We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice room, great view, short walk from town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
Ranked #10 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Very nice room, great view, short walk from town”
Reviewed October 26, 2008

Small but friendly hotel. Room was lovely - traditionally decorated with a fireplace. Fantastic view of mountain across the street with church and nice houses in front. Only one chair to sit and relax which was a shame. Housekeeping staff very friendly and cute! Had breakfast once - served by hungover but very pleasant and chatty young lady from NZ. Food was OK. Bus stop outside with buses every 40 minutes if walk into town too exhausting! Takes about 15 mins to walk. Town itself very touristy. Lots of daytrippers. Meal at the steakhouse "Elk & Oarsmen was truly dreadful. Worst of our 14 day trip. Meal at the Tex-Mex Magpie & Stump off the high street was excellent - I recommend the Tamale pie. The atmosphere was great as were the staff. The Kleftiko at The Balkan on their Greek night was also superb. Don't have a starter!! We did and were stuffed. Both reasonably priced. Beers just over $5. Wine from about $30 a bottle. Banff Springs hotel worth a visit. A cute location with lots of shops & a very limited bus service (40 mins to do the loop with 85% of stops on the high street). Plenty of bars and coffee shops but all a bit lifeless. Trip on Gondola worthwhile. Visit to Native Indian Museum was OK. Banff Springs hotel ugly from outside but delicious inside. Banff is a pretty town set in the mountains. Hire a bike or hike to get full benefit. We would not go back.

  • Liked — The beds as they were hard
  • Disliked — The spaciousness of the room
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank ditsychick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    498
    448
    137
    39
    23
See reviews for
293
569
31
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 25, 2008

We stayed here for our anniversary, and we absolutely loved our room. When my boyfriend booked the hotel, the clerk asked if there was any specific reason for our stay. My boyfriend casually mentioned that it was our anniversary. When we checked into the hotel in the afternoon, and we walked into our room, we discovered a welcome package for us, which was a pleasant surprise. We received 2 personalized greeting cards congratulating us on our anniversary and also a box of chocolates and some biscotti.

We were really pleased with the look of our room. Ours was a deluxe room with a king sized bed, fireplace and one person jacuzzi. Our bed was beautifully made, we had a gorgeous sitting area and view, and our bathroom was huge.

The staff was extremely friendly. We went out to dinner at a local restaurant and when we returned we found a bag hanging off our door with more chocolates and two bottles of water. When we checked out that morning, we also discovered that our car windshield was washed overnight.

This was an excellent hotel, we had a great stay, and we will definitely stay here again.

  • Liked — Great Staff
  • Disliked — Paid parking, and lot was a bit small
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank travellercg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2008

My husband and planned a romantic getaway to Calgary and decided to spend a night in Banff as he had never been there. Check in was no problem and we were quickly up in our "room." By room is mean a postage stamp with a view looking into the other guests rooms. We have stayed at many hotels and many Deltas and this was by far the smallest hotel room I have ever seen. We went sight seeing for the day and came back to change at around 5:30. At 5:50 pm there was a knock at our door as the door was opening. Let's just my husband and I were "busy" and I yelled at the person to get out of our room. She did not get out but instead came further into the room and offered to turn down the bed. As my husband and I flew under the covers, I yelled that the blankets were down and to get out, she came in further and I SCREAMED at her to get out and she left. I brought the situation up to the front desk and we were ignored. We left for supper and returned to the hotel around 9 pm. There was no parking left in the parkade and only the valet spots were open. We had to drive back out and get the valet to park our car. The next morning we awoke to our room being filled with the smell of smoke, like smoke from a fire pit. Every time the heater turned on, the smell filled our room. We had had enough and checked out quite early.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kateb33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TORONTO
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 8, 2008

Stayed here for three nights in September. Location is great, just a five minute walk from the centre of banff. Room was beautiful and clean with a fireplace which would of course be great if you were on a ski-ing holiday.
We did not eat in the hotel so I cannot comment but car parking was convenient and a reasonable price.
I would definitely stay here again.

Helpful?
1 Thank AUTOPROP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
322 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 293 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2008

Overall this was a perfectly decent place to stay. We had a king executive room I believe which was OK. No luxury but a big bathroom and with a little room between the bedroom and the bathroom which I quite liked. The decor in the bedroom was bland and a little bit old fashioned but the bed was very comfy and the furnishings were fine. The TV had films available but only about 10 which seemed a pretty poor selection compared to other hotels. The staff were friendly and the location was good - about a 10 minute walk to the centre of Banff. To be honest the fact that this is one of the highest ratest hotels in Banff is probably more an indictment of Banff hotels rather than real praise for the Royal Canadian - we had a pleasant stay, could have done a lot worse but wouldn't rush back.

  • Liked — Bed and staff
  • Disliked — Decor
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank libero7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2008

My family and I stayed at the Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge from August 24 to August 28. We took the Banff Airporter to the hotel which was very comfortable and convenient. They operate small shuttles and not huge shuttle buses so the service was very individualized. When we arrived at the hotel, only one of our two rooms was ready. However, the girl at the front desk was nice enough to check us into both rooms and told us to come back later for the keys to the second room. We went to drop all our things down in room number 1 before heading into town for some exploring.

The room was beautiful and looked exactly like it did on Expedia. There were 2 Queen beds laid out with white sheets and a burgundy colored velvety piece at the foot of the bed. The carpeting was also burgundy colored and along with the dark wood of the entertainment center / bureau, made for a very rich, warm and inviting room. There was also a fridge as part of the entertainment center so that you could keep your drinks cold. There was a fireplace and a cushioned seat as well as a writing table, chair and large ottoman for you to put your luggage or duffle bags atop. The alarm clock was also a nice touch. The bathroom was huge - when you walk in, there is a large countertop with a sink and mirror. There is also, a door which opens to reveal the closet along with the room safe, iron and ironing board. The bathroom then has a large sliding door. Behind the sliding door you will find yet another sink and mirror along with the bathtub/shower and toilet. Like I said, the bathroom was huge. All in all, we were very impressed by the size and look of the room. It should also be mentioned that the hotel only has 3 floors and in fact, none of the other hotels we saw or any buildings in town seemed to have more than 3 floors.

The walk to town (at a very slow pace) was 10 minutes and was easily doable. The town as many shops where you can buy souvenirs ranging from magnets, shot glasses, maple syrup and cookies to t-shirts, sweaters and jewelry. We recommend you check out a few stores to make sure you get the best deal. There are also places where you can get your currency exchanged (remember though that most hotels can exchange currency for you). The shop owners are very friendly and helpful. If you happened to forget anything at home, there is a Rexall drug store located in the Cascade Mall.

For dining, there are restaurants in all the hotels. Most days, since it was raining in the mornings, we ate breakfast at the hotel. The breakfast buffet was $17CAD and included such things as pancakes, danish, cookies, rolls, cereals, oatmeal, scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, roasted potatoes, fresh fruit as well as one hot and one cold beverage. If you didn't want to have the buffet, you could order off the menu where they had various omelets available as well as a freshly made short stack of pancakes (1 each of strawberry, blueberry and banana). We found the prices to be reasonable and comparable to breakfast places in town. We never ate lunch or dinner at the hotel though. For lunch, we ate at the Old Spaghetti Factory located inside the Cascade Mall. It was a very value for the money since the meal included free unlimited fresh bread, choice of soup or salad, an entree, ice cream and choice of tea or coffee. We ate there twice. We also had lunch one day at Tommy's Pub. They had very reasonable prices and very large portions. They claim that their onion rings are tastier than their fries but I tried both and their fries were definitely very tasty. We also dined at Chili's located at the Fox Hotel (right next door to our hotel - a very short 30 second walk ... maybe shorter). Our dad had never been to a Chili's before so we ate there - excellent service and very large portions. Another place we ate at was Thai and Grill (in town). It was a very small place and there was only one waiter working there but service was good and so was the food. Well, except for my sister's pad thai - it was extremely salty.

For tours, we did tours through Discover Banff Tours. They picked us up at the hotel and were always on time. We did the Evening Wildlife Tour - we saw elk and spotted some mountain goat - and the Lake Louise / Moraine Lake tour - we got some great shots of both lakes and also spotted some osprey. We really wanted to see some bear but it never happened. On the wildlife tour, as soon as the van picked us up, we drove a couple feet and we saw an elk crossing the street in town! This tour company was really good though. The tour sizes are really small and the vehicles are very comfortable. We only had 13 people on our wildlife tour and our family were the only passengers on the lake tour ... it was like our own private tour!

We also recommend going on the Banff Gondola. We were going to take the bus there but a girl at the front desk of the hotel told us that a taxi ride would be faster and would only cost us $7CAD we agreed to have her call a cab for us. Umm the cab ride ended up costing us $17CAD. It would have been cheaper to take the bus ($2CAD per person). On the way back from the gondola though, we took the bus. The gondola is $26CAD per person and a maximum of 4 people fit into a gondola. It takes you up about 5,000 to 6,000 feet. Once you get to the top, there are snack and gift shops, restrooms and restaurants. There is also a trail you can follow all the way up to an observation point. It was really cool and very fun. There are some great views of town from up there. Oh and make sure to keep your ticket stub for the gondola because you're going to need it for the ride back down - it's because some people hike all the way up there so your ticket stub ensures you get a ride back down without having to pay again. The bus to town parks right next to the gondola so you don't have to walk far. The bus accepts bills and exact change is preferred.

The hotel was really great and we loved that it was such a short walk into town. Everyone at the hotel was always friendly and really made it a great experience. The beds were comfortable and everything was really well laid out. We would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to Banff. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Liked — The rooms, the friendliness of staff and the 10 minute walk to town.
  • Disliked — Nothing at all.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BlooBunnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
70 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2008

Stayed for 3 nights in August.
Quite luxurious, well fitted out but we struck out with the room getting one of the smallest double rooms I have ever stayed in. The hotel was full so no chance of a room change.Looking at the room plan on the back of the door we had a room about half the typical size.
Pool area was very nice an excellent way to overcome the early trip jet lag.
Food was good but the hotel lacks a guest lounge/bar with the only bar being part of the restaurant. We had friends from Calgary visit and ended up going to the Banff Springs hotel for a drink.
Not sure we would stay there again after our experience, there is a lot of competition around in Banff.

  • Liked — Very comfortable
  • Disliked — way too small room
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterRUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.3 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.0 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#14 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,091 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,097 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#11 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,991 reviews
0.2 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#6 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,373 reviews
0.2 mi away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge

Property: Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
Address: 459 Banff Ave, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Banff
#3 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#4 Luxury Hotel in Banff
#5 Spa Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This fine Banff resort welcomes you to experience a restful stay amid the grand surroundings of the Canadian Rocky Mountains. This intimate boutique Banff hotel offers 99 guestrooms and suites that are spacious and thoughtfully appointed. Guests of the Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge can enjoy fine dining in the Evergreen Restaurant one of Banffs best kept secrets, or a visit to the Grotto Spa. Relax, unwind, and rejuvenate with the soothing sounds of water flowing peacefully over the rundle rock waterfall in the hot mineral pool and luxurious whirlpool. Also a great place for a meeting in Banff! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TravelUp, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Hotel Banff
Banff Delta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing