We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Quiet, Comfortable and enjoyable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
Ranked #5 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Airdrie, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Quiet, Comfortable and enjoyable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We stayed 2 nights during spring break. The room was clean, quiet and the beds were extremely comfortable. We slept soundly each night. The pool, hot tub and steam room were an additional perk we enjoyed after hiking, tubing or just wandering around town. A neat extra that the hotel provides is cleaning of windshields in the parking garage before you go out every morning...it did happen. We drove through lots of slush the one day and the next morning... windshield was spotless.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Danielle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you for the positive feedback. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your two night stay with us and took advantage of the pool, hot tub and steam room after each day of hiking, tubing and exploring Banff. We look forward to your next visit to our hotel!

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,013 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    457
    392
    112
    34
    18
See reviews for
264
496
24
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Oswego, Oregon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Last minute booking for a last minute ski trip in March, wasn't sure what to expect went in with low expectations. It was super great, our room was large, had a gas fireplace, comfy beds, a large bathroom area with two separate sink areas with nice amenities..ie. Robe service. We didn't eat there, since we were within walking distance of a lot of great restaurants, but it is available. The parking garage was nice and warm, which is great for winters and getting ready to go ski, your skis are boots are warm if you leave them in the car.
Also I left a drawer full of clothes there and they quickly located them and sent them back!
I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicole W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review!! It is great to hear that we were able to help you enjoy your last minute ski trip to Banff. I have forwarded your comments to our staff and we look forward to your next visit!

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

I made two separate reservations because I was planning on staying only one night originally, but added a second night by phone. This seemed to confuse the staff over and over again with a lot of unnecessary additional paperwork.
In room service, breakfast, way too expensive and they forgot to bring the toast... (for breakfast!) They were brought up right away after I phoned, but was a bit late and no discount offered for their mistake.
Great underground heated parking, lots of room. Always found a spot near the elevator. They should have express checkout, there was quite a line up at the front desk as most guests were checking out at the same time.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Calyponte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you for your valuable feedback! It is with reviews like yours that allow us the opportunity to improve the workings of our hotel and increase guest satisfaction. I am pleased to inform you that we are currently implementing an Express Check-out option for our guests. We hope to have you back to our hotel in the future!

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

This was our 2nd stay at the Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge and as the title states, close to perfection but then..... Staff is kind and accommodating and the rooms are clean, well laid-out and spacious. Two complaints....

First, I was awoken around 2AM when the in-room smoke detector went off and stayed on for about 1/2 an hour. This continued intermittently throughout the night. Needless to say, wasn't a great night's sleep. I contacted the front desk in the morning to report the problem and they said that they would have someone from maintenance check it out. After viewing the video that I took, the maintenance person said that it was either faulty wiring or that the smoke detectors needed to be dusted. Turns out, his initial diagnosis was correct, it was faulty wiring that kept me up all night.

Secondly, the wireless internet is extremely slow and reception is spotty at best and not available in all areas on the hotel. For a hotel chain that caters to the business crowd and advertises "InternetXL" along the lines of 20x faster than household Internet, the wireless service at this hotel is nothing more than InternetXXXXS.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BradChambers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 nights in march, had a fairly decent rate through Expedia, rooms were big and we had a room with a fireplace, comfy bed and large bathrooms. The only fault is that the hotel offered us a $25 restaurant credit which was for dinner only, so although we ate breakfast everyday here, he couldn't use the credit. It is a short 10 minute walk to the town which was ok, maybe not good if you had young children.

The pool and spa was amazing.
The best thing about this hotel was the concierge service, he was helpful and actually saved us money with the public transport options, rather ban trying to get us to purchase expensive tours. Also the safe in our room broke and the concierge had this sorted and fixed within a matter of hours so very impressed.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you so much for the five star review!! We are so pleased to hear that our staff were able to provide you with valuable information regarding transportation and assist you with the safe in your room. It is great to hear that you enjoyed stay with us, our facilities and our services. We look forward to your next visit!

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Booked online via the Delta hotel website. Make sure you use the web specials link and compare the rates with another website, eg booking.com noticed they had a special room rate offered which was a couple of dollars less than the Delta site. It's worth phoning Delta directly and getting them to price match, they also offer a further discount. I often stay at Delta hotels, so joined the Delta Priviledge, and found it had rewards like a surprise room up grade and chocolates for this visit!

Staff were very helpful, food was great. Hard to find any negatives. An easy walk to the town centre and restaurants. Will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: The views from some of the rooms are sadly not scenic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Audrey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you for the five star review! It is great to hear that you have joined Delta Privilege and are enjoying the benefits of being a member. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our hospitality and your experience at the Evergreen Restaurant. We look forward to having you back to our hotel.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Great Hotel! Good location & a very comfortable stay. Would definitely go back to the Delta! The spa is fabulous & very relaxing. I would highly recommend this hotel. The food is fabulous, especially the tomatoe soup.Thanks Delta for a great wknd!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GailDon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you for the great review and recommendation! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and found some time to indulge and relax in our spa. I have to agree with your comments regarding our Signature Fire Roasted Tomato soup - it is delicious!! Thanks again, we look forward to your next visit!!

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.8 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
0.0 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#12 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,905 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#3 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
0.2 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#6 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 967 reviews
0.3 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#8 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge

Property: Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
Address: 459 Banff Ave, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B4, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Banff
#3 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#3 Family Hotel in Banff
#3 Spa Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This fine Banff resort welcomes you to experience a restful stay amid the grand surroundings of the Canadian Rocky Mountains. This intimate boutique Banff hotel offers 99 guestrooms and suites that are spacious and thoughtfully appointed. Guests of the Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge can enjoy fine dining in the Evergreen Restaurant one of Banffs best kept secrets, or a visit to the Grotto Spa. Relax, unwind, and rejuvenate with the soothing sounds of water flowing peacefully over the rundle rock waterfall in the hot mineral pool and luxurious whirlpool. Also a great place for a meeting in Banff! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Hotel Banff
Banff Delta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing