We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Rocky Mountain Experience!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fairmont Banff Springs

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fairmont Banff Springs
Ranked #1 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Ontario
Level Contributor
74 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Wonderful Rocky Mountain Experience!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for a conference and it was a once in a lifetime opportunity. Getting to stay in the castle of the rockies, filled with such history and where royalty and celebrities alike flock to, was amazing!

We were given a room with two double beds. The room was small and dated. There were stains on the carpet (out of the 80s colour) and the bathroom was a bit rough looking. However, the beds were comfortable and linen clean.

Customer service was top notch and what I expected for a Fairmont property!!

The hotel is an absolute maze and I reccomend taking a couple hours just to explore. There are literally dozens of shops, restaurants and things to see/do.

The highlight of the experience for me was the spa experience. WOW!!! If you have a chance to visit the spa, do it!! It is pricey, but well worth it.

Parking is a bit steep ($25/night) and I would encourage you to sign up for the Fairmount 'presidents club' to get free wifi access (otherwise its $15).

If I had been paying out of pocket, would I have stayed there.... probably not. The rooms need to be updated to justify the high prices, however, if you are looking to experience a part of history (and have the coin) go for it!!

Room Tip: Try to get a 'modern' room if they have one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank netgeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,318
    1,065
    451
    252
    150
See reviews for
1,191
2,366
118
743
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,246)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

This hotel is gorgeous. We stayed for a conference in early November. The staff were wonderful and accommodating from the moment we pulled up. Check in was simple and relatively quick. Finding the room was a challenge due to the labyrinth hallway and elevator system that takes some getting used to. The room was located in the Stanley Thompson Wing, which from speaking to other members of the conference is the one to avoid. It was smaller in size but not cramped. Despite the fact that it was snowing outside our room was uncomfortably hot. Even with the thermostat turned off and window open, I got no sleep the first night. The staff, to their credit, were wonderful the next morning. They informed us that our wing had no air conditioning but that the others did. They offered to switch our room, but being close to friends we declined. They sent up a fan right away and that did help when placed on the window sill to draw in cool air. Our conference was well attended to until a portion of the ceiling collapsed on a colleague! Obviously this was unforeseen, and the staff did their best to accommodate us after they closed off the section of the hotel in question but with limited banquet halls could not find a wheelchair accessible one as we needed.
Despite the issues with the facility, the quality of the food and service is top notch. Overall an enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Avoid the Stanley Thompson Wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonas1515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont_Banff_Mgmt, Manager at Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on Trip Advisor. The Fairmont Banff Springs reads each and every one, and we share them appropriately with our team. Whether it is to celebrate a positive note, or to learn and grow when an opportunity is presented to us. The health and safety of our guests is of paramount importance and the area in question has been closed and is being addressed. We do hope you will return, and a hotel representative has reached out privately to you.

The Fairmont Banff Springs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
regina, canada
Level Contributor
83 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

If you have never stayed here before, and you are travelling through the area, you owe it to yourself to book at least one night at this hotel. We stayed here for one night during the Remembrance Day long weekend and my wife and I both loved it. We had a 7th floor room overlooking the Bow Valley, and the view of the valley and the mountains as the sun set was fantastic. Ate a great dinner at Castellos after wandering around the hotel and checking out the beautiful architecture and antique furniture in the public areas. We have stayed at hotels across North America and in many places in Europe, and I would rank this as the most beautiful of any of them. Service was first rate, and the staff was very accommodating. The rooms are smaller than you might expect, but keep in mind that the hotel is over 100 years old. We are already looking forward to returning for a longer stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank livetotravelcdn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont_Banff_Mgmt, Manager at Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you for your positive review. We are pleased that you enjoyed the ambiance, as well as dinner in Castellos! We hope you will return again.

The Fairmont Banff Springs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for a weekend, and we were both blown away!! We've never stayed at such a posh and historic place ever. The property is perched on a mountain side with simply stunning views at every angle. Service is first class, concierge car service, front desk staff, restaurant staff, all treat you with excellent customer service skills. You must have the Sunday brunch, it is quite simply spectacular! The food selection is enormous, and very delicious. There is so much to see and do on the property, a weekend just isn't enough! Our room was very well appointed, and the bed was really good. We used the day spa, and it was so relaxing. It was great being pampered. My skin was so smooth after spending time in the spa pools. We were very sad to leave such a beautiful place. I know it is expensive, but treating yourself to a excellent hotel now and then is worth it.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allen144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont_Banff_Mgmt, Manager at Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
We are very appreciative of your positive review. Thank you! It appears you really were able to partake in many of the highlights our resort has to offer. We do hope you will come back for longer though!

The Fairmont Banff Springs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

I stayed here one night during the winter time with my boyfriend. We had a wonderful time. We booked a mountain view room with king bed, and got exactly what we reserved. The views are worth it and the main reason why we go to Banff.
The hotel offers a huge space to wander aroundand entertain yourself, and the outdoor heated pool and indoor pool make the extra $ all worthwhile.
We went into town for dinner, but would have been happy to stay in the hotel the entire time without leaving!
Will go again for sure.
We were also pleased that we were able to check in over 2 hours early, which is offered on a first come first served basis.
The only complaint is the charge for the self parking, I would have hoped this small charge would have been included in the overnight fee.

Room Tip: Take advantage of the fact that an early check in is offered on a first come basis. Also, the moun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sunfunandbeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont_Banff_Mgmt, Manager at Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to complete an online review. We are very happy to know that you enjoyed your time here with us. We hope that next time you will enjoy one of our many onsite dining options. PS - The Waldhaus will be newly renovated and reopening in early December. What a magical winter venue, resembling a bavarian cottage in the wilderness. Fondue, crackling fire....Interested?

The Fairmont Banff Springs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
240 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I love the Banff Springs. I've stayed here 3 times. It is straight out of a fairy tale -- a castle nestled in gorgeous mountains, with fantastic views outside and inside. The service is brilliant. I've watched hockey in their pub, had an eclectic afternoon tea (non traditional!), and stayed in a grand suite. You can walk the grounds for hours. The concierge will assist with skiing, restaurants, even hockey on their frozen pond.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SugarSammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont_Banff_Mgmt, Manager at Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thank you for your review. You will be delighted to know that we are currently renovating that magical pub at the Waldhaus you have enjoyed in the past - you will have to return to enjoy again!!

The Fairmont Banff Springs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camrose, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

This hotel was fantastic in every way. From the location, staff, food and the atmosphere everything was amazing. The staff was so helpful in every way. We were at a conference and even though there were over 200 guests there everything went so smooth. The meals were unbelievable with the prime rib being a highlight. My room was one of the nicest ones I have stayed in. It was very large and nicely furnished. I have no problem recommending this property to everyone.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CaryKel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
1.8 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
1.3 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
2.0 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#3 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#12 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,907 reviews
1.4 mi away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
1.5 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#6 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Banff Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Banff Springs

Property: Fairmont Banff Springs
Address: 405 Spray Avenue | P.O. Box 960, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1J4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Banff
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
#1 Green Hotel in Banff
#1 Spa Hotel in Banff
#1 Luxury Hotel in Banff
#2 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#2 Business Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Banff Springs 4*
Number of rooms: 770
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Banff National Park, a UNESCO World Heritage Site, the world famous Fairmont Banff Springs resort stands as a landmark in the picturesque alpine town of Banff. This year round luxury resort is styled after a Scottish baronial castle and offers guests spectacular mountain and valley views, a championship golf course during the summer, unparalleled skiing in the winter, and an award-winning European-style spa, the Willow Steam Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Fairmont Hotels, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Fairmont Banff Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Banff Springs Hotel Banff
Fairmont Banff Springs Hotel
The Fairmont Banff Springs Banff
Fairmont Banff Hotel
Fairmont Hotel Banff
Banff Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing