We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great place to stay in Banff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
Ranked #5 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in Banff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2009

We stayed in one of the deluxe rooms, complete with a fireplace and I would recommend one of these rooms if you can. The room was spacious, the bathroom huge and the bed was massive and very comfortable. The pool area was fun to relax in and the hot spa was a nice treat after the minus 28 degrees weather. The ski stop is about 2 hotels up from the Delta Banff and easy to get to. The hotel provides a ski lock up storage in the carpark which you can access with your room key. The staff were very helpful.

  • Liked — comfortable large bed
  • Disliked — that breakfast wasn't included in the room price.
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Wiztin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,013 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    457
    392
    112
    34
    18
See reviews for
264
496
24
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orillia, ON
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2009

I am a big fan of Delta hotels/service, and was not disappointed with this hotel.

We had a king bed, fireplace, sofa/wing chair living area, large bathroom with jetted tub (not very comfortable for 2), although advertised for 2, 2nd floor with mountain views.

Our room was clean, bed was comfortable, and plenty of space for our belongings. We are priviledge members, so we had a few extras such as bathrobes, and a welcome letter from the staff, seeing as it was our honeymoon.

The pool area was very tranquil, not overly kid friendly. It is a shallow, warm mineral water pool with ceramic tile floor/sides and ledges to sit on. There is a waterfall into the pool. The hot tub is above the pool on the other side of the waterfall. There is a spa and fitness facility available.

In house fine dining was available, but was rather expensive. The hotel has valet parking, and was no additional charge for us.

Please keep in mind, this hotel is further away from Banff town centre than most. It is about a 5-10 min walk to the restaurants and shops.

The staff were phenomenal, concierge recommended a fantastic fondue restaurant for a special meal. I would definately stay again.

  • Liked — tranquil pool and amazing staff
  • Disliked — slightly further away from attractions, cost of dining
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank KGriggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwood Park, Canada
Level Contributor
90 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2008

This is my first time writing a review so here goes.
I have been to Banff at least a dozen times but maybe it is closer to twenty now. ( lost count )
The hotel in general is what you would expect in the higher end of the price range for Banff. It was clean and well maintained with helpful staff. The charge for parking was a ridicules add on to the bill. It would be better if they just included it in the cost of the room. It is heated under ground parking and that is a definte bonus in winter. The other thing I should mention is there doesn't appear to be any other parking available at this hotel so again it should have been included. We never ate at the restarant at the hotel because it was and is always nicer to get out and explore Banff looking for a restarant that suits your appetite. There are many to chose from. The valet parking was available to us for free but it seemed kind of silly to us to use it when we could just swipe or room key and park the car our selves. The pool is not really set up for children even though we really liked it. It was quiet, and for a soak in the pool and hot tub at the end of the day after hiking without allot of noise it was perfect. Other than that it was all pretty much a standard offering in this price range. If you want to save a bit of money there are other options in Banff that will create the same experience.

  • Liked — Quiet Pool Area. It felt like a Spa.
  • Disliked — Parking Fee, Location was a little far away from downtown Banff.
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Viajar_desde_Alberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
138 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2008

The Delta is a nice hotel with a good pool and nice rooms. We had a Deluxe King with a fireplace, jet tub and chesterfield/chairs. The view was great facing out to Banff Ave from the third floor.

We had requested feather pillows through the Delta website when we booked and they were waiting for us upon checkin. The bed was pretty comfortable, the linens were okay too. The front desk staff were great.

The only thing I would like to see them change is the timer on the fireplace. It was a turn style and it ticks pretty loudly. A digital timer that doesn't make noise would be nicer.

Parking was $12/night but included valet and they also washed our windows for us.

Overall it's a good choice if you're looking to stay up in Banff.

  • Liked — Great service
  • Disliked — No free internet... It should be a standard
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank sixcolors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2008

I loved everything about Banff, including this hotel. You definitely get what you pay for and this hotel is lovely and the staff were very friendly. The room was spacious and clean, with an extra room between the bedroom and bathroom. It also had an electric fire, very cosy. You can't beat waking up in the morning to a view of Mount Rundell. It's only a short walk from the main street, although nothing is too far in Banff.

  • Liked — Beds were comfortable and room clean
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mousekeville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2008

Small but friendly hotel. Room was lovely - traditionally decorated with a fireplace. Fantastic view of mountain across the street with church and nice houses in front. Only one chair to sit and relax which was a shame. Housekeeping staff very friendly and cute! Had breakfast once - served by hungover but very pleasant and chatty young lady from NZ. Food was OK. Bus stop outside with buses every 40 minutes if walk into town too exhausting! Takes about 15 mins to walk. Town itself very touristy. Lots of daytrippers. Meal at the steakhouse "Elk & Oarsmen was truly dreadful. Worst of our 14 day trip. Meal at the Tex-Mex Magpie & Stump off the high street was excellent - I recommend the Tamale pie. The atmosphere was great as were the staff. The Kleftiko at The Balkan on their Greek night was also superb. Don't have a starter!! We did and were stuffed. Both reasonably priced. Beers just over $5. Wine from about $30 a bottle. Banff Springs hotel worth a visit. A cute location with lots of shops & a very limited bus service (40 mins to do the loop with 85% of stops on the high street). Plenty of bars and coffee shops but all a bit lifeless. Trip on Gondola worthwhile. Visit to Native Indian Museum was OK. Banff Springs hotel ugly from outside but delicious inside. Banff is a pretty town set in the mountains. Hire a bike or hike to get full benefit. We would not go back.

  • Liked — The beds as they were hard
  • Disliked — The spaciousness of the room
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank ditsychick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2008

We stayed here for our anniversary, and we absolutely loved our room. When my boyfriend booked the hotel, the clerk asked if there was any specific reason for our stay. My boyfriend casually mentioned that it was our anniversary. When we checked into the hotel in the afternoon, and we walked into our room, we discovered a welcome package for us, which was a pleasant surprise. We received 2 personalized greeting cards congratulating us on our anniversary and also a box of chocolates and some biscotti.

We were really pleased with the look of our room. Ours was a deluxe room with a king sized bed, fireplace and one person jacuzzi. Our bed was beautifully made, we had a gorgeous sitting area and view, and our bathroom was huge.

The staff was extremely friendly. We went out to dinner at a local restaurant and when we returned we found a bag hanging off our door with more chocolates and two bottles of water. When we checked out that morning, we also discovered that our car windshield was washed overnight.

This was an excellent hotel, we had a great stay, and we will definitely stay here again.

  • Liked — Great Staff
  • Disliked — Paid parking, and lot was a bit small
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank travellercg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.8 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
0.0 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#12 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,905 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#3 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
0.2 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#6 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 967 reviews
0.3 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#8 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge

Property: Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
Address: 459 Banff Ave, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B4, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#3 Family Hotel in Banff
#3 Spa Hotel in Banff
#3 Luxury Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This fine Banff resort welcomes you to experience a restful stay amid the grand surroundings of the Canadian Rocky Mountains. This intimate boutique Banff hotel offers 99 guestrooms and suites that are spacious and thoughtfully appointed. Guests of the Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge can enjoy fine dining in the Evergreen Restaurant one of Banffs best kept secrets, or a visit to the Grotto Spa. Relax, unwind, and rejuvenate with the soothing sounds of water flowing peacefully over the rundle rock waterfall in the hot mineral pool and luxurious whirlpool. Also a great place for a meeting in Banff! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Hotel Banff
Banff Delta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing