We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, pricey, but then so is all of Banff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
Ranked #5 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Alberta
Level Contributor
71 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, pricey, but then so is all of Banff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

Stayed here for Melissa's road race in September 2013. Hotel room was nice, grotto pool and hot tub were very nice and warm. I would stay there again but only if it was less expensive. Then again if I looked earlier.......

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PB69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,013 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    457
    392
    112
    34
    18
See reviews for
264
496
24
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for four nights just prior to Christmas, and I was happily surprised by the great experience. The room was large, with an excellent bed, and a fire place. The facilities were good, plenty of parking space, great breakfast (including very nice eggs benedict included in the buffet breakfast!), but what made it really special was the little extra things.

The staff was extremely friendly and helpful without exception. Free hot apple cider or hot chocolate available in the lobby every day. Complementary cleaning of the windshield whilst parked in the garage. Preparation of the room for the night whilst we were out for dinner. By the way, the restaurant in the hotel was excellent as well, when we had a meal there.

Would recommend this to anyone, my stay here was a great and I will come again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HobbesDeBruyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

Stayed at the Delta Banff for 2 nights in July and really enjoyed the stay. The staff was welcoming at check-in; and the property is very nice and clean.

The hotel is located on the main street on the edge of Banff's tourist area, but you can still comfortably walk to the main shopping area in less than 15 minutes. The hotel is extremely easy to find. They have an underground garage where you can park your car. It costs money, but for the price you can come and go as often as you want. We got a pleasant surprise when they washed our windshield overnight. They also have bicycles in the garage that you can use (I think the use was free.)

The room was impressively large with a fireplace and refrigerator. There are lots of great places to eat around and the area is pretty quiet. The staff is very friendly and professional. I would stay here again any time. It was so easy to get to the highway and all of the sights from here.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NotAlexis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

We stayed in a suit. The room was spacious and very clean. With a spa bath separate sitting are with log effect fire. We were only going to Banff once but went back year after year. The hotel entrance is lovely with a welcoming open fire and welcoming staff.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Combre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
213 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

We received a warm welcome upon arrival and were checked in very quickly. We were able to park our car in the hotel's underground carpark, which cost $12.00 per night.

We chose a Delta Premier room, which had a king size bed and fireplace. There was very liitle difference in price between the Premier room with a king and standard room with a queen size bed. Our room was lovely: very nicely furnished, with a very comfortable bed with good quality linens and a very spacious bathroom. The room was very quiet eventhough we were close to the drinks and ice machine in the corridor.

For convenience we decided to have breakfast in the hotel and it was not as expensive as we had expected, although by no means cheap. The hotel is well located on Banff Avenue, and is a 10-15 minute walk from the centre of town.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Foxymerlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

We stayed here for the weekend, was à good stay. We booked two rooms, but unfortunately no connecting doors. Our corner suite was great though. We dined one evening in the hotel, which was good value for money, but nothing special. The swimming pool appeared to be the cold pool for the sauna and was too cold to use, the hot tub was great though.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FleurdeLys2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Glasgow, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

This place was beautiful. We stayed one night. The room was HUGE. The price was very reasonable. The Mountain View was to die for, gorgeous. We ate breakfast in the hotel and it was great. Yummy food and lot's to offer. Great spot for kids.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TIff L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.8 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
0.0 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#12 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,905 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#3 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
0.2 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#6 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 965 reviews
0.3 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#8 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge

Property: Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
Address: 459 Banff Ave, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B4, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Banff
#3 Luxury Hotel in Banff
#3 Family Hotel in Banff
#3 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This fine Banff resort welcomes you to experience a restful stay amid the grand surroundings of the Canadian Rocky Mountains. This intimate boutique Banff hotel offers 99 guestrooms and suites that are spacious and thoughtfully appointed. Guests of the Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge can enjoy fine dining in the Evergreen Restaurant one of Banffs best kept secrets, or a visit to the Grotto Spa. Relax, unwind, and rejuvenate with the soothing sounds of water flowing peacefully over the rundle rock waterfall in the hot mineral pool and luxurious whirlpool. Also a great place for a meeting in Banff! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Hotel Banff
Banff Delta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing