We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing bad to say!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
Ranked #5 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Nothing bad to say!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

My family of 5 stayed one night, Dec 27.
Super polite staff, super clean, nice restaurant, with pool, hot tub, steam room, weight room. No suites with seperate bedrooms available, but our room was spacious, with 2 queens. Location is on main rd, but several blocks from shopping.
We would consider it again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bman67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Thank you for your great review. We are pleased to hear that you received a quality stay with us and enjoyed our services, facilites and our staff. We hope to have you back soon.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,013 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    457
    392
    112
    34
    18
See reviews for
264
496
24
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

From the moment we arrived until our departure 6 days later we were looked after by all the very friendly staff
The fire in the lobby was our fav spot enjoying a few late night ports
Rooms were spacious and kept well by cleaning staff
We enjoyed several meals in the evergreen resturant food was very good and staff attentive
The front desk staff always had a welcome for you on your return from sightseeing and were keen to know what and where you had been
The concierge was excellent especially Aaron full of knowledge of the area and keen to help you plan your day
Would stay again without a doubt

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Hamealdame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful review and for recognizing one of our Concierge employees! I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that all of our staff helped to make it a comforting and memorable stay. We look forward to your next visit!

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

As with all delta hotels the service is great, however it would have been nice if we were told at booking that the hotel is undergoing renovations as the loud construction noise is intrusive at 8am. While we understand that the workers need to perform their work, it would have been nice to be pre-warned. The jackhammer noise is loud and resonates through the hotel but is intermittent.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank D J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Thank you for providing this review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the services we offer at our hotel. I apologize for the inconvience of the renovations taking place during your stay with us. We do our best to inform each guest of the renovations upon booking and it is disappointing to hear that this was not your experience. We hope to have the privilege of having you back to our hotel.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowmanville, Ontario
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Delta Banff from December 4 to 8. Upon arrival, we were told that our room would be upgraded to one with a fireplace. It was a lovely room. The staff here are extremely helpful and go out of their way to accommodate any request. In particular, Joni and her front of house staff looked after us well. We ate breakfast each morning and dinner one evening at the Evergreen Restaurant in the hotel. Food was delicious and served by a friendly and knowledgeable staff. We would definitely recommend this hotel and the restaurant to anyone. We really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gaddly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Thank you so much for the great review and recommendation! I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and received excellent service from our staff. I have shared your comments with our Executive Chef and our Front Office Manager. We hope to have you back to our hotel in the future!

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Just had to write and share what outstanding service I received at the Delta Banff on my recent visit to this property. From the moment I arrived at the door, and front desk (ridiculously early to expect a room...!) I was treated like a VIP. From Carla at the Front Desk to Aaron at the Door who convinced me that Sunshine was the place to ski that day (vs Lake Louise) I could do no wrong. And, what a ski day it was! Nothing but powder and fresh tracks all day there.

Upon late day return, I soaked in the hot tub and freshened up for some evening business in town. On the way out, I asked Luke for a recommendation on a restaurant in town, and he strongly recommended The Bison....I had suggested I wanted a 'special' steak house, and he was bang-on. My first experience with bison....a rib-eye to be exact, will not be my last.....what a restaurant, That place is worth the trip to Banff alone. Another review? Maybe.

Back to the Delta. It is not over-the-top fancy, it is simple and efficient and the rooms are perfect, they have everything you need. Plus, more importantly, I feel it is priced (sub-$200/night) fairly.

This was my second time staying here an I will go back again next year. .

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mgreene787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Thank you so much for the great review! It is wonderful to hear that you are a returning guest to our hotel and that you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciat the kind words about the level of service you received and for recognizing a few of our Front Office employees. I have shared your comments with our Front Office Manager to ensure they receive proper recognition. We look forward to your next visit with us!

Kinds Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albert, Alberta
Level Contributor
60 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

On a recent Thanksgiving weekend trip to Banff, I stayed at this hotel because I wanted something that was within walking distance to the main shops and restaurants. Parking in Banff can be nightmare, so it was lovely to be able to stroll along the main street with the mountains in the background. Banff is absolutely beautiful, but can get very crowded, especially on holiday weekends. My room was on the main floor at the back of the hotel, and was quiet and well-appointed. There was a fireplace, table and seating suitable fo one person - for two it would have been awkward. The bathroom was very large and nicely decorated, lots of fluffy towels and well lit (one of my pet peeves about hotel bathrooms!). My main issues are with the cost of the meals in the hotel restaurant and through room service, and all the add-on charges that these days seem silly (cost of using the room land-line, room service charges, etc.) The valet parking was $12.00 per day, but I was glad to have it since the underground garage was tricky to get in and out of. This is a good hotel, just be prepared that you will add a number of charges on top of the room rate when you reserve.

Room Tip: If you have a room facing the main street, it could be noisy because this is the main street into/ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank champagnegirl62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
64 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

A bit of a curate's egg of a hotel, with some excellent points and some pretty poor ones. We were there during renovations in October 2012, but the building work did not affect us too much (though like others have complained, there was no advance warning). Our room was nice: well decorated, comfortable, with a good bathroom and amenities. It felt quite luxurious but was small, and did have a terrible view over some down-at-heel housing next door with junk-strewn garden. Not the hotel's fault I guess. Nice touches included iced water in the lobby and morning newspapers, and wifi was free with a voucher from reception. Staff varied in both attitude and competence. We had a disastrous dinner in the fine dining restaurant Evergreen: not the food, but the service and organisation. The hotel manager admitted fault and made a deduction from our restaurant bill. The hotel is on a very busy main road, so having a window open was not possible. It is a healthy 10-minute walk into town, but as others have noted, that could be a good thing during really busy periods when the town would be a lot busier and noisier than during my visit. Overall a good hotel but not one to rave about or dream of returning.

Room Tip: Try not to overlook the run-down housing to the side or main road to the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scotsmantravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.8 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
0.0 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#12 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,907 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#3 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
0.2 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#6 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 969 reviews
0.3 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#8 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge

Property: Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
Address: 459 Banff Ave, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B4, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Banff
#3 Family Hotel in Banff
#3 Spa Hotel in Banff
#3 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This fine Banff resort welcomes you to experience a restful stay amid the grand surroundings of the Canadian Rocky Mountains. This intimate boutique Banff hotel offers 99 guestrooms and suites that are spacious and thoughtfully appointed. Guests of the Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge can enjoy fine dining in the Evergreen Restaurant one of Banffs best kept secrets, or a visit to the Grotto Spa. Relax, unwind, and rejuvenate with the soothing sounds of water flowing peacefully over the rundle rock waterfall in the hot mineral pool and luxurious whirlpool. Also a great place for a meeting in Banff! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Hotel Banff
Banff Delta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing