We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Rooms, value for money hotel...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
Ranked #9 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Reviewed January 3, 2014

We arrived in Banff having transferred from Lake Louise.
We were welcomed by our Concierge Craig, who was a young Auusie with a lovely welcoming style... he had only been there 2 weeks, well done Craig!
In the foyer there was complimentary Hot Chocolate and cookies for the guests, which was a lovely welcoming touch.
In our room we found a 1/2 bottle of Chanpage and some truffles to help us celebrate our honeymoon, thanks Hotel Client Services, nice touch :-)
The room was very clean, spacious and well furnished. We had a fire in the corner of our room which added to the comfortable cosy feel which was welcome Mid winter.
The bathroom, again, was of very generous proportions with more than adequate room for all toiletries including all the stuff that we girls carry with us. This was by far one of my favourite rooms we stayed in during our tour of the Canadian Rockies and about a 1/3rd of the price of Chateau Lake Louise where we had staed prior to arriving.
The hotel was a very walkable distance from Downtown Banff, being about a 600m walk which we didn't mind especially being Winter.
On the last night we dined at the Evergreem restaurant and the meal was of a really high standard with average prices.
We also had the buffet breakfast daily which sost us around $18 each.
The hotel also has small heated pool and hot tub on site which was great at the end of a cold day hiking!!
We loved the fact that the Hotel was small enough to have a very friendly feel as opposed to some of the much larger hotels which are a bit faceless.
We would defnitely return again if we were staying in Banff.

Room Tip: The rooms with the corner fireplaces are lovely in Winter, we only paid $20 to upgrade to this type...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffManagement, Manager at Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Dear Sandra,

Thank you for taking the time to share with us the great news about your stay!

It is a pleasure to know that Craig provided such great service to you! He has just joined our team, and we couldn't be more happy with the feedback we are receiving from our guests about him. We will be sure to recognize and thank him on your behalf.

Sandra, once again thank you for staying at Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge, if I can be of any further assistance please do not hesitate to contact me directly at (403)762-3307.

Sincerely,
George Palmer
Manager-On-Duty
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,223)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

593 - 599 of 1,224 reviews

Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

I was expecting big things from reviews I've read but found the hotel to be very dated and almost "dead" on the inside as there wasn't a good vibe at all.
Our "suite" was a big letdown as well. The bathroom was large but the decor was quite outdated and the room layout was terrible.
In terms of value I found it extremely overpriced and won't be returning.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pelle-Rome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Stayed here for Melissa's road race in September 2013. Hotel room was nice, grotto pool and hot tub were very nice and warm. I would stay there again but only if it was less expensive. Then again if I looked earlier.......

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PB69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for four nights just prior to Christmas, and I was happily surprised by the great experience. The room was large, with an excellent bed, and a fire place. The facilities were good, plenty of parking space, great breakfast (including very nice eggs benedict included in the buffet breakfast!), but what made it really special was the little extra things.

The staff was extremely friendly and helpful without exception. Free hot apple cider or hot chocolate available in the lobby every day. Complementary cleaning of the windshield whilst parked in the garage. Preparation of the room for the night whilst we were out for dinner. By the way, the restaurant in the hotel was excellent as well, when we had a meal there.

Would recommend this to anyone, my stay here was a great and I will come again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HobbesDeBruyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2013

Stayed at the Delta Banff for 2 nights in July and really enjoyed the stay. The staff was welcoming at check-in; and the property is very nice and clean.

The hotel is located on the main street on the edge of Banff's tourist area, but you can still comfortably walk to the main shopping area in less than 15 minutes. The hotel is extremely easy to find. They have an underground garage where you can park your car. It costs money, but for the price you can come and go as often as you want. We got a pleasant surprise when they washed our windshield overnight. They also have bicycles in the garage that you can use (I think the use was free.)

The room was impressively large with a fireplace and refrigerator. There are lots of great places to eat around and the area is pretty quiet. The staff is very friendly and professional. I would stay here again any time. It was so easy to get to the highway and all of the sights from here.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NotAlexis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2013

We stayed in a suit. The room was spacious and very clean. With a spa bath separate sitting are with log effect fire. We were only going to Banff once but went back year after year. The hotel entrance is lovely with a welcoming open fire and welcoming staff.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Combre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2013

We received a warm welcome upon arrival and were checked in very quickly. We were able to park our car in the hotel's underground carpark, which cost $12.00 per night.

We chose a Delta Premier room, which had a king size bed and fireplace. There was very liitle difference in price between the Premier room with a king and standard room with a queen size bed. Our room was lovely: very nicely furnished, with a very comfortable bed with good quality linens and a very spacious bathroom. The room was very quiet eventhough we were close to the drinks and ice machine in the corridor.

For convenience we decided to have breakfast in the hotel and it was not as expensive as we had expected, although by no means cheap. The hotel is well located on Banff Avenue, and is a 10-15 minute walk from the centre of town.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Foxymerlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.3 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.0 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#12 of 33 in Banff
2,203 reviews
0.2 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#8 of 33 in Banff
1,481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 33 in Banff
1,170 reviews
0.4 mi away
Elk + Avenue Hotel
Elk + Avenue Hotel
#10 of 33 in Banff
1,414 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#15 of 33 in Banff
2,097 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge

Address: 459 Banff Ave, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Banff
#3 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#4 Luxury Hotel in Banff
#5 Spa Hotel in Banff
Price Range: $161 - $408 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This fine Banff resort welcomes you to experience a restful stay amid the grand surroundings of the Canadian Rocky Mountains. This intimate boutique Banff hotel offers 99 guestrooms and suites that are spacious and thoughtfully appointed. Guests of the Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge can enjoy fine dining in the Evergreen Restaurant one of Banffs best kept secrets, or a visit to the Grotto Spa. Relax, unwind, and rejuvenate with the soothing sounds of water flowing peacefully over the rundle rock waterfall in the hot mineral pool and luxurious whirlpool. Also a great place for a meeting in Banff! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Hotel Banff
Banff Delta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing