We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A classic CP hotel, like a castle in the mountains”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fairmont Banff Springs
Ranked #2 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
246 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“A classic CP hotel, like a castle in the mountains”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

I love the Banff Springs. I've stayed here 3 times. It is straight out of a fairy tale -- a castle nestled in gorgeous mountains, with fantastic views outside and inside. The service is brilliant. I've watched hockey in their pub, had an eclectic afternoon tea (non traditional!), and stayed in a grand suite. You can walk the grounds for hours. The concierge will assist with skiing, restaurants, even hockey on their frozen pond.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SugarSammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont_Banff_Mgmt, Manager at Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thank you for your review. You will be delighted to know that we are currently renovating that magical pub at the Waldhaus you have enjoyed in the past - you will have to return to enjoy again!!

The Fairmont Banff Springs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,969
    1,218
    498
    284
    161
See reviews for
1,423
2,773
141
862
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,452)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Camrose, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

This hotel was fantastic in every way. From the location, staff, food and the atmosphere everything was amazing. The staff was so helpful in every way. We were at a conference and even though there were over 200 guests there everything went so smooth. The meals were unbelievable with the prime rib being a highlight. My room was one of the nicest ones I have stayed in. It was very large and nicely furnished. I have no problem recommending this property to everyone.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CaryKel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

Now I have stayed in a few Fairmont Hotels and always find them to be a tad boring, albeit 100% functional for the traveller (with the exception of Fairmont Pacific Rim however which is awesome). This Fairmont is all of that but in the most beautiful setting you could imagine. The room I had was a large suite in the corner of the main building and to say it could fill a family easily is an understatement. Banff itself it just...... Amazing. If this hotel was anywhere else it would get 4 stars from me but the setting makes this one of my "Fairmont Faves". Can't wait to go back....

Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Grenville99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont_Banff_Mgmt, Manager at Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
We are so pleased that Banff is rated high on your list of destinations, as is The Fairmont Banff Springs! We hope you will return again soon.

The Fairmont Banff Springs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

We stayed here for our anniversary this year and I really did feel spoiled! It's unlikely we'll be going back there anytime soon (it's not in our usual weekend budget!!!) so we totally splurged and went for Gold. The Fairmont Gold rooms were about $150 more, however, the views from the room are truly spectacular, the rooms are very nicely done and large, you get complimentary access to the fitness room and, in the Fairmont Gold lounge, you are treated to complimentary appetizers and coffee/soft drinks in the evening (there is also an honour bar with surprisingly reasonable prices!) and a really nice complimentary buffet breakfast which has flair and imagination in the offerings! The staff is excellent - from the front desk at the main foyer to the private Gold reception area. All members of staff were attentive but unobtrusive. Another thing to note, the hotel does not take tips for its staff if you offer - the hotel manager decided it made things much less awkward for guests. Great!!! So the staff members are doing what they do because they care and not for the extra coin! Impressive! Another tip - if you join the Presidents Club before you go, you can enjoy the private spa facilities (pools, saunas and outside hot tub) without having an actual treatment for less too! We treated our parents to the famous Banff Springs Sunday brunch once we had checked out (great check out time of 12pm) and that was a fabulous treat to end our weekend.

Room Tip: Definitely go for Gold!!! Ask for a room away from the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Caro37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont_Banff_Mgmt, Manager at Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thank you for spending your anniversary with us!! We are really pleased that you enjoyed your time on the Gold floor and the amenities the hotel has to offer. Our colleagues will certainly enjoy reading this review. Thank you again and best wishes for many more years to come.

The Fairmont Banff Springs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
91 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

The staff at the Banff Springs are stellar! Every person I spoke to was helpful, knowledgeable and went out of their way to make sure we all had a good time and had everything we needed.
The hotel in my opinion; is one of the best in the world. I stayed in the Stanley Thompson wing which is in the newer part of the hotel. The room was large, quiet and comfortable.
This was a working weekend but I have stayed at other times and have always received wonderful service. The food in every restaurant is impeccable. There are plenty of spots to curl up in a comfortable chair to enjoy the view if you have the time!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janspar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

I had a lovely stay at the hotel. I found the rooms to be small but considering the age of the property you would hardly want to spend anymore then an hour or two in them before you went out and explored.
The food was terrific and I found all the staff to be kind and helpful.
It is about a 10-15 minute walk to the centre of Banff but its an enjoyable one.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adriwil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont_Banff_Mgmt, Manager at Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thank you for your compliments to our culinary team and to the overall friendliness at the hotel. We do appreciate it.

The Fairmont Banff Springs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

When going to the Banff Springs you can book a shuttle from the airport that takes you directly to the Banff Springs about $125.00 round trip. The drive is about 2hours as they stop at various hotels to drop off people. Once you get to the hotel and let me tell you that the 1st hours drive is boring then the mountains appear and its wonderful. The hotel itself from the outside is unbelievable. The view is spectacular! The hotel is very large almost in 3 sections. The people at the desk are very friendly. They give you maps of the hotel and before you know it you know your way around. When we got our room we were in the new section, however we had to change because we requested a KING size bed but instead we got 2 queen and a cot? That room was large as I understand all the rooms in that section are. The room was ok. We were then moved into the Stanley Wing. The door ways look like they were made for short people. The room was ok. I'm not usual critical but I expected more. The bed skirt was not properly placed, the bathroom was really small but overall clean. When I looked out the window-yes I could see the mountains but I could also see the dumpster!!! The restaurants were good! Lunch at the Rundle Lounge was excellent! The Grill offered a wonderful buffet which was great but expensive, but any of the Fairmount hotel restaurants are expensive. I loved the fact that they had a cafe in the lobby open 24 hours. Muffins, coffee or fast items to go were available at a much cheaper cost. We booked the Gondola's which was a must see $13.00 taxi ride or 2 buses. To go into town you can walk-15 minutes-Great Restaurants and gift shops. A bus ride is $2.00 each way and to get back you take the blue line. We even saw an elk wondering the street. Pictures does not do this place justice-the castle is wonderful with a lot of history. Take a wonder through the hotel as it has wonderful art, and history. They also have an outdoor spring which is free. The pool area was clean and well maintained. I didn't go into the gym but it looked good but I think you have to pay to use it. The spa looked nice but I did not use it. This place is a must see not only for its history (I think it was built in 1888 or there abouts) but for its view.

Room Tip: IF you want a larger room stay in the new section-Conference section but a bit of a walk from the ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KatandAnth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
1.2 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
1.3 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#13 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,073 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#12 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
2.0 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 869 reviews
1.4 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#8 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Banff Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Banff Springs

Property: Fairmont Banff Springs
Address: 405 Spray Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1J4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Banff
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
#1 Family Hotel in Banff
#2 Spa Hotel in Banff
#2 Luxury Hotel in Banff
#2 Business Hotel in Banff
#2 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Banff Springs 4*
Number of rooms: 770
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Banff National Park, a UNESCO World Heritage Site, the world famous Fairmont Banff Springs resort stands as a landmark in the picturesque alpine town of Banff. This year round luxury resort is styled after a Scottish baronial castle and offers guests spectacular mountain and valley views, a championship golf course during the summer, unparalleled skiing in the winter, and an award-winning European-style spa, the Willow Steam Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Fairmont Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairmont Banff Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Banff Springs Hotel Banff
Fairmont Banff Springs Hotel
The Fairmont Banff Springs Banff
Fairmont Banff Hotel
Fairmont Hotel Banff
Banff Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing