We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand Old Lodge”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Fairmont Banff Springs
Ranked #2 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
405 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Grand Old Lodge”
Reviewed November 9, 2011

Huge, you can get lost in here. Great for a night or two just to say you stayed there. One of the most beautiful hotels in the world because of the setting and certainly the best views of Banff valley from the rooms. Worth it to say you did it and a genuine romantic place to stay in the very romantic Canadian Rockies.

Room Tip: Valley view rooms are the place to be!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank majiksea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,065
    1,250
    506
    287
    162
See reviews for
1,448
2,846
143
884
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,484)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2011

Stayed at Fairmont Banff Springs for a long weekend(10/21-10/23) before heading to Calgary for a conference. Gold level, Fifth floor staff is top notch! Erin and Ashley remembered us from last year and were quite gracious and most accommodating! Max, the newest employee is a fantastic addition. Flawless dedication to first class service! All three are very knowledgeable about the area, great restaurants, wine selections and are quick to help make your stay as enjoyable and trouble free as possible without being intrusive. Valet continuously and kindly refused a gratuity and insisted it was already covered. Complimentary full breakfast is wonderful with a full selection of eggs, individual size quiches, bacon, sausages, cereals, juices, oatmeal and a various pastries as well as delicious coffee. Beds are luxurious and sheets are ridiculously soft. Towels are quite thick and very large. Bathrooms, though a bit on the small size by American standards, are very well appointed and of spa quality. You'll love the body sprays! Rooms are large and beautifully decorated with a serene palette. Views are spectacular if you request any odd numbered room from 533-forward. Try not to get a room too close to the front desk or the elevators as the foot traffic clicking on those beautiful wood floors can be annoyingly loud. Hallways after room 531 are carpeted, thankfully. Complimentary evening happy hour is a wonderful treat with substantial appetizer selections. You won't go hungry! The fireplace and views from the Great Room make you never want to leave.

Our only complaint was our dinner reservation Saturday night. We had reservations for 8:45 at Castello Ristorante within the hotel. When we arrived at precisely 8:45, the maitre d' was a bit brusque with us and told us he'd be with us in just a moment. He proceeded to prepare a table for a party of 12. We could see at least two tables that were empty and available for immediate seating. After waiting 15 minutes by the entrance, we decided to leave. He never once apologized for the delay, didn't offer us a seat while we waited, didn't even ask us if we had a reservation. I guess our little party of two just wasn't VIP enough for him. We walked over to the Bow Valley Grill (also within the hotel) and had a lovely evening with excellent service and immediate seating. I would also recommend the Waldhaus Pub if you're looking for a no fuss night with great pub food and a casual, almost homey, atmosphere.

Room Tip: Ask for a golf course/bow valley view. Conversation around the fifth floor concierge/front desk can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank livinit_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Yorkshire, England
Level Contributor
75 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2011

A wonderful five night stay, the view from our suite over the bow valley was great, we did have excellent weather, but the meals in the hotel were first class. Go for a room at the rear for the views

Room Tip: Our room at the back had the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JCDurkin8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
112 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2011

Absolutely gorgeous setting and grounds. Looks like a castle perched on the hill. Some great nooks and crannies to explore for young and old. Great restaurants and bar locations. Some of the rooms much nicer than others so ask to see more than one.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ms_Demeanor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Canada
Level Contributor
85 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2011

Our recent stay at the Banff Springs Hotel was fantastic. Although I understand some of the rooms can be small we were lucky enough to be upgraded to a beautiful huge room at the end of a very atmospheric hallway. I felt like I was living in a castle. The view from our room was absolutely unparalleled and I could have spent my day just looking out at the beautiful mountains with a fresh layer of snow. I spent most of one day in their fabulous spa and although expensive felt it was worth every penny as it was a total experience. Make sure you give yourself enough time to enjoy the pools, steam room and relaxing areas. Staying at this hotel was a truly memorable treat.

Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank rdabca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont_Banff_Mgmt, Manager at Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, November 9, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience online. We are so pleased you were able to witness some of our early snowfall - those bright blue skies on top of white mountains truly are breathtaking! The Spa in the winter is a very popular amenity also, and we are pleased you loved it. We do hope you will return again.

The Fairmont Banff Springs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
80 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2011

Went there during Summer, Long drive from Vancouver BC. Fairmont Banff Springs...beautiful place. I booked through travelocity. Only complaint was room. It was way too small, I believe it had something to do with old style buildings and travelocity's booking. Didn't affect too much of my trip though. Views were great, rooms were clean. service was marvelous! Will come back for sure!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sudosandwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport Co Mayo Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 3, 2011

Their mission statement is true,
The best hotel in Canada, or perhaps the world.
try it to experience it.

Room Tip: Just try this hotel, a bit pricey, but worth every penny
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clew Bay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Banff
1.2 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
1.3 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#14 of 32 in Banff
2,103 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#12 of 32 in Banff
2,005 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
1.4 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 32 in Banff
1,106 reviews
11.1 mi away
Stoneridge Mountain Resort by CLIQUE
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Banff Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Banff Springs

Property: Fairmont Banff Springs
Address: 405 Spray Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1J4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Banff
#1 Green Hotel in Banff
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
#2 Business Hotel in Banff
#2 Spa Hotel in Banff
#2 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Banff Springs 4*
Number of rooms: 770
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Banff National Park, a UNESCO World Heritage Site, the world famous Fairmont Banff Springs resort stands as a landmark in the picturesque alpine town of Banff. This year round luxury resort is styled after a Scottish baronial castle and offers guests spectacular mountain and valley views, a championship golf course during the summer, unparalleled skiing in the winter, and an award-winning European-style spa, the Willow Steam Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Fairmont Hotels, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelUp, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Fairmont Banff Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Banff Springs Hotel Banff
Fairmont Banff Springs Hotel
Fairmont Banff Hotel
The Fairmont Banff Springs Banff
Fairmont Hotel Banff
Banff Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing