We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enormously Disappointing Honeymoon”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Fairmont Banff Springs
Ranked #2 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Flagstaff, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Enormously Disappointing Honeymoon”
Reviewed May 2, 2013

A HUGE disappointment for a 4 day splurge in the " honeymoon suite" room 987. Peeling wallpaper, stained carpets, tattered chairs, a room so hot we could not sleep, and had no ability to control the temperature.
We paid extra for a room with a Bow Valley view, and requested a room with big windows and a beautiful view. Our room had tiny slit windows, one feet wide, and the only views were the walls. Another HUGE disappointment...a claustrophobic room with teeny windows.
We were told that there were 11 fabulous restaurants to choose from for dinner. After getting dressed (evening gowns, suit) and looking forward to a wonderful dinner out, as husband and wife, we walked to the restaurant only to find the restaurant was closed. No advanced warning that the restaurants are only open on "select" nights". We had no hope of getting in to other restaurants without a huge wait, and wound up having hamburgers in our room. Another HUGE disappointment.
The next day, we dressed in swimsuits, and went downstairs to the pool to relax and take a swim. The pool was drained, and "under maintenance". Another HUGE disappointment.
At check out, we were shocked with the addition of hundreds of dollars, in addition to our room, which was dubbed as " taxes". HUGE and misleading disappointment, when we were quoted one rate, and charged another.
After speaking to the concierge about our disappointments, we were told that the hotel is old, and that is what we should expect, but they will eventually get around to remodeling the rooms.
For our 4 day honeymoon, we paid over $3,000, and left feeling like we were sold the ultimate lemon. Perhaps if the management cares, they will try to make it up to us for an anniversary trip. We were really looking forward to our time in a romantic place, and felt like we were taken advantage of.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank MKH1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FBS1888, Manager at Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you for your review. A honeymoon is a most precious occasion and we are sorry to see your review. By private email, a hotel representative has already corresponded with you.

The Fairmont Banff Springs
Proudly celebrating 125 years
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,133
    1,282
    511
    291
    165
See reviews for
1,474
2,904
145
893
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,503)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

We stayed for two nights at the Fairmont Banff and it was AMAZING. Service was amazing, room was great and with a nice view. It was in the heart of nature and was wonderful to walk around the city. Two swimming pools were really relaxing!

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Dig M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FBS1888, Manager at Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank you for your positive review! Our team reads and takes to heart each and every review and we appreciate this very much.

The Fairmont Banff Springs
Proudly celebrating 125 years
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We stayed at this hotel recently for a conference and was very disappointed with room it was a small not only that the temp in the room was high,so we thought we can turn on the celling fan but to our surprise the fan was so loose that had it stayed on it would have come down or go flying .Other option was to keep the window open but the sound from outside was disturbing so sleeping was a problem .We checked with a floor staff to see if there was air in the room we were told that he does not think there is air in this room.The meals at the conference were terrible,desserts and coffee were fine. We went to the pantry and found that they were pricy but was conviniant. Next day we went to the pantry as well to get a meal from my spouse but found that the hot items they had on were same as day before.We had to go into town for meals not impressed.Yes, location mountain view etc and the name of the hotel is what makes it all.For the price you pay for the room one would think parking would be included, oh no there is charge for that as well. Internet is available but this too is at a charge of almost $15.00 per day. I used it once but got charged for 3 days.No Impressed at all.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karmali10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FBS1888, Manager at Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. A Hotel representative has sent a private email to you to discuss your stay. We are truly sorry there were shortfalls, and we are committed to following up with you.

The Fairmont Banff Springs
Proudly celebrating 125 years
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

I stayed here recently for a conference and was upgraded to an executive suite in the Stanley Thompson wing - beautiful room which included a balcony overlooking the golf course. The room's art work was all golf related as well. When I arrived my room wasn't ready, I asked at the desk if I couldn't just have another room, he advised me that this room was worth waiting for - he was right.

I went to the Rundle Lounge for a drink while I waited for my room. Not only did they phone promptly when my room was ready, they delivered the keys to me in the lounge and my luggage was waiting for me in the room when I arrived. Talk about supreme service. My room was a little difficult to find, the Banff Springs has some quirky architecture and the room numbering system is a little strange.

Once I got the hang of it, it was very convenient to the conference centre where our conference was being held. The tech support we received for our presentation was friendly and efficient, just what you want. I ate once in the Rundle Lounge and once in the Pantry - the other meals were all part of the conference. The food and drink is a little pricy, but you're in a castle in the mountains, so you pay for that magnificent view.

I didn't have time on this trip to enjoy the spa or the outdoor heated pool, but on previous trips I have, and they are amazing. I really like Fairmont hotels in general and the Banff Springs is one of my favorites. I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shelmag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FBS1888, Manager at Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Thank you for your very positive review! We are pleased that you enjoyed your accommodations and the subsequent service you received once you had settled in. We hope to see you again soon!

The Fairmont Banff Springs
Proudly celebrating 125 years
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level 6 Contributor
77 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

I stayed here for 4 nights. I booked a single room but i ended up occupying a junior suite, which was too big for a single person. But the experience was truly luxurious. Architecture of the hotel is absolutely stunning. They do have excellent meeting rooms located a bit further to the main area of the hotel. Breakfast buffet was excellent. But in general the food is expensive and hence had to go to banff town, which is not too far away. Hotel is located close proximity to the mountains and skiing. I would recommend and would definitely go back with no second thoughts.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dinithi_Peiris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FBS1888, Manager at Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Thank you for your review which we will share with our colleagues. We are thankful also that you look forward to returning!

The Fairmont Banff Springs
Proudly celebrating 125 years
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

The value of service we received from the Gold Floor concierge advising and booking our excursions, comfort of the lounge, luxury of the A++ breakfast buffet, 5 o'clock goodies and all day beverages was much more than we hoped for. A day or two and it felt like home; I would return in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Our King Rooms had the 'Million Dollar' view of mountains, 5th Floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FBS1888, Manager at Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Thank you for your positive review of Fairmont Gold, which our team will be delighted to read!

The Fairmont Banff Springs
Proudly celebrating 125 years
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

We stayed here for one night on our way through Alberta. It had a lot to live up since we had stayed at Chateau Lake Louise which we absolutely loved. I thought this hotel was great but I enjoyed Chateau Lake Louise more.

The room was comfortable and we had sort of a view of the mountains from the window that seemed to be part of the roof. The bathrooms are small but nicely appointed. We enjoyed the grounds - they are nice. There were a few disappointments, we had trouble finding a restaurant that opened for an early (11:30) lunch. We had to go into Banff to eat. It is a little away from the main drag so you need a car to get around. We also had trouble being able to print boarding passes for our flight - we could'nt - the business center was closed and they did not have kiosks or anything in the lobby like some hotels do.

We also toured around in and did the gondola - the area is spectacular and definiately recommend a visit!

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelonJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FBS1888, Manager at Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us. I will certainly provide our Food and Beverage managers with your constructive observations also. We hope you will return again soon.

The Fairmont Banff Springs
Proudly celebrating our 125th anniversary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Banff
1.2 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
1.3 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#13 of 33 in Banff
2,132 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#11 of 33 in Banff
2,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
11.1 mi away
Stoneridge Mountain Resort by CLIQUE
2.0 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 33 in Banff
922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Banff Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Banff Springs

Property: Fairmont Banff Springs
Address: 405 Spray Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1J4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Banff
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
#1 Family Hotel in Banff
#2 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#2 Business Hotel in Banff
#2 Spa Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Banff Springs 4*
Number of rooms: 770
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Banff National Park, a UNESCO World Heritage Site, the world famous Fairmont Banff Springs resort stands as a landmark in the picturesque alpine town of Banff. This year round luxury resort is styled after a Scottish baronial castle and offers guests spectacular mountain and valley views, a championship golf course during the summer, unparalleled skiing in the winter, and an award-winning European-style spa, the Willow Steam Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Fairmont Hotels, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Fairmont Banff Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Banff Springs Hotel Banff
Fairmont Banff Springs Hotel
Fairmont Banff Hotel
The Fairmont Banff Springs Banff
Fairmont Hotel Banff
Banff Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing