We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Price, Great Room, Amazing service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
Ranked #6 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
95 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great Price, Great Room, Amazing service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

We travel to Banff often, 1st time staying at the Delta in Banff. Will return again. Amazing customer service, called to ensure our room was to our satisfaction, helped with directions and recommended pizza place, etc. The little extra effort was certainly noticed.

The room was absolutely spotless. The cleanest hotel room ever! Very well appointed, had a garden access.

The pool is small, but very nice, hot tub wonderful and steam room very nice.

For the price, well worth every penny. Highly recommend this fine establishment.

Room Tip: We had room 233, very nice and very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you so much for the great five star review!! I am thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, the room appointed to you and the service that our staff provided. We appreciate your feedback regarding our excellent customer service which included help with directions, recommendations and an extra added effort from our employees to assist. I have shared your compliments with our staff and we look forward to your next visit!

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    484
    431
    129
    36
    22
See reviews for
281
550
29
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed at the Royal Canadian Lodge for two nights, June 30 and July 1 (Canada Day). We had stayed at the Fairmont Lake Louise the night before in a suite on the Gold floor overlooking the lake so the comparison from 5 "circles" to "4" should be understandable in this review but should not diminish from the following. Throughout our 10 day trip, we received nice upgrades from hotels in Old Strathcona to Lake Louise and again at the Royal Canadian. Our room was large, had a nice fireplace (that I used when my husband set the temperature very low), and was delightfully comfortable and well appointed. The front office staff was top-notch and the concierge service as has been detailed by others kept us informed of the best approaches to the resort, suggesting the Icefields Parkway as an incredible experience, which it was! The pool area is indeed a highlight of the resort but so, also, is the restaurant. The English prime rib served on the weekends is both reasonably priced and just a "wow" in presentation and quality. The hotel is not really in the hub of activity in Banff itself but this aspect is a positive. The hotel also seemed to constantly have personnel checking to ensure that the room was well maintained, had proper toilet articles and even had chocolates delivered in the evening. Old fashioned quality, always with a smile. Nice place!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peggy72_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you for the detailed review! We are pleased to hear that you received the quality stay that you deserve while travelling and that you spent Canada Day with us! We appreciate your positive feedback regarding the room that was appointed to you, The Grotto Spa pool area and our Prime Rib special in The Evergreen Restaurant. We hope to have the opportunity of having you back to our hotel in the future!

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

We had the pleasure of staying at the Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge on Canada Day 2013. We had an awesome experience. The Delta is conveniently located on the main street in Banff and is within walking distance to most of the town. Even before we arrived we received an email from the concierge welcoming us. We were travelling from Ontario and had heard a lot in the media about the flooding and the closure of the Trans Canada highway so I emailed the concierge back asking him about the Trans Canada access. He provided me with excellent information to help us with our travels.
When we arrived we were greeted by helpful and exceptionally friendly staff and the rooms were immaculate, clean, quiet and comfortable. The pool area was lovely.
The only suggestion I have is to make improvements to the gym. The room is very small and all the equipment was in need of repair.
Overall it was a great experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rogue30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you for the outstanding five star review! I am thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you spent your Canada Day with us! We appreciate your positive feedback regarding our Concierge services, the room appointed to you and The Grotto Spa pool area. I have shared your feedback with our staff and we hope to have the pleasure of having you back to our hotel in the future!

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thompson, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

while on business took some time and went to Banff for two days.

Banff is expensive, and the Delta is higher than most (not Fairmont high, but high). i took the plunge. Worth every penny. Service is great, people are the best and rooms are really very good. The restaurant on site is good, but Delta is so central you can walk to any of your favorites (new or old).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thank you for the great five star review! We are so happy to hear that you received the quality stay that our guests deserve while travelling. I have shared your compliments with our staff and we hope to have you back to our hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

We have now stayed twice at this hotel. The executive deluxe room with fireplace and jetted tub is great. The staff was very friendly and responded promptly and courteously to any questions or concerns. As we booked for our anniversary, we received complementary early check-in and a small bottle of sparkling wine and chocolate truffles were waiting in our room. It is close enough to walk downtown or to the Keg only a couple blocks away. We loved it and will likely be back.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TRAV3L42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review! We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you are a return guest to our hotel. We appreciate the positive feedback about our staff and the small touches that helped to make your Anniversary a memorable one. We look forward to your next visit!

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon Hills, Illinois
Level Contributor
185 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

Nothing worthwhile is cheap in Banff. That's not to say that you can't find satisfactory lodging and food that is inexpensive. When we discovered how cramped our standard queen room was (our stay was eight nights), the staff at Delta helped us upgrade by figuring the best rate package that would minimize additional cost. It made a big difference in the quality of our stay as we were there when so many roads, trails and attractions were closed due to record flooding. The staff was extremely friendly and down to earth - whether the restaurant, front desk, concierge or housekeeping. Best we've experienced. The front desk was always checking up on us during the emergency weather situation. The Evergreen restaurant (casual fine dining) was nice to have on premise for breakfast and dinner when too tired to venture our or in a hurry. The decor throughout is four star - but relaxed. Standard one-bed queen rooms are very cramped (at least the one we originally had) so be aware. Our two queen bed room seemed more than double the size with more room to stretch out and two sinks in separated bathrooms to expedite washing up, bathing, etc. A real plus is the underground parking - a welcome convenience that cannot be emphasized enough. Yes, you do pay for this luxury.
Location is in short walking distance of several good restaurants - but several blocks from downtown. The latter is no problem on a nice day. Everyone is there for the outdoors and to hike, walk, etc. It's a very casual town that does appear swarming with "the beautiful crowd," but that does not mean it's an inexpensive place to visit.

Room Tip: Confirm the size of the less expensive "standard queen room." For a couple, they are cram...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Parrot434
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Thank you for the great review! We are thrilled to hear that your experience with our staff was consistently positive and that our staff were able to assist you in finding the best rates and package during your eight night stay with us. I have shared your compliments with our team and on behalf of all our staff here at the Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge, we hope to have you back to our hotel soon!

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

Great hotel, fantastic food , nice location. The hotel has a Very nice restaurant inside the hotel. The staff at this hotel was very very nice and friendly. If you have kids there's a nice pool and sauna in the basement

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Proracer45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful five star review! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! We appreciate your feedback regarding our friendly staff, convenient location and our fantastic food in The Evergreen Restaurant. I have shared your feedback with our staff and we hope to have you back to our hotel in the future!

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.3 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.8 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#11 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,893 reviews
0.0 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#13 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 791 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#8 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,040 reviews
0.3 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#5 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge

Property: Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
Address: 459 Banff Ave, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B4, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#3 Family Hotel in Banff
#4 Luxury Hotel in Banff
#4 Spa Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This fine Banff resort welcomes you to experience a restful stay amid the grand surroundings of the Canadian Rocky Mountains. This intimate boutique Banff hotel offers 99 guestrooms and suites that are spacious and thoughtfully appointed. Guests of the Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge can enjoy fine dining in the Evergreen Restaurant one of Banffs best kept secrets, or a visit to the Grotto Spa. Relax, unwind, and rejuvenate with the soothing sounds of water flowing peacefully over the rundle rock waterfall in the hot mineral pool and luxurious whirlpool. Also a great place for a meeting in Banff! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Marriott, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Hotel Banff
Banff Delta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing