We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Like Me, This Hotel Could Use a Facelift” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Banff Park Lodge Resort and Conference Centre

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Banff Park Lodge Resort and Conference Centre
Ranked #10 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary
Level Contributor
458 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
“Like Me, This Hotel Could Use a Facelift”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

My wife and I stayed in the Banff Park Lodge about 15 years ago and enjoyed it. The location is quite convenient to the restaurants and shops of Banff Avenue, etc. But the hotel feels and smells a bit dated. We booked online and did not realize that the underground parking and internet access each cost additional $10. The room information said that there was climate control in the room but the room did not have air conditioning - only an ineffective radiator through which cold water is circulated. On the positive side, the room was quiet and we did sleep well. The buffet breakfast at the hotel restaurant was good - cost $20.

Room Tip: What they think is a room with a view may not be what you want - if you want a view describe to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard289
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,506 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    537
    609
    247
    76
    37
See reviews for
423
592
55
165
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

For being so close to downtown Banff, this hotel was very quiet and private (and we stayed during Canada Day with a first floor room facing the street!). It was our most expensive hotel stay, but it was worth the extra bucks for fancier accommodations. The lobby is lovely and the restaurants and bars seem nice. There is an gym, hot tub, and pool, all of which we did not take advantage of but saw many families going to a from. Our bathroom had one of those fancy shower heads that sprays water up and down our body. It felt like being in our very own mini-spa! The beds are big, and pillows are comfy. The hotel offers a "pillow menu," which allows you to choose soft, medium, or firm pillows if the ones in your room are not up to par. The room also offered a mini-fridge, which as handy for our drinks.
It was our last day so we had to figure out what to do with our bear spray. We gave it to the concierge who said he gives them out to the hotel guests. TIP: Don't buy the expensive bear spray that can run you upwards of $45...just ask a hotel front desk. You live and learn :)

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bui101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Absolutely satisfied. Everything was outstanding. Great location. Stayed here as part of a tour so I did not have any other choices, but I cannot imagine getting a better place. Great shopping. Just overall one of our best hotel experiences.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deltatraveler2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Reservation details from Hotels.com were room with "Balcony, Mountain view"
The room had neither. It was at an entrance on the ground floor so the sliding doors did not open for security reasons and it made the room stuffy. They were still showing vacancies so it was not the only available room. The front desk said they did not see the web site information and it not count.

The check in time is very late 4pm, even though check out is the standard 11am.

Room Tip: Lots of other hotels in town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NikonGuy18105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

The hotel is about a block away from a pedestrian trail along the edge of the river, and about 2 blocks away from the main shopping street. You can follow the river trail about a mile to see the waterfalls. Be forewarned that there are multiple steps up and down near the falls. The hotel also has a pool and Jacuzzi, along with a couple of restaurants. There are other restaurants across the street and more around the corner. The town of Banff is not very big so it is easy to get around on foot.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank B0bTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

This hotel has a great location. Quiet (a couple of blocks off main street) yet close to downtown shopping. Our room was spacious and had a small balcony from which we could see the mountains. The room was clean and comfortable. The fridge was under the 2nd vanity which was a bit odd but at least it was cold!! We walked to our breakfast and dinner locations and had a beautiful walk along the paved path next to the river!! Underground parking and a few surface spots for larger SUV's. Melissas for breakfast was across the street!! Well worth the stop!!

Room Tip: Mountain View rooms are nice but they would likely all be west facing which is hotter. I don't b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Allen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

Pro
-good location, 2 blocks from Banff Ave
-friendly valet and front desk staff, readily offered directions
-large room and LCD TV
-underground parking lot has lots of space
-competitive room rates
-2 sinks

Con
-1970's wash room
-dark room, lack of lighting
-soft bed

Not sure if I'll stay again, probably try a hotel with updated rooms.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 230Ray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
1.4 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
0.6 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#13 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,962 reviews
0.9 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#8 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
0.3 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#7 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,243 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#3 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banff Park Lodge Resort and Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Park Lodge Resort and Conference Centre

Property: Banff Park Lodge Resort and Conference Centre
Address: 222 Lynx Street, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1K5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
#6 Business Hotel in Banff
#7 Family Hotel in Banff
#9 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff Park Lodge Resort and Conference Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Banff Park Lodge is the only 4 Star Canada Select full-service resort hotel and conference centre with 211 rooms right in downtown Banff, in the heart of historical Banff National Park. We offer 2 restaurants, lobby bar, indoor pool with Jacuzzi and steam room, exercise facilities, self-serve laundry facilities, indoor parking and we offer Wi-Fi throughout the hotel.Our 211 spacious guest rooms are tastefully decorated and include coffee makers, in-room safe, convenience refrigerator, cable television, clock radio, direct dial telephone and voice mail system, a table with two chairs, large dresser, ample closet space, hair dryer, iron & board, individual climate control and a private balcony or patio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Banff Park Lodge Resort and Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Park Lodge Resort And Conference Centre Hotel Banff
Banff Park Hotel
Banff Park Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing