxe'.

So we are talking about almost a 50% discrepancy b/w your ad and the actual room on a consistent basis, enough that it's a regular perception by the staff. This is beyond minor negligence, it's deceitful.

Before anyone gets bk to me about any room size disclaimer on the website, let me ask if I only paid up half the bill, would that have been acceptable? Obviously not, then it's not ok to advertise one thing and deliver only half the size.

Your customers come a long way and most are spending what little vacation they have -in other words, this is IT for most of us...there's no do-over. The problem here is not that rooms are small, it's you setting up the wrong expectation. had i known i was heading for a Standard room at a premium, I either wouldn't have booked it or at least not be angered with what I got.

After burning another 1/2 hr at the front desk, we were put in the exact same room but 4 floors up (so as to not stare at the roof AC units). It's supposedly renovated so it's not as nasty as the last one; unfortunately an updated room is considered a concession with this 5 star hotel.

I have read through enough of the trip advisor reviews to believe significant # of other people are seeing the same thing. This is unacceptable, ridiculous and dishonest. It's a real shame, being 2.5 hr away, this would have been a reg. destination spot.

Room Tip: Speak up if you got stiffed on the room category you bought, this being a castle is not an excuse to hand out crappy rooms- it won't stop until customers demand more
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank ash k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont_Banff_Mgmt, Manager at Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

Thank you for your review. We are sorry to learn of your disappointment. A Hotel representative has personally emailed you to discuss as we do very much care about your loyalty.

The Fairmont Banff Springs

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews