We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Banff Park Lodge Resort and Conference Centre
Ranked #9 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Canada
2 reviews
“blah”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2009

This isn't a bad hotel - just not great.

positives: location is central with walking distance to everything in town, the room had a balcony, newer furniture, price is very reasonable, the bell boy was nice.

negatives: room was not very clean, the lights buzzed and the light cover held at least 50 dead flies, the balcony (although nice) had no furniture, I could see into other guest rooms from my window and I assume the same for them, there was a large gap between the room door and the floor so I heard everything that went on in the hallway (including my neighbours kids screaming and running up and down the hallway and the cleaning staff vacuuming), big old tube TV' made me feel like I was staying at the motel 6.
A bit annoying also - this hotel is very long and narrow and on my way back I had to walk everyday past my hotel room 300m to the front entrance of the hotel and then spend five minutes winding my way through the hotel to get back to my room.

I have taking many trips to Banff and in truth, this hotel has none of the Banff charm that I have come to expect.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rpsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,639 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    598
    651
    268
    82
    40
See reviews for
458
649
62
183
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
victoria bc
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2009

Our visits to the BPL have never disappointed. From dealing with Olga in reservations to Joanne in housekeeping, everything met our expectations. This is the second time we have spent a 50th birthday in Banff and there is no better place to make your home-base.
The rooms are comfortable and the views are excellent. Food and drink rank right up there and the spa is great.
The only thing I would suggest is that if you are on a roadtrip, bring your chairs as there are none on the balconies!
See you next summer!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nuckfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carstairs, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2009

Our room was well appointed with a comfortable mattress. The bathroom had granite countertops and a jacuzzi tub (which was heavenly). The rate was very reasonable however, the Wireless Internet was an additional charge as was the parking. It was $20 for both not terrible, but it came as a surprise to me. I liked that the hotel is only a block off of Banff Ave (the main street) and had easy access to everything. I think I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jfuji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2009

Stayed there as part of a wedding party. The front desk was rude and completely unhelpful. They screwed up my room reservations, and instead of apologizing for the error, blamed me and lectured me about their cancellation policy. Made me late for the rehearsal dinner. Hotel was clean, and the rest of the staff was friendly, but was disgusted with the front desk. (I had a couple run-ins with them while I was there). Would never stay there again, based solely on the front desk staff/management.

  • Stayed July 2009
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CalgaryAddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aflierjans, Manager at Banff Park Lodge Resort and Conference Centre, responded to this review, August 6, 2009
It is always easy to hide behind a screen name when you have a complaint, disallowing a solution by the management.

However, we think that we know this person as only one person had an opinion like this two weekends ago with the wedding.

The foul language used by her at the front desk when we informed her that we could NOT give out room numbers of other guest (attending the wedding) for privacy reasons was still ringing in our ears days later.

The bride's mother apologized to us for her language.

And for screwing up the reservation I can only say that we send out e-mail confirmations with all the booking details almost immediately (when provided with an e-mail address) and we did in this case as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2009

We stayed one night originally but changed that to 3 when we saw the room . The front desk staff were super ! Felix told us the regular rate was $179.00 but would let us have it for $139.That was then lowered to $99.oo when we took 3 nights and also the $8.50 indoor parking fee was waived. Katrin at front desk was also most helpful and these 2 young people will one day make their mark in the accomodation industry. The room was sumptuous, 2 sinks so one could wash hands,etc while the other was using the bathroom. Water pressure was super. There was a coffee maker, hair dryer, clothesline in tub,......Everything you could ask for. The room faced the side street and was so quiet that you'd think you were the only ones there....even though the garage was very full. There was a balcony where one could see the mountains. (rm.228) I would love to stay here again. Downtown was only a minute away, so we didn't need to use the car; walking everywhere. Banff is lovely. We tried many cafes but out favorite became the Wild Flour ; which has organic treats galore .

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarChris88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2009

Stayed at the Banff Park Lodge this week and it was lovely and a great location for the town. The leisure facilities, whilst the gym is small, are great - there is a fab pool, jacuzzi and steam room - perfect after a days skiing to chill out. There is a lovely lounge bar for a few beers in front of a roaring fire or the tv showing all the ice hockey games etc. The restaurant has speciality buffet nights for $26 which are really good value with good food and plenty of choice. Ski buses run regularly from the hotel and are on time. The Hotel has a few shops set into its promenade which cover the majority of basic needs along with some nice gifts.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Gillie30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2009

Stayed at this hotel on the 14th-21st Jan 2009. Booked through Inghams for a ski holiday. I read the mixed reviews on this site before I left, can I just say that anyone booked in at this hotel should not worry. From the moment we checked in we were made to feel VERY welcome. The room was spotless (room 271) two queen beds, TV, tea and coffee making, bath with shower, 2 sinks, fridge and a free safe, OK maybe the bathroom could do with a re-tile but I'm being really picky now. There is also a balcony with lovely view of the mountains, no chairs but -7 degrees so not wanting to sit out there for long.

The pool area has been refurbished and is very nice a reasonable sized pool a bit on the cold side! But able to swim in. A nice hot jacuzzi, a separate hot plunge pool, steam room and a small gym with a running machine, Free weights dumbbell rack, two exercise bikes and a ski walker. Free towels are supplied and also shampoo and shower gel is supplied in dispensers in the shower. Also free lockers are available.

We used theChinook restaurant for breakfast only. Very nice with a choice of hot or cold buffet for around $17-$18CAD a bit pricey but you can order individual items off the menu such as toast and tea or coffee for around $6CAD ect. Great staff (Kate).

Overall a great stay all the staff were very nice and would do anything to help. Thinking off going back next Jan.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Pool temperature
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cb-ski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.3 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.9 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#8 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,041 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#11 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 791 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#13 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,001 reviews
0.1 mi away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banff Park Lodge Resort and Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Park Lodge Resort and Conference Centre

Property: Banff Park Lodge Resort and Conference Centre
Address: 222 Lynx Street, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1K5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
#3 Best Value Hotel in Banff
#6 Business Hotel in Banff
#7 Family Hotel in Banff
#9 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff Park Lodge Resort and Conference Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Banff Park Lodge is the only 4 Star Canada Select full-service resort hotel and conference centre with 211 rooms right in downtown Banff, in the heart of historical Banff National Park. We offer 2 restaurants, lobby bar, indoor pool with Jacuzzi and steam room, exercise facilities, self-serve laundry facilities, indoor parking and we offer Wi-Fi throughout the hotel.Our 211 spacious guest rooms are tastefully decorated and include coffee makers, in-room safe, convenience refrigerator, cable television, clock radio, direct dial telephone and voice mail system, a table with two chairs, large dresser, ample closet space, hair dryer, iron & board, individual climate control and a private balcony or patio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Priceline and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Banff Park Lodge Resort and Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Park Lodge Resort And Conference Centre Hotel Banff
Banff Park Hotel
Banff Park Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing