We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“great value, location, staff, and restuarant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Banff Park Lodge Resort and Conference Centre

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Banff Park Lodge Resort and Conference Centre
Ranked #10 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
coskier99
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“great value, location, staff, and restuarant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2010

for the price it's a very good choice in banff. the building is not new but well maintained and clean. if you are looking for super high end and want to pay for it, then I'd recommend you go elsewhere. again, well maintained with an awesome pool area and dinner restaurant. the fitness area is lacking, probably the minimum to get it listed as an ammenity but if you ski all day then who cares. the pool, hot tub, plunge pool, and steam room are much more appreciated and needed on a ski vacation. location can not be beat, in the heart of downtown without being right on the main avenue with it's accompanying noise. literally a short block off main street with a safeway grocery store and big liquor store just around the corner. the staff was super, everyone seemed pleasant and helpful. I never had breakfast but did eat dinner in the main floor restaurant, it was pretty awesome and the service was great. overall an older property but priced accordingly and competitively, furnishings are a bit dated but I honestly didn't care at all. the place was clean and had what I needed, the ammenities were also just what I needed, the location is superb, staff smiles and helps you, restaurant fantastic, and the ski busses stop in front of the hotel. overall a great choice in the amazing town of banff.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 102010i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,522 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    543
    616
    249
    77
    37
See reviews for
428
600
56
165
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2010

I was put up at this hotel by the company that I was working with, and it was a big waste of their money.
You pay to get into the park, you pay WAY too much to stay at the hotel, and then you have to pay for parking AND wireless internet? I can get all that and an OK breakfast at the Holiday Inn! And Holiday Inns are more up-to-date.
The decor of the rooms were clearly a poor attempt to update a vintage hotel. Some granite here, a little paint there couldn't hide that this place needed a real reno.

For some reason I was put into the room with the jacuzzi-so I started to fill it up when I found a freaking pubic hair in the tub. DISGUSTING!

For $220 a night the downtown Banff location was NOT worth it.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HotDams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
207 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2010

Stayed here a night because the weather turned bad and we were travelling by motorcycle. The underground parking was nice. Room was adequate with a very comfortable bed. Hot tub and steam room warmed up our bones.

Biggest complaint is that we probably paid more than we should have after checking rates on Expedia upon returning home.

The other complaint is that the Internet is not free. The sign outside would have you believe it is but they charge. Phone calls are charged an access fee. I hate so called full service places that nickel and dime you to death for things the lesser places give you for free.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WingNutt2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwood Park, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2010

We chose this hotel for a one night stop over in Banff with our young son as it is perfectly located for shopping and leaving your car behind while you explore town. I also found a great deal on expedia so went with it. I have no complaints for this hotel - at full price I would have found it overpriced but at the discounted rate, it was exactly what we paid for. The rooms are dated and basic but have very comfy beds and it was decently quiet. Don't expect 4 or 5 star here but it was nice enough especially if you can snag a deal.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brekat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dmcmccm
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2010

This hotel is located centrally in Banff. It could use a bit of updating, but it is very clean and has a nice pool for the kids. It is cleaner and has newer beds/bedding than I expected it would. The review indicated that it had a fitness centre, but really, it doesn't. It was definitely an afterthought and is in a room the size of a closet with outdated equip. No matter, Banff is the perfect place to go for a morning run!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dmcmccm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2010

If you cant stay at the Banff Springs Hotel because there full then pick the Banff Park Lodge. The rooms are huge, clean, excellent guest services, and the pool area is very nice, with a few work out machines. It is only one block from the town. The buffet in the hotel is excellent and a good price. Lots to choose from even sea food. If you do stay there get a room at the back as it is much quieter if you sleep with your windows open as we do. Also remember you will here the train but to me it makes a nice sound at night.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank auntieskids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tumut, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2010

Stayed three nights in total, one before Lake Louise and Jasper and two on our return. Not as showy as the Fairly Fancey etc. but much better value for money and not nearly as pompous. We will know where to head if we get another chance to travel this way.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Moonlighter92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
1.4 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
0.6 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#13 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,968 reviews
0.9 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#8 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,247 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 753 reviews
0.6 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banff Park Lodge Resort and Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Park Lodge Resort and Conference Centre

Property: Banff Park Lodge Resort and Conference Centre
Address: 222 Lynx Street, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1K5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
#6 Business Hotel in Banff
#7 Family Hotel in Banff
#9 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff Park Lodge Resort and Conference Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Banff Park Lodge is the only 4 Star Canada Select full-service resort hotel and conference centre with 211 rooms right in downtown Banff, in the heart of historical Banff National Park. We offer 2 restaurants, lobby bar, indoor pool with Jacuzzi and steam room, exercise facilities, self-serve laundry facilities, indoor parking and we offer Wi-Fi throughout the hotel.Our 211 spacious guest rooms are tastefully decorated and include coffee makers, in-room safe, convenience refrigerator, cable television, clock radio, direct dial telephone and voice mail system, a table with two chairs, large dresser, ample closet space, hair dryer, iron & board, individual climate control and a private balcony or patio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com and Odigeo so you can book your Banff Park Lodge Resort and Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Park Lodge Resort And Conference Centre Hotel Banff
Banff Park Hotel
Banff Park Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing