We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
Ranked #9 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Ottawa
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very Comfortable”
Reviewed July 18, 2014 via mobile

We stayed two nights in the premiere room. With two teenaged girls, the spacious bathroom was wonderful. Staff were helpful and friendly - from suggesting trails suitable to our preferences to getting us set up on the free loaner cruiser bikes. The hotel restaurant The Evergreen was also splendid, with great service. The only thing that could have been better was the in-room air conditioning system; it cycled on and off all night, causing us to not sleep soundly as we went from being cold to hot over and over again all night.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheshimas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    506
    461
    140
    41
    23
See reviews for
294
587
32
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winter Springs
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2014

This hotel is more expensive than some but well worth the extra money. Loved the location and the quiet setting. The front desk staff and concierge were very helpful and the valet parking option was handled efficiently. You can easily walk from the hotel to the main part of town and there are a number of good restaurants within a few blocks of the hotel. Our room was a junior suite and it suited our needs well.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank the-traveler1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2014

Stayed for a couple of nights, lovely large room at the back of hotel overlooking quiet courtyard. Good location, about a ten minute walk into Banff with all the restaurants shops and bars. Would go back to this hotel. Helpful polite staff.

Room Tip: Back of the hotel is quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2014

Absolutely loved this hotel! The staff were so helpful and welcoming when we arrived at the hotel. Showed us the spots that were worth checking out. Received an addressed Thank You card for choosing this hotel. The location was perfect for walking into town. The room was clean and well maintained.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CA L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

Wifi: Free, codes provided per device on check in, plus a "charger-port" - a couple of helpfully-place sockets on the desk.

Bedroom: A little on the small side, but includes a built in wardrobe plus a large TV cabinet with drawers below.  There is a safe in cupboard, which is free and can easily accommodate an ipad and DSLR Camera.  There is both a kettle a small coffee machine.  Also, an ice bucket which you can fill from the landing.  There is a vending machine on the landing as well where you can purchase bottled water at a competitive price.

Bathroom: Again, a little cramped, but there is a shelf below the large mirror and a cabinet beneath the sink - haridryer provided.  The bath has a fixed head shower, so you can't easily wash your hair without also showering - and vice versa.  The bath is protected with a curtain rather than glass.  I personally loathe shower curtains because they will have touched the previous occupant and not have been replaced/cleaned (yuck, yuck).  Having said that, I will credit this hotel with at least having pristine white curtains and no hint of dirtiness anywhere in the bath tiles.  Plus the curtain does curve away from the bath so it doesn't suck inwards with the draft.  Two large and two small towels were provided per person, plus hand towels.  

Reception:/Concierege:  Receptionists were helpful and friendly.  The concierge, Tom, was really great, making dinner reservations, booking trips and gerenally giving tips on the kind of day out that would suit us.

Breakfast: We booked with expedia, which means breakfast isn't included, but we did buy breakfast from the alc menu and although it was a little more than we would have paid in town, it wasn't a big difference and worth it for convenience.  

Location: on the man road into Banff - it's a 10-15 minute easy stroll into town.  

Parking - on site and CAD15+ tax per night.  

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Monk-san
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2014

We stayed 4 nights at the hotel. Room is spacious with some old time elegance, especially the bathroom. Bed and pillow are so comfy, so when we are back from daytime's hiking and sightseeing we could be recharged by good night's sleep. All front desk staff never failed to help with any of our requests, and make us feel welcomed home when we are back to the hotel. With this hotel and other experiences, we do love the city of Banff.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wei H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penticton, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2014

Very, very nice hotel. Friendly reception staff who did everything to make our stay comfortable. The room was big and the bathroom had a sliding door between the wash basins and the shower/toilet area so both areas could be used at the same time. Big, soft, comfy beds, plus windows that opened if you didn't want the air conditioning on. Lovely pool, hot tub grotto area that was wonderful after a long day of travelling. Nice touch having a kettle as well as the coffee machine as some travellers like to enjoy a cup of tea.

Room Tip: We were on the second floor and it was lovely to have the window open onto the treed area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JanRF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.3 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.0 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#12 of 33 in Banff
2,142 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#13 of 33 in Banff
2,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#6 of 33 in Banff
1,415 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#8 of 33 in Banff
1,117 reviews
0.6 mi away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge

Property: Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
Address: 459 Banff Ave, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Banff
#3 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#4 Luxury Hotel in Banff
#5 Spa Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This fine Banff resort welcomes you to experience a restful stay amid the grand surroundings of the Canadian Rocky Mountains. This intimate boutique Banff hotel offers 99 guestrooms and suites that are spacious and thoughtfully appointed. Guests of the Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge can enjoy fine dining in the Evergreen Restaurant one of Banffs best kept secrets, or a visit to the Grotto Spa. Relax, unwind, and rejuvenate with the soothing sounds of water flowing peacefully over the rundle rock waterfall in the hot mineral pool and luxurious whirlpool. Also a great place for a meeting in Banff! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Hotel Banff
Banff Delta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing