We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Delta Hotels Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
Nearby Hotels
$113
$102
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Banff Aspen Lodge(Banff)(Great Value!)
$163
$117
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$159
$102
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rundlestone Lodge(Banff)(Great Value!)
$78
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$157
$85
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$100
$93
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$250
$155
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Bow View Lodge(Banff)(Great Value!)
$78
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Best Western Plus Siding 29 Lodge(Banff)(Great Value!)
$106
$97
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$62
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,251)
Filter reviews
1,251 results
Traveler rating
535
498
149
43
26
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
535
498
149
43
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsevergreen restaurantgrotto spagas fireplacelarge bathroomunderground parkingmineral poolten minute walkjunior suitepremier roomhot tubsteam roomvery nice hotelcomfortable bedsshops and restaurantsbuffet breakfastking bedthe main street
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
768 - 773 of 1,251 reviews
Reviewed December 1, 2012

On a recent Thanksgiving weekend trip to Banff, I stayed at this hotel because I wanted something that was within walking distance to the main shops and restaurants. Parking in Banff can be nightmare, so it was lovely to be able to stroll along the main street with the mountains in the background. Banff is absolutely beautiful, but can get very crowded, especially on holiday weekends. My room was on the main floor at the back of the hotel, and was quiet and well-appointed. There was a fireplace, table and seating suitable fo one person - for two it would have been awkward. The bathroom was very large and nicely decorated, lots of fluffy towels and well lit (one of my pet peeves about hotel bathrooms!). My main issues are with the cost of the meals in the hotel restaurant and through room service, and all the add-on charges that these days seem silly (cost of using the room land-line, room service charges, etc.) The valet parking was $12.00 per day, but I was glad to have it since the underground garage was tricky to get in and out of. This is a good hotel, just be prepared that you will add a number of charges on top of the room rate when you reserve.

Room Tip: If you have a room facing the main street, it could be noisy because this is the main street into/out of Banff, and has heavy traffic.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank champagnegirl62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

A bit of a curate's egg of a hotel, with some excellent points and some pretty poor ones. We were there during renovations in October 2012, but the building work did not affect us too much (though like others have complained, there was no advance warning). Our room was nice: well decorated, comfortable, with a good bathroom and amenities. It felt quite luxurious but was small, and did have a terrible view over some down-at-heel housing next door with junk-strewn garden. Not the hotel's fault I guess. Nice touches included iced water in the lobby and morning newspapers, and wifi was free with a voucher from reception. Staff varied in both attitude and competence. We had a disastrous dinner in the fine dining restaurant Evergreen: not the food, but the service and organisation. The hotel manager admitted fault and made a deduction from our restaurant bill. The hotel is on a very busy main road, so having a window open was not possible. It is a healthy 10-minute walk into town, but as others have noted, that could be a good thing during really busy periods when the town would be a lot busier and noisier than during my visit. Overall a good hotel but not one to rave about or dream of returning.

Room Tip: Try not to overlook the run-down housing to the side or main road to the front.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank scotsmantravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

We go to Banff early November, as it is quiet and peaceful then. I belong to the Delta loyalty program (free) and found their customer service amazing. We stayed in a Premier room with the fireplace with a king size bed. The room was spacious, with one sitting chair (an additional one would have been perfect) a desk and chair, a large screen flat tv and small fridge. Our view was of Cascade mountain which was amazing. The bathroom was very big with a large closet (containing a safe). The bathroom was separated: bath/shower and toilet in one room, sinks/make up area with coffee maker and tea kettle in another. Rooms were clean. Every night we had turn down service (loyalty benefit). The staff here are very friendly and helpful. Their customer service is amazing. Usually at night there is a fire going in the lobby fireplace with tea and fresh apples available. This hotel is about a 4 block walk from Main Street Banff, a nice walk in good weather. The restaurant is nice with good food although a bit pricey. There is underground parking ($12.00 daily) - they clean your windshield which is nice. I did not try the spa or pool, so cannot comment. We have stayed at most of the higher end hotels in Banff, but they do not make you feel Ike you are appreciated like the Delta does.

Room Tip: Join their loyalty program for free - there are good benefits if you do
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChinookCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffManagement, General Manager at Delta Hotels Banff Royal Canadian Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2012

Dear Guest;

Thank you for your positive review. I am delighted to learn of your experience while staying with us and that find our hotel to be comfortable with very helpful and friendly staff.
Your feedback has been shared and is appreciated. We hope you return soon!

kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Have stayed at this hotel multiple times in Banff. Hotel is not cheap, but none of them in Banff are. Hotel is within walking distance of downtown, which is nice. It is a little removed from the craziness that is downtown Banff, also nice in my opinion. I have continuously received exceptional service from the staff at this hotel. On one trip we had indicated we were there for our anniversary, and we had champagne and treats in our room waiting for us, no charge. I have found it to have great value for the price when taking Banff into consideration. All hotel rates in Banff will always be expensive. The restaurant in the hotel is also of good quality, and worth visiting. I will visit this hotel again regularly when in Banff. The rooms here are always clean and are of good quality as well. I recommend it!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Justin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffManagement, General Manager at Delta Hotels Banff Royal Canadian Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2012

Dear Guest;
Thank you for taking the time to provide such positive feedback and to mention the Evergreen restaurant . Your review has been shared and is appreciated.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back!

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We were very excited to spend the evening in Banff at the Delta. When booking, we thought the pictures on the website looked nice and the Delta name usually lives up to higher standards - not to mention that we paid a premium to stay here.

The outside of the hotel looks very modern and inviting but nothing inside this hotel screams 4-stars. Our stay started off poorly as the parking garage was full and difficult to maneuver. After driving around the block a few times we parked in the loading zone and informed the front desk of our problem. They offered to valet the car, we were satisfied with the resolution to this issue and happy to see that we weren't charged for parking. ** Note they charge for parking, which is uncommon for the majority of hotels that do not charge in this area.

The room was tiny and outdated, however clean. The hot tub look very inviting with the lovely stone work but was uncomfortably hot. We lasted about 5 min, but perhaps this was our intolerance.

I would like to point out that the staff were incredibly friendly. I score this so low as our expectations on value were not even close to being met. I don't recommend staying here if you're looking for a true 4 or 4+ star experience in Banff.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelar0und_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffManagement, General Manager at Delta Hotels Banff Royal Canadian Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2012

Dear Guest;
We appreciate your feedback and apologize for the lack of space in our underground parking as a few parking stalls are being taken by constrcution materials for the existing renovations.
Please accept our sincere apologies in this regard.
I would welcome the opportunity to hear from you directly as we try to address your specific concerns among our own employees. If you wish to contact us, please call the hotel directly (1-800-661-1379) and ask to be directed to the General Manager

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews