We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Conference Hotel but some rooms in the Conference Wing need Work”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Fairmont Banff Springs
Ranked #2 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Edmonton, Alberta
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Conference Hotel but some rooms in the Conference Wing need Work”
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Had a great time at this sprawling complex. Was attending a conference for work. The quality of the rooms varies widely. Some of us had cute princess-style rooms worthy of the Fairmont brand, others had quite small places and I personally had a large business suite located in the Conference Wing that was in need of a bathroom renovation. My bathtub had been refinished years ago but was now scratched, the tub faucet is coming off the wall, and there was mildew on the base of the tile tub surround. Not too classy. Good bed though and got a good night's sleep each day of the week. The main 'castle' appeared to be the best place for a room. My wi-fi did not work the second night despite a charge going through on my credit card for a second night of service.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main castle building - not the conference centre or the Thompson wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colton K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont_Banff_Mgmt, Manager at Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Thank you for your review. A hotel representative will be reaching out to you to ensure we know the room you are referring to and that it is addressed quickly. We appreciate the feedback very much. Thank you!

The Fairmont Banff Springs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,017
    1,229
    500
    287
    161
See reviews for
1,437
2,805
142
872
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,469)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Reception staff had a confusing time to figure out our rate package on arrival and departure.
Stayed in a unique junior honeymoon suite. The spiral staircase to the castle tower bedroom will not allow a groom to carry up his bride! Beautiful views!
Dinner at the Banffshire restaurant was reasonably priced for fine dining with special wine selections and attentive staff.
Good selection of choice at the buffet breakfast.
All-in-all and amazing way to celebrate a wedding anniversary.
The only sad item was that we did want to get some sleep and the noisy aircon in the bedroom made it not so easy.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AgentTraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont_Banff_Mgmt, Manager at Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
The Fairmont Banff Springs would like to thank you for your review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay, your Banffshire experience and the destination overall. A hotel representative has sent a direct email to you as we will need more personal details from you to investigate the room noise right away. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosford, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

From the moment you step inside the hotel I was awestruck. A magnificent hotel featuring 5star plus service, very roomy accommodation, more than we expected. Fantastic scenery from our room, easy walk into town and the most fabulous surrounds. I could go on and on about our stay there, it was just like a fantasy and didn't want to leave, we will be back there one day I hope

Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Pamela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
559 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

I have seen pictures of the "Castle" but none did it justice. It dominates the yet blends in with the magnificent mountains surrounding it. We were lucky to score a room in one of the turrets that gave a commanding view of the Bow Valley. The area with the shops could easily be a dungeon area without the modern storefronts. The terrace restaurant offered a commanding view of the river below. There were several weddings the day we were there. A server told us the week before they had 13 weddings in one day! Great to visit even if you don't have a room for the night. Staff was very good in every way possible.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont_Banff_Mgmt, Manager at Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Thank you for visiting our hotel! We are very pleased that you experienced great service and were impressed by our Castle in the Rockies. We do hope you will return again!

The Fairmont Banff Springs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biggleswade, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Was allocated this hotel as part of our Rocky Mountaineer trip. It is a good walk (20 mins) into Banff town. The hotel is BIG and comfortable. The room was big and comfortable with an enormous bed - no problem with fighting for space in this one.

The surrounding scenery is breathtaking.

If you dont want to walk into town the Roam Bus runs frequently from outside the main entrance.

Room Tip: Try the small convenience store just under the conference centre for your breakfast requirements and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RichardJ36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambodia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel twice and I'm shocked by some of the negative reviews of this hotel. It's a old castle design and will obviously be dark and dated. It is old fashioned and that is its charm. With such an excellent outdoor pool over-looking the Rockies, it saddens me to learn some guest are focused on watching TV or connecting to wifi.

I agree with previous comments on check-in. It was very very slow. The hotel must surely be aware of which guests are due to check in and on which dates and also the time airport transfers arrive. For a 5* hotel not to have the check-in process properly managed is inexcusable.

In terms of style and overall experience it is the best hotel I have stayed at. Perfect to return to after tiring day on the ski slopes.

I certainly did not have to pay extra for the gym - I was allowed to use the facilities without extra charge.

I did have cause to complain: no bell boys available, noisy room (next to elevators), incorrect room allocation, waiter spilling wine in Castello's restaurant and lengthy check-in queue. My concerns were noted and a free room upgrade offered.

It is therefore disappointing to note from recent reviews that Fairmont Banff Springs has not addressed the check-in issue.

I would also add that apart from Chad the concierge, Brooke in the Ramsay lounge and just one of the bar staff in the Rundle Lounge, I found the rest of the staff rude, abrasive and 'snooty'.

Normally I would choose to stay elsewhere with this attitude but the pool, the scenery and the impressive architecture of the hotel are enough to balance against the arrogance of the staff.

I would not hesitate to rate the hotel as excellent if its staff were friendlier. I believe this hotel is lacking good management. If the Fairmont group has a Director with a good track record in customer service I would urge them to be parachuted in and make this hotel truly magnificent.

Room Tip: Ask for room away from elevators overlooking the Bow valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank matts g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont_Banff_Mgmt, Manager at Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thank your for your review. A hotel representative has responded to your personal account and hopes to hear back from you soon.

The Fairmont Banff Springs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
182 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We stayed for 4 nights at this hotel during winter in February, I was with my fiance and we where given 2 single beds which we stayed in for 2 nights and then management upgraded us to a room on the top floors with a Queen bed. The bed's where incredibly comfortable staff where friendly. For some people it's a little bit of a walk out of town and the main sights but that didn't bother us at all.
The restaurants in house weren't the greatest and we didn't think provided all that much variety between them all. Eating in them was also fairly expensive and there wasn't a middle ground for good priced food.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank twindadtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
1.2 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
1.3 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#14 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,090 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#11 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
2.0 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 882 reviews
1.4 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,097 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Banff Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Banff Springs

Property: Fairmont Banff Springs
Address: 405 Spray Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1J4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Banff
#1 Family Hotel in Banff
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
#2 Luxury Hotel in Banff
#2 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#2 Business Hotel in Banff
#2 Spa Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Banff Springs 4*
Number of rooms: 770
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Banff National Park, a UNESCO World Heritage Site, the world famous Fairmont Banff Springs resort stands as a landmark in the picturesque alpine town of Banff. This year round luxury resort is styled after a Scottish baronial castle and offers guests spectacular mountain and valley views, a championship golf course during the summer, unparalleled skiing in the winter, and an award-winning European-style spa, the Willow Steam Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fairmont Hotels, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, TravelUp, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Fairmont Banff Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Banff Springs Hotel Banff
Fairmont Banff Springs Hotel
Fairmont Banff Hotel
The Fairmont Banff Springs Banff
Fairmont Hotel Banff
Banff Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing