We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Lovely location & views” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fairmont Banff Springs

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fairmont Banff Springs
Ranked #1 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
158 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Lovely location & views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in June and had an enjoyable stay. Our checkin was seamless & friendly being warmly greeted by the valet parking attendant (well worth the extra $10). We booked a 'fairmount gold deluxe' level room, the gold level is situated on 5th floor, it would have been nicer to have the benefits of higher level view room. The room was OK with a mountain view (overlooked a roof top) but small bathroom, no fridge in room. The inclusive breakfast buffet had a good selection and guests on this level have complimentary soft drinks. We ate in 2 restaurants and on both occasions had good service & food.
The hotel was very busy with a large conference & day visitors.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank The_hammonds_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont_Banff_Mgmt, Manager at Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thank you for your review of our Gold floor, which we will ensure is shared. We are pleased that you had a good experience overall and hope to see you again.

The Fairmont Banff Springs
Proudly celebrating 125 years
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,818 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,732
    1,169
    483
    275
    159
See reviews for
1,326
2,647
130
823
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,378)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mona Vale, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

Thought the view was fantastic at Fairmont Lake Louise but the view over Bow river and the golf course is sensational. Room was great, service excellent, location 15min walk from town, walking trails very accessible and easy. Why stay anywhere else. This is a wonderful and historic building with 5 star rating.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank freddie41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont_Banff_Mgmt, Manager at Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
We appreciate your review and are pleased that you enjoyed both Banff and Lake Louise. Certainly memorable to see both historic and world class locations!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

Travel took place in the last WE of May, 2013

Pros:
1. Great views
2. Good food, not plastic food
3. Pool is very nice and clean

Cons:
1. Extremely dusty,
My hepa filter air purifier was basically blocked with huge amount of dust after just 6 hrs. Carpets everywhere, dusty place. Carpets smell w/ some sort of chemical. The usual vacum cleners just get rid of big particles and break the small ones to even smaller and return them back to the air.

2. Internet not included
People we are in 21st century, this something that must be included

3. Parking is 24-35 $ per night
You cannot be serious, why parking is so expensive, why it is not included. Either you are trying to drop, otherwise already high prices for the rooms, by not including parking+ i-net, or there is some sort of conspirology and you are trying to get rid of mid-middle class and orieent yourself on rich people , exclusively????

4. Service is not really bad, but we ordered a couple of extra towels-they never came to our room.

Will I come agin to this place:
NO

Will I recommend it:
No way

Room Tip: If you cannot tolerate dust, unreasonable charges for i-net and parking, forget about this place, th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MarAndr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont_Banff_Mgmt, Manager at Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thank you for your feedback on Trip Advisor. Your review has been shared with our team for future consideration. We are very sorry that we did not meet your expectations and please know that we value all our guests very much.

The Fairmont Banff Springs
Proudly celebrating 125 years
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

The Banff Springs was an amazing experience for us when we came on vacation in March, 2013. Rob, one of the amazing concierges, talked me through our trip ahead of time over the phone before I had even checked in, helped me devise a road map for our whole vacation, the term above and beyond applies to the concierge staff as well as the rest of the staff at the Banff Springs. We went on the historical tour as well (which I highly recommend) and got to get an extra special look at the hotel which was incedible!

Our room was amazing, we received a complimentary upgrade and had a great view... The service we received will always stick out as the benchmark standard to which I will measure any other hotel in the future... Looking forward to our next stay!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont_Banff_Mgmt, Manager at Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor. We will ensure our team, especially the concierge, know how pleased you are.

The Fairmont Banff Springs
Proudly celebrating 125 years
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Issaquah, WA.
Level Contributor
297 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

this is a huge and beautiful hotel. You can walk to town, but it is a hike. Our room was nice, pretty large, but only had one small window in it. It is interesting just to go exploring around the hotel to see the ballroom etc. Food is very good but on the pricey side. The hotel staff is there to help you and does an amazing job. The desk attendant suggested we join the President's Club, which saved our Wi-Fi charges big time. I don't know why this wasn't suggested to us in Vancouver at the Fairmont there. This place is a castle and makes you feel like you are staying in one. Also,the concierge told us about pizza delivery from downtown direct to our room and it was excellent. There seemed to be A strong smell in the hallway on the way to the room elevators like they were trying to cover up something - eucalyptus-like that some felt they were allergic to.

Room Tip: Just Make sure you have a view of something.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GrandmaGoldwing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont_Banff_Mgmt, Manager at Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your feedback and have shared it appropriately.

The Fairmont Banff Springs
Proudly celebrating 125 years
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

One of the most sumptuous hotels I know - set in the mountains, the room was great, as was the service - one can always count on a Fairmont hotel! The staff at breakfast were very friendly and courteous,( however at dinner the night before the staff were obviously not happy to have been there, and it showed.) The quality of the food was top-notch. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CeBfromToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont_Banff_Mgmt, Manager at Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are so pleased that your had enjoyable dining experiences while with us, and we will share that with our team.

The Fairmont Banff Springs
Proudly celebrating 125 years
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Canada
Level Contributor
76 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

My husband and I planned a last minute trip to Banff and phoned the night before. We ended up getting a great deal for a 2 queen room (we had our 2 young kids with us) with a beautiful view on the concierge level. Arriving had us greeted by great staff from unloading the car to checking us in on the 5th floor, the Gold level. There we had access to their lounge with unlimited non-alcoholic beverages, a fantastic very filling breakfast and free appetizers in the early evening. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The hotel even gave us a free portrait through their studio bc it was our anniversary. Great hotel, well worth the price we ended up paying for it!!! ps. we skipped the hot springs as the hotel outdoor pool was super warm and from what we heard from employee's and other travellers, don't waste your money. You save money at the hotel and you avoid all the big crowds!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dmgirl66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont_Banff_Mgmt, Manager at Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Thank you for your positive review on Trip Advisor. We are delighted that you enjoyed the service and amenities on Fairmont Gold and the warm welcome on arrival. We hope to see you again.

The Fairmont Banff Springs
Proudly celebrating 125 years
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
1.2 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
1.8 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#11 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,893 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
1.3 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#13 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,001 reviews
1.5 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#8 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,040 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Banff Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Banff Springs

Property: Fairmont Banff Springs
Address: 405 Spray Avenue | P.O. Box 960, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1J4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Banff
#1 Family Hotel in Banff
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
#1 Luxury Hotel in Banff
#1 Spa Hotel in Banff
#2 Business Hotel in Banff
#2 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Banff Springs 4*
Number of rooms: 770
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Banff National Park, a UNESCO World Heritage Site, the world famous Fairmont Banff Springs resort stands as a landmark in the picturesque alpine town of Banff. This year round luxury resort is styled after a Scottish baronial castle and offers guests spectacular mountain and valley views, a championship golf course during the summer, unparalleled skiing in the winter, and an award-winning European-style spa, the Willow Steam Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fairmont Hotels, Amex, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Odigeo, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Fairmont Banff Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Banff Springs Hotel Banff
Fairmont Banff Springs Hotel
Fairmont Banff Hotel
The Fairmont Banff Springs Banff
Fairmont Hotel Banff
Banff Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing