We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Fairmont Banff Springs
Nearby Hotels
$119
$102
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$157
$102
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa(Banff)(Great Value!)
$79
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Banff Aspen Lodge(Banff)(Great Value!)
$138
$122
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$186
$158
Delta Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets(Banff)(Great Value!)
$130
$119
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Brewster's Mountain Lodge(Banff)(Great Value!)
$117
$86
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$158
$86
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$201
$160
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$74
$62
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (7,211)
Filter reviews
7,211 results
Traveler rating
4,664
1,464
575
326
182
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4,664
1,464
575
326
182
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgold floorbanff springsrundle loungestanley thompson wingthe bow valley grillchop housewillow stream spawaldhaus pubbowling alleythe outdoor heated poolbucket listbeautiful hotellake louisethe main hotelcanadian rockiesself parkingrooms are small
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
5,135 - 5,140 of 7,211 reviews
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We were upgraded to a river / falls view on the 7th floor. Spent the first hour just staring out of the window! Breathtaking view. Easy check in - faultless service.
A nice 1/2 hour walk into the town of Banff via the Bow Falls and along the river. And you can walk back via the National Park Gardens . So a lovely circular walk taking in all the main attractions. We went on the 1/2 day bus tour - and it's the only tour we've ever been on that has on it's itinerary the hotel where we were staying! Beautiful place

Room Tip: River facing - higher up the better.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dylan3spot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont_Banff_Mgmt, Manager at Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Thank you for your positive feedback. We are glad to know you had a wonderful stay. We hope to see you again soon.

The Fairmont Banff Springs
Proudly celebrating 125 years

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

If a picture is worth a thousand words then this hotel and its location says it all. The staff is very helpful and there are many "public" rooms to escape to read, watch TV or just to snooze
in a quiet corner. There is a lovely spa and yoga is just one of the classes available. They provide all the gear. The bedrooms are well equipped and modern. Make sure you request a lake view room. This is not a "foodies" hotel - although there are a number of restaurants, the food is generally "very confused". For example, a perfectly fine steak is smothered with an awful sweet tasting goo with a hint of nutmeg. If food is not your thing, then this is a great hotel.

Room Tip: Avoid top-floor, corner of the building, lake view rooms - the ceiling is low and the room is cramped because of the sloping roof - not good if you are above average height.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lucky8England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont_Banff_Mgmt, Manager at Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Thank you for your review. A Hotel representative will be in touch.

The Fairmont Banff Springs

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

On our previous stay two years ago we had a pleasant room in the main building. The most recent stay was another story -- we were exiled to the Stanley Thompson wing, a separate building. For starters, this building is only accessed by going outside, or by following a confusing path through various corridors and stairways (you'll need a map). The room we were assigned was below street level, with a view of a concrete wall. It was tiny, crammed with furniture, and the bathroom was even tinier, with a very small walk-in shower without a curtain. Apparently this is one of the few rooms in the hotel with a walk-in shower, so be careful what you put on your wish list! We were so disappointed that we left after one night of a three-night stay. Oh, I almost forgot to mention that they charged $400 for this dreadful room.

Room Tip: Don't let them put you in the Stanley Thompson Room. And don't ask for a shower instead of a bathtub.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank corister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont_Banff_Mgmt, Manager at Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

Thank you for your review. A Hotel representative would like to contact you about your stay however you have blocked your account from being reached privately.
Can you please contact bsh.reservations@fairmont.com and share your details as to how you may be contacted further to your review? We would love to talk to you.

The Fairmont Banff Springs

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

If you want to be pampered, and take a short trip then the Banff Springs is where you want to go. Plenty of wildlife and I do not mean the two legged kind. Baby coyotes are the cutest babies I have ever seen. The golfing is out of this world, world class. Meals at the hotel are always tasty. The spa is amazing with exceptional service. Only complaint is that the fan turns on with the light very very noisy who can have a soak in the tub with all that racket.

Room Tip: Make sure it is not one with a sloping roof as your room will be smaller.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maria R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont_Banff_Mgmt, Manager at Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

We are so pleased that you love the course, the spa and the dining at The Fairmont Banff Springs. We hope to see you again!

The Fairmont Banff Springs
Proudly celebrating 125 years

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

I love Banff, grew up close by in Calgary. The Banff Springs is a historical property, some even say their are spirits of the past alive and well in some of the rooms! Fairmont as manager does a terrific job on the service, Kids from all over the world come to the springs to work summers. Fairmont needs to spend a little more money updating the rooms in the Stanley Thompson Wing and those facing the Waldhaus Pub, the club level rooms also are getting tired. Its a great hotel and rooms, while mostly small, are adequate, they just don't match the magnificent setting of the surroundings.

Room Tip: Main building rooms and club floor have more updated rooms, Club floor has the lounge and free breakfast. The rooms facing the waldhaus pub and stanley thompson wing are a hike.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Brad P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont_Banff_Mgmt, Manager at Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

Thank you for your review. We are so appreciative of our customers from Alberta!!
The Fairmont Banff Springs renovates a floor of guestrooms a year, on average. Maintaining the hotel is its grandeur is a priority.

Proudly celebrating 125 years - The Fairmont Banff Springs

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews