We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“You won't be disappointed” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
Ranked #5 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Western Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“You won't be disappointed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Delta Banff Royal Canadian for 5 nights in September. We booked it based upon some good reviews on Tripadvisor and we were so pleased we did. There was nothing about this hotel we didn't like. The room was large, warm and spotlessly clean and the bed was great. The location was excellent as well - a very short walk to everything Banff has to offer but still very quiet. Finally they have great staff. Tom, the concierge, couldn't do enough to help and the reception staff were very friendly.
Just to put the customer service ethic of this hotel in she perspective, they wash the windscreens of all guest cars every night. This is only a small thing but it just goes to show their attention to detail.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wulff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,073 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    474
    422
    122
    35
    20
See reviews for
279
532
28
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Dimas, California
Level Contributor
61 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

This is a lovely hotel just outside of the center of the city of Banff. The room was nice with a fireplace, comfortable bed and pillows, and updated decor. The staff is exceptional, quite friendly, and accommodating. The town is a very short drive away with generous free parking. It is a nice place to stroll and peruse the various shops.

Room Tip: We had a premier room that faced the street. I was concerned about possible traffic noise, but it w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EL52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

When we arrived there appeared to be a mix up with the booking, this was quickly resolved by Meredith in reception who then offered us a great insight to the local area, we were also given an upgrade on the room which was great. I had emailed prior to our visit to ask for a bottle of bubbly to be put in the room as it was our anniversary on the day we arrived, shortly after we checked in Tom (the concierge) arrived with a bottle on the Hotel. He then spent some time chatting and gave some great tips for things to do and places to see, his advice turned out to be really good. The service and welcome from both Meredith and Tom was first class.
We decided for the evening meal to eat in the restaurant rather than venturing out, the service from Kohei was really good and attentive. The meal was excellent and the best we had since arriving in Canada (having eaten in a variety of quality restaurants for varying prices), I was so pleased I made a point of going to the open kitchen to thank the chef.
Overall we were made to feel really welcome throughout our stay, the service was excellent and the staff really made the experience one to remember.

Room Tip: We had 202 which was a front facing double queen with gas fire
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MCS14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
81 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

I stayed at the Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge for one night. What a great little hotel. It was well appointed, the staff was attentive, the rooms (at least mine) was spacious. Not what I’d classify as a four star hotel, but certainly a high 3 star. The hotel is a little older, but very well maintained.
I didn’t try out the restaurant or lounge, but the pool and hot tub area was fantastic. Little confusion on the spa hours; the pool sign, the spa sign, and the guest directory all had different hours.
A brief walk into downtown Banff (and by brief I mean 3 minutes). I would definitely stay at this hotel again without hesitation.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BigHotelGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We stayed only one night 05/October 2013. Front desk excellent service.
Very clean and very nice room, also the beds were very comfortable. Beat The Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise were I also stayed in our trip the following night.
The breakfast was good and the service was very good approx..$34.00 for two, the only sad thing was we got charge $2.00 for opening a small jam strawberry package from the table that was worth $0.20 when we had breakfast

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter3M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We stayed at the Delta for one night during late September. The hotel was clean and modern with a restaurant, nice bar and a swimming pool/spa on site. We stayed in a premium room which exceeded our expectations. The room was spacious, clean and very well appointed. The hotel staff were all very friendly and helpful. The hotel is about a 15 minute walk away from the centre of Banff, with its many dining options, bars, gift shops, etc. Would definitely recommend and stay there again should we visit Banff in the future.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ade_Loz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We searched for a weekend getaway online for several days and decided on the Royal Canadian Lodge. The service was outstanding and Tom went way out of his way to help us several times with specific activities that we wanted to experience. The staff was extremely friendly, very helpful, and polite. The room was larger than we thought by the pictures. The bathroom was very clean and also larger than expected. We have traveled four hours on the scenic backroads and picked up some bugs on the windshield. I thought the next morning I would clean them off when I got gas, but the staff had already cleaned the windows when we were sleeping. I have never even heard of a hotel service like that, amazing. The beds were comfortable and atmosphere was great. We were about two large blocks from the beginning of the shops, so it is very convenient to downtown but just far enough away to have less ped or car traffic. We were planning on renting bikes at a local bike shop, but Tom told us that the cruiser bikes were complimentary, so we took him up and had a great time on them. We did not eat in the restaurant at the hotel because there were too many fabulous places in town. We enjoyed the pool and spa. The pool was the perfect temperature but the spa was a little too hot for my wife and I, but the rock architecture added to the mountain experience. Nice touch but simple. Overall experience was beyond expectations.

Room Tip: We were on the ground floor which was convenient, elevator works well but we don't like to wait...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brad S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.8 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
0.0 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#13 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,965 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#3 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.3 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#8 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,246 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,010 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge

Property: Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
Address: 459 Banff Ave, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B4, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Banff
#3 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#4 Luxury Hotel in Banff
#4 Spa Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This fine Banff resort welcomes you to experience a restful stay amid the grand surroundings of the Canadian Rocky Mountains. This intimate boutique Banff hotel offers 99 guestrooms and suites that are spacious and thoughtfully appointed. Guests of the Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge can enjoy fine dining in the Evergreen Restaurant one of Banffs best kept secrets, or a visit to the Grotto Spa. Relax, unwind, and rejuvenate with the soothing sounds of water flowing peacefully over the rundle rock waterfall in the hot mineral pool and luxurious whirlpool. Also a great place for a meeting in Banff! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Jetsetter so you can book your Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Hotel Banff
Banff Delta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing