We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
Ranked #5 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 nights in march, had a fairly decent rate through Expedia, rooms were big and we had a room with a fireplace, comfy bed and large bathrooms. The only fault is that the hotel offered us a $25 restaurant credit which was for dinner only, so although we ate breakfast everyday here, he couldn't use the credit. It is a short 10 minute walk to the town which was ok, maybe not good if you had young children.

The pool and spa was amazing.
The best thing about this hotel was the concierge service, he was helpful and actually saved us money with the public transport options, rather ban trying to get us to purchase expensive tours. Also the safe in our room broke and the concierge had this sorted and fixed within a matter of hours so very impressed.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you so much for the five star review!! We are so pleased to hear that our staff were able to provide you with valuable information regarding transportation and assist you with the safe in your room. It is great to hear that you enjoyed stay with us, our facilities and our services. We look forward to your next visit!

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,013 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    457
    392
    112
    34
    18
See reviews for
264
496
24
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Booked online via the Delta hotel website. Make sure you use the web specials link and compare the rates with another website, eg booking.com noticed they had a special room rate offered which was a couple of dollars less than the Delta site. It's worth phoning Delta directly and getting them to price match, they also offer a further discount. I often stay at Delta hotels, so joined the Delta Priviledge, and found it had rewards like a surprise room up grade and chocolates for this visit!

Staff were very helpful, food was great. Hard to find any negatives. An easy walk to the town centre and restaurants. Will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: The views from some of the rooms are sadly not scenic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Audrey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you for the five star review! It is great to hear that you have joined Delta Privilege and are enjoying the benefits of being a member. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our hospitality and your experience at the Evergreen Restaurant. We look forward to having you back to our hotel.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Great Hotel! Good location & a very comfortable stay. Would definitely go back to the Delta! The spa is fabulous & very relaxing. I would highly recommend this hotel. The food is fabulous, especially the tomatoe soup.Thanks Delta for a great wknd!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GailDon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you for the great review and recommendation! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and found some time to indulge and relax in our spa. I have to agree with your comments regarding our Signature Fire Roasted Tomato soup - it is delicious!! Thanks again, we look forward to your next visit!!

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
70 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

We Came to Banff on a Ski Trip to Louise Yeaterday. The skiing was good. We come back in to Banff and get to the Hotel. The Room was like Sauna when we entered. We had to open the window and shut the fire off just to get the air in room balanced. Bathroom is good as usual. Like the Fact the Toilet has its own room so the Stench stays in one plays. Last night when we went to bed.... It took 5 minuites to loosen up the covers. Message to the Maids.... Don't make the bed Covers so tight. That's the one area that can be improved on. All in all. It was a good stay.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mikeman222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you for your review! We are delighted that you chose to stay with us during your ski trip to Lake Louise and that you enjoyed your time with us. It is wonderful to hear that you were satisfied with the layout of our rooms. I have forwarded your comments to our Housekeeping Department regarding the bed covers and the temperature of the room. We hope to have you back to our hotel in the future.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elmira, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Beautiful hotel
Hospitality amazing
Above and beyond helpfulness
Great food
Reasonably priced
Fabulous location
Pool & hot tub were great

The staff were incredibly helpful. Everything really well organized for getting to and from skiing. Very comfortable beds. Short walk to downtown area. Beautiful views from right outside hotel. Convenient ski drop off and lockup. Knowledgable staff were very helpful in planning excursions & activities as well as dining options.

Room Tip: Nice addition to have a fireplace in the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thank you for the excellent review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay here and that we helped to make your ski trip a memorable one. I have shared your comments with our staff and we hope to have you back in our hotel for your next ski trip to Banff.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

The staff greeted us with genuine warmth in their smiles. We were celebrating a birthday, and the staff arranged for hot chocolate to be delivered to the room as a surprise welcome gift. It really set the stage for the stay. Every interaction with the fine people working there was a joy!
Highly recommend in the basis of the quality of the people working there; let alone the nice rooms , good restaurant etc.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank K G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thank you for the great recommendation! It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and the hospitality you recieved from our staff. I have shared your comments with our staff and we hope to have the pleasure of having you back in our hotel again soon.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

The Delta Banff is a great bang for your buck. Between fireplaces in the room, convenient parking, and a beautiful pool and spa area you will have everything that you need.

Service - the staff were very friendly and helpful. If you are a Delta Privileges member, they had trouble extending our checkout time so they needed to cut new cards but were very helpful with that.

Parking - conveniently located in the lower part of the hotel with access to elevators that will take you straight to your room. If you upgrade your room parking is included, otherwise there is an additional cost.

Amenities - the pool is beautiful. It is smaller but it was never crowded so it did not feel cramped. The hot tub and steam room were always extremely clean and comfortable. There is access to free Internet in the business centre and all free access to Internet in your hotel room!!

Sleep quality - amazing!! Always comfortable and spacious!! Lots of space t spread out!

Location - a quick walk to downtown Banff. The is also a bus stop out front that shuttles your around town and to the ski hill!!

Room Tip: Choose a room on the third floor. All of the third floor rooms have fire places, large bathrooms and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank santinaelizabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful feedback. We are truly pleased to hear that you received a comfortable, quality stay with us and enjoyed our facilities, services and hospitality. I will be sure to forward your comments to our staff. We look forward to having you back to our hotel.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.8 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
0.0 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#12 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,906 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#3 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
0.2 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#6 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 968 reviews
0.3 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#8 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge

Property: Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
Address: 459 Banff Ave, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B4, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Banff
#3 Spa Hotel in Banff
#3 Luxury Hotel in Banff
#3 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This fine Banff resort welcomes you to experience a restful stay amid the grand surroundings of the Canadian Rocky Mountains. This intimate boutique Banff hotel offers 99 guestrooms and suites that are spacious and thoughtfully appointed. Guests of the Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge can enjoy fine dining in the Evergreen Restaurant one of Banffs best kept secrets, or a visit to the Grotto Spa. Relax, unwind, and rejuvenate with the soothing sounds of water flowing peacefully over the rundle rock waterfall in the hot mineral pool and luxurious whirlpool. Also a great place for a meeting in Banff! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Hotel Banff
Banff Delta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing