We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good place, good people only reservation is confusing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
Ranked #5 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Groningen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
189 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“good place, good people only reservation is confusing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

we are traveling 14 days by car through Canada and we have made the hotel reservations before we left from Holland. We were 3 people to share in one room. For all the hotels it works well on the reservation but for Banff on check-in: there is only a reservation for 2 people but it has not been made by us but through a brooker. (not known to us). So we add dollar 25 for an additional person to it.

Next morning on check out: do you think I make for 11 hotels a reservation for 3 people and for Banff for 2. The front desk manager was so polite to take the 25$ off. Good service.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rudi O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thank you for the TripAdvisor review and for sharing your experience with your reservation booking. I apologize for the inconvenience and I am happy to hear that our Front Office Manager was able to correct this situation for you. We hope to have you back to our hotel in the future!

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,075 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    474
    423
    122
    36
    20
See reviews for
279
534
28
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

We stayed here for the first time with 2 sisters and 3 cousins. The valet and concierge were very helpful. You need to book a reservation for dinner in Banff, and he got us into an excellent restaurant called Le Beaujolais which was just perfect for our request for a fancy dinner together. The Friday night we asked for somewhere fun, but not too loud... he suggested the Banff Brewing Company - again, an absolute hit.
The hotel rooms are very large with a gas fireplace, small fridge, safe, plenty of storage space and very clean. One morning I had breakfast delivered and it was on time and hot! The next morning we took advantage of the buffet which was good, but nothing fancy.
We took advantage of the spa and were extremely pleased with service. The pool area was clean, but the hot tub on Friday was very busy so we skipped it. The water is not chlorinated - another plus.
The walk to downtown was about 5-7 minutes, but was very nice. I didn't take my vehicle out all weekend; we were able to walk to all the venues.
We choose the Delta as it is consistently great service from city to town and we were all visiting from all parts of Canada. Thanks to all at the Delta Banff Royal for such a memorable stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bonita M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thank you so much for the fantastic five star review!! We are thrilled to hear that you received the quality stay that you deserve while travelling and that our staff were able to help make your stay a memorable and comfortable one for you and your family!! We appreciate your feedback regarding your experience with in-room dining and The Grotto Spa. We look forward to your next visit!!

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
298 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

This hotel is synonymous with any other Delta Resort. It is spacious, clean and quite comfortable.
The staff here were really nice. I would think this hotel is perfect for business travellers.
It is located at a short walk from the town (or a much shorter drive).
Our room was very nice and comfortable. It had an electric fireplace. The Evergreen Restaurant serves some good food too.
I have absolutely no complaints. The only advice that I have for travellers is that if you are looking for a more rustic feel (or something that is a little more 'Banff'), try one of the resorts located on the mountains. There is a distinct charm in trying to set up a fire by yourself and sipping on some hot chocolate after the hard work rather than just switching on the electric fireplace. I think that's a part of the Banff experience.
If all you are looking for is clean, spacious and comfortable hotel, then this is the place to be.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travebuff_m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Thank you for the TripAdvisor review! I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your short stay with us and that you found our hotel to be clean, spacious and comfortable. We also appreciate your positive feedback about our location, our restaurant and our staff!! On behalf of the team here at Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge, we hope to welcome you back soon!!

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
83 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights in Banff. Well situated i the middle of the town. Staff very friendly. Chatty friendly young bar man from Toronto. Ate here twice lovely food Wine a bit on the dear side. Room big and had a gas log fire .. nice touch Reception staff were efficent and friendly also Had drinks in the bar very quiet but it was the end of season Would stay here again

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Boxtee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Thank you for the outstanding review!! We are pleased to hear that you received the quality stay that you deserve while travelling and that our staff provided you with friendly and efficient service! We appreciate your positive feedback regarding our new Lounge and we look forward to your next visit.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
80 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Was here for 2 nights on business. Room was just fine, spacious, good beds, quite comfortable. Bathrooms are big, but could use new tubs and needs to have a magnifying mirror as a convenience. 12 dollars a day for parking is quite reasonable and cleaning windshields at night is a nice touch. Restaurant menu is very good and food is great - chef knows his stuff! Prices in restaurant are reasonable considering quality, but the room rates are on the high side. Front desk staff were more than adequate. Needs a larger fitness facility, way too small. Overall a solid hotel in the Rockies.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Boris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review! I am so happy to hear that your overall stay with us met your expectations and that you enjoyed our menu at The Evergreen Restaurant. I have forwarded your compliments to our Chef and we hope to have you back to our hotel in the near future!

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

My family and I have stayed here numerous times over the past 10 years and we've always found the hotel clean and the service excellent. The location is excellent and provides easy access to Banff Avenue. The breakfast service and buffet is also quite exceptional. Overall a good value.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeff_Larsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank you for the excellent TripAdvisor review! I am so happy to hear that you are a return guest and that our staff have provided you with the great service you deserve while travelling to Banff over the past ten years! I have shared your feedback with our Department Heads and we look forward to having you back to our hotel during your next trip to Banff!

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Decided to bring my significant other here for a birthday getaway. Problems were experienced right away when they set us up in their luxury suite only to see that someone else's name was on the free gift on the bed. We went back down to let them know that this didn't seem to be our room where they told us we were correct. We were then put in a room that was barely the size of a queen bed for which they were charging an outrageous price for. We were then upgraded to a larger room which was just a standard hotel room. The rest of the stay was fine as we didn't have to deal with anyone else at the front desk. However, after the weekend I checked my credit card and there was over $1,000 worth of charges on it and I had already prepaid for the rooms using another website. Since i'm still dealing with the ridiculous charges I can't write about how it is dealt with, but it should have never been an issue in the first place.

If you want an overpriced, poorly managed hotel to stay at in Banff then this is the one for you. If not, I'm sure the Best Western would blow this out of the water.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Quinn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank you for your detailed review. We are very concerned by your feedback as your experience was in no way reflective of the exemplary standards of service, cleanliness and overall quality that guests should expect from our hotel. I wish to thank you for bringing this matter to our attention and for allowing us the opportunity to correct this issue personally by telephone. Our General Manager and Executive Team are aware of your feedback and we are in the process of addressing each issue that you have reported. We will ensure that your experience is not repeated and appreciate your comments.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.8 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
0.0 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#13 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,968 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.3 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#8 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,246 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge

Property: Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
Address: 459 Banff Ave, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B4, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Banff
#3 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#4 Luxury Hotel in Banff
#4 Spa Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This fine Banff resort welcomes you to experience a restful stay amid the grand surroundings of the Canadian Rocky Mountains. This intimate boutique Banff hotel offers 99 guestrooms and suites that are spacious and thoughtfully appointed. Guests of the Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge can enjoy fine dining in the Evergreen Restaurant one of Banffs best kept secrets, or a visit to the Grotto Spa. Relax, unwind, and rejuvenate with the soothing sounds of water flowing peacefully over the rundle rock waterfall in the hot mineral pool and luxurious whirlpool. Also a great place for a meeting in Banff! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Marriott, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Hotel Banff
Banff Delta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing